Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

[SOLVED]Budgie on MX?

Message
Author
User avatar
drumBE
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 2:59 am

[SOLVED]Budgie on MX?

#1 Post by drumBE » Sun Dec 10, 2017 3:05 am

Like the topic all ready said, is it possible to run the budgie-desktop on top of MX-linux?
And how can you do it?
Last edited by drumBE on Sun Dec 10, 2017 7:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
/home/darknet

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 21919
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Budgie on MX?

#2 Post by Jerry3904 » Sun Dec 10, 2017 6:42 am

I've never done it, but it's in the MX-17 repos so I imagine that all you would have to do is install it, then select it from the top bar when you log in. You could create a new user and try it out there if concerned.

Check Users Manual if unsure about details.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 21919
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Budgie on MX?

#3 Post by Jerry3904 » Sun Dec 10, 2017 7:26 am

OK, just out of curiosity I created a new user "test," logged in and installed budgie-desktop, logged back out, selected budgie from the pull-down menu in the upper right corner, and up it came. Only change needed was to make the conkie background transparent.
Image
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
monsieurzik
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 2:43 pm

Re: Budgie on MX?

#4 Post by monsieurzik » Sun Dec 10, 2017 7:47 am

Interesting. How did you set the transparency ? With the mx tool ?
MX-16

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 21919
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Budgie on MX?

#5 Post by Jerry3904 » Sun Dec 10, 2017 7:50 am

Conky Manager (check the Wiki)
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
monsieurzik
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 2:43 pm

Re: Budgie on MX?

#6 Post by monsieurzik » Sun Dec 10, 2017 7:52 am

Oh ok. I know this soft.
And isn’t Budgie too heavy in term of Ram needs ?
MX-16

User avatar
drumBE
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 2:59 am

Re: Budgie on MX?

#7 Post by drumBE » Sun Dec 10, 2017 7:53 am

great, my new desktop is gonna be MX 17 with budgie, didn't know that it was in the repo's.
/home/darknet

User avatar
drumBE
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 2:59 am

Re: [SOLVED]Budgie on MX?

#8 Post by drumBE » Mon Dec 11, 2017 4:22 am

Still, I have one important question, when i install budgie over the MX with Xfce what file-manager will i have? Nautilus or Thunar?
/home/darknet

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 21919
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: [SOLVED]Budgie on MX?

#9 Post by Jerry3904 » Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:32 am

You can only have Nautilus if it's installed, right?
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
asqwerth
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3021
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 5:37 am

Re: [SOLVED]Budgie on MX?

#10 Post by asqwerth » Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:40 am

Whatever new DE you install does not remove the original DE. So you will still have Thunar and XFCE-Terminal installed.

Whether installing budgie-desktop will automatically pull in Nautilus as well depends on what sort of dependencies are found in the Debian repo version of budgie-desktop. If it is an older version of Budgie still depending a lot on the Gnome3 desktop packages, then it may bring in a lot of stuff from the Gnome3 DE. This may or may not include Nautilus.

See this:
https://packages.debian.org/stretch/x11/budgie-desktop ; and
https://packages.debian.org/stretch/gno ... rol-center

Debian's budgie appears to be version 10.2, which is an older version.

You can always install Nautilus if it isn't pulled in automatically. If Debian Stretch's Budgie is before the introduction of their Budgie Settings console,You may also wish to install gnome-tweak-tool if it doesn't get pulled in with budgie-desktop. Otherwise it's inconvenient to change themes and icons, or adjust fonts.

[ADDED] Thunar and XFCE Terminal show up and are usable in Budgie. I installed budgie-desktop on top of a Manjaro XFCE installation and just continued using Thunar and XFCE terminal when logged into Budgie.
Desktop: Intel i5-4460, 16GB RAM, Intel integrated graphics
Clevo N130WU-based Ultrabook: Intel i7-8550U (Kaby Lake R), 16GB RAM, Intel integrated graphics (UEFI)
ASUS X42D laptop: AMD Phenom II, 6GB RAM, Mobility Radeon HD 5400

Post Reply

Return to “Desktop Environment”