Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

MX Tools fonts (SOLVED)

Show us how you are setting up MX-14!
Message
Author
User avatar
Fornhamfred
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 12:49 pm

Re: MX Tools fonts

#21 Post by Fornhamfred » Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:00 am

fehlix wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 8:23 am
Fornhamfred wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 7:43 am
How do I change this to gtk2 as the display in qt5 settings is larger than the screen.
For using qt5ct to pass style, themes and fonts to the Qt5 apps, you need only to set

Code: Select all

export QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct
such that they are available for both user and root.
Check with:

Code: Select all

# check for the user
env | grep QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME
# and for root:
sudo env | grep QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME
Set style, themes and fonts accordingly by running qt5ct for both user and root:

Code: Select all

# set for the user
env QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct qt5ct
# set for root
gksudo env QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct qt5ct
Within qt5ct: select Style : gtk2
Adjust Fonts and Icons Theme accordingly.
:puppy:
This is the result of your suggestion. As you can see from my last post the option to save in QT5 is off the screen and I am unable to access it.

Code: Select all

$ export QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct
wilf@mx17:~
$ env | grep QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME
QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2030
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: MX Tools fonts

#22 Post by fehlix » Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:13 am

Fornhamfred wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:00 am
This is the result of your suggestion.
As you have already set QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct, during login, shown in the post above, you would not need to reset it again for the user. I have wrote the summary above for others within this forum to see the complete steps.
Fornhamfred wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:00 am
As you can see from my last post the option to save in QT5 is off the screen and I am unable to access it.
Ah I see I missed the "bigger then the screen" related part of the question.
Just move the window up by using the left Alt-key and left-click and hold to move up the window until you see the "Apply"button to click.
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 17224
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: MX Tools fonts

#23 Post by richb » Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:30 am

In my case executing the command

Code: Select all

export QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct
has given better overall results. Some apps still do not follow the font settings but most do.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 17.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2030
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: MX Tools fonts

#24 Post by fehlix » Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:38 am

richb wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:30 am
In my case executing the command

Code: Select all

export QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct
has given better overall results. Some apps still do not follow the font settings but most do.
Good, and do double check with running qt5ct to select fonts, theme and style as indicated above.
:puppy:
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 17224
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: MX Tools fonts

#25 Post by richb » Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:40 am

fehlix wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:38 am
richb wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:30 am
In my case executing the command

Code: Select all

export QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct
has given better overall results. Some apps still do not follow the font settings but most do.
Good, and do double check with running qt5ct to select fonts, theme and style as indicated above.
:puppy:
I have already done that and works.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 17.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
Fornhamfred
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 12:49 pm

Re: MX Tools fonts

#26 Post by Fornhamfred » Sun Sep 23, 2018 11:36 am

fehlix wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:13 am
Fornhamfred wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:00 am
This is the result of your suggestion.
As you have already set QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct, during login, shown in the post above, you would not need to reset it again for the user. I have wrote the summary above for others within this forum to see the complete steps.
Fornhamfred wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:00 am
As you can see from my last post the option to save in QT5 is off the screen and I am unable to access it.
Ah I see I missed the "bigger then the screen" related part of the question.
Just move the window up by using the left Alt-key and left-click and hold to move up the window until you see the "Apply"button to click.
Thanks for the tip.
I changed the font and followed your instructions. Every time I login after the alterations all entries are in italics and I cannot change it. Do you think there is a bug causing this?
Also the mx tools font does not change.

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2030
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: MX Tools fonts

#27 Post by fehlix » Sun Sep 23, 2018 11:45 am

Fornhamfred wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 11:36 am
Every time I login after the alterations all entries are in italics and I cannot change it.
Within what application are those font's in italics?
What do you mean with "cannot change it"?
Have you checked after login as indicated above
the environment parameter.
I have set the fonts to "noto sans", normal style , size. And they are displayed in the Qt5-apps as such.
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

User avatar
Fornhamfred
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 12:49 pm

Re: MX Tools fonts

#28 Post by Fornhamfred » Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:22 pm

fehlix wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 11:45 am
Fornhamfred wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 11:36 am
Every time I login after the alterations all entries are in italics and I cannot change it.
Within what application are those font's in italics?
What do you mean with "cannot change it"?
Have you checked after login as indicated above
the environment parameter.
I have set the fonts to "noto sans", normal style , size. And they are displayed in the Qt5-apps as such.
After a reboot for the ? time the fonts are now not in italics. In qt5 settings the font shows as selected and the MX tools fonts are as set. Have not changed anything so cannot tell you what sorted the problem.
Thanks for all your patience.

Post Reply

Return to “Themes and Screenshots”