Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Gis Weather not loading for some reason, looking for substitute

Report Bugs, Issues and non- pacakage Requests
Message
Author
User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6004
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: [solved] Gis Weather not loading for some reason

#21 Post by Eadwine Rose » Fri May 11, 2018 5:29 am

Ah shoot.. bummer! Ah well, was worth a try :)
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 14-3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.130 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP F2280

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 17041
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: [solved] Gis Weather not loading for some reason

#22 Post by richb » Fri May 11, 2018 5:44 am

Yes it was. The other option, openweather, apparently needs a sign in and an API key. My only option right now is Gismeteo unless accuweather gets straightened out. I can live with it.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 17.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6004
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: [solved] Gis Weather not loading for some reason

#23 Post by Eadwine Rose » Fri May 11, 2018 6:48 am

You can get the api key for free, it just gives me a connection error (all the info is correct) when it tries to get the data.

I hope accuweather also sorts out.
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 14-3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.130 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP F2280

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6004
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: [solved] Gis Weather not loading for some reason

#24 Post by Eadwine Rose » Fri May 18, 2018 7:49 am

Looks like gismeteo went down for the same reason, at least that is what I think. The weather overview suddenly went poof. The only one working now is the Yr one.
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 14-3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.130 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP F2280

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 17041
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: [solved] Gis Weather not loading for some reason

#25 Post by richb » Fri May 18, 2018 8:12 am

Mine is dead also.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 17.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6004
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: [solved] Gis Weather not loading for some reason

#26 Post by Eadwine Rose » Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:11 pm

And it looks like that was the last configurable of gis weather that just died rendering the thing completely useless.


Has anyone found another desktop app like it to show the weather?
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 14-3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.130 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP F2280

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 17041
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: [solved] Gis Weather not loading for some reason

#27 Post by richb » Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:16 pm

I looked around and could not find anything suitable. I do not want to mess with conky.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 17.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6004
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: [solved] Gis Weather not loading for some reason

#28 Post by Eadwine Rose » Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:24 pm

Me neither to be honest.

https://www.addictivetips.com/ubuntu-li ... for-linux/

Cumulus seems ok to me.. and it says simple installation.. eh.. how? *giggle* I only see a ppa way, no way.

Nr5 is also nice, My Weather Indicator, but for that I am also not blessed with a lot of knowledge ;)
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 14-3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.130 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP F2280

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 17041
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: [solved] Gis Weather not loading for some reason

#29 Post by richb » Tue Jun 19, 2018 5:01 pm

Same site I looked at and rejected them all.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 17.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1418
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: [solved] Gis Weather not loading for some reason

#30 Post by fehlix » Tue Jun 19, 2018 5:07 pm

I must admit, I'm happy with the default xfce4-weather-plugin.
What is does the other one provides you more on information
xfce4-weather-plugin.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

Post Reply

Return to “Bugs and Non-Package Requests Forum”