Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Gis Weather not loading for some reason, looking for substitute

Report Bugs, Issues and non- pacakage Requests
Message
Author
User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6100
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: [solved] Gis Weather not loading for some reason

#41 Post by Eadwine Rose » Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:27 am

Gordon Cooper wrote:
Wed Jun 20, 2018 3:27 am
When I wish to know what the weather what the weather is, I be lookin out the window ! ;)
We can be lookin' for a long time a-comin' if that weather we wish to know about is three days away from now. We be makin' no plans if it rains! ;)
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 14-3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.130 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP F2280

User avatar
asqwerth
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3459
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 5:37 am

Re: Gis Weather not loading for some reason, looking for substitute

#42 Post by asqwerth » Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:11 am

Vamsi made this package request recently.

viewtopic.php?p=451910#p451910

Is this application helpful to those seeking Gis Weather alternatives?
Desktop: Intel i5-4460, 16GB RAM, Intel integrated graphics
Clevo N130WU-based Ultrabook: Intel i7-8550U (Kaby Lake R), 16GB RAM, Intel integrated graphics (UEFI)
ASUS X42D laptop: AMD Phenom II, 6GB RAM, Mobility Radeon HD 5400

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 17229
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: Gis Weather not loading for some reason, looking for substitute

#43 Post by richb » Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:19 am

Could be an alternative. Need to see it in action to make a determination. It does look minimal from the description and screenshot as compared to GIS.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 17.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
rokytnji.1
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 752
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 9:06 pm

Re: Gis Weather not loading for some reason, looking for substitute

#44 Post by rokytnji.1 » Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:12 am

If wttr could find me. I'd use this in my conkyrc.

Code: Select all

${texeci 1800 curl -s wttr.in | sed -n '3,7{s/\d27\[[0-9;]*m//g;s/^..//;s/ *$//;p}'}
But. It shows me the coldest part of Russia instead of the Pecos Texas desert. Maybe one of you other users can use it in your conky?

User avatar
asqwerth
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3459
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 5:37 am

Re: Gis Weather not loading for some reason, looking for substitute

#45 Post by asqwerth » Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:28 am

I got myself an openweather.org api key of my own and adapt the weather conkies of zagortenay, or I use the accuweather rss script from teobigusgeekus (THE bunsenlabs conky weather guy).
Desktop: Intel i5-4460, 16GB RAM, Intel integrated graphics
Clevo N130WU-based Ultrabook: Intel i7-8550U (Kaby Lake R), 16GB RAM, Intel integrated graphics (UEFI)
ASUS X42D laptop: AMD Phenom II, 6GB RAM, Mobility Radeon HD 5400

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 17229
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: Gis Weather not loading for some reason, looking for substitute

#46 Post by richb » Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:31 am

While I do not want to mess with conky, I may have to.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 17.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6100
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: Gis Weather not loading for some reason, looking for substitute

#47 Post by Eadwine Rose » Thu Jun 21, 2018 11:21 am

I don't have the default (as in system provided) conky, that is disabled, I do have the "old fashioned" one.


Hmm... I might actually fiddle with that myself sometime now.. I mean.. that is easy enough to backup, that one file.
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 14-3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.130 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP F2280

User avatar
male
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 8:38 am

Re: Gis Weather not loading for some reason, looking for substitute

#48 Post by male » Thu Jun 21, 2018 11:32 am

rokytnji.1 wrote:If wttr could find me. I'd use this in my conkyrc.

Code: Select all

curl 'wttr.in/Pecos?q?0?T'
Pecos, United States of America

     \   /     Sunny
      .-.      28-30 °C       
   ― (   ) ―   ← 17 km/h      
      `-’      16 km          
     /   \     0.0 mm

viewtopic.php?f=108&t=44927&start=20#p446155 ;)
Male is the capital of the Maldives and its wonderful people.

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 17229
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: Gis Weather not loading for some reason, looking for substitute

#49 Post by richb » Thu Jun 21, 2018 11:53 am

asqwerth wrote:
Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:28 am
I got myself an openweather.org api key of my own and adapt the weather conkies of zagortenay, or I use the accuweather rss script from teobigusgeekus (THE bunsenlabs conky weather guy).
Can you share the code, a screenshot and any other information needed to implement this?
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 17.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6100
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: Gis Weather not loading for some reason, looking for substitute

#50 Post by Eadwine Rose » Thu Jun 21, 2018 1:18 pm

Yes please, seconded :)
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 14-3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.130 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP F2280

Post Reply

Return to “Bugs and Non-Package Requests Forum”