[Solved] MX 18.3 USB boots on Lenovo x200s, but not on x200t

When you run into problems installing MX Linux XFCE
trebor

[Solved] MX 18.3 USB boots on Lenovo x200s, but not on x200t

#1 Post by trebor »

I'm trying to install MX 18.3 64-bit on an Lenovo X200t. Therefore I prepared an USB-stick and tried to boot from that. I can see the MX-Live-Boot-menu and I can start booting, but it aborts nearly after starting lightdm. After that the screen turns black and nothing happens. The same USB-stick works on another Lenovo x200s, so that I can boot completely into an MX-Live-Environment, but it works not on another x200t, for example. I also tried the Failsafe-options with no success. it would be very helpful to get some hints how to install MX Linux on an x200t.
Last edited by trebor on Sat Dec 28, 2019 1:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

KBD

Re: MX 18.3 USB boots on Lenovo x200s, but not on x200t

#2 Post by KBD »

I'm not an expert, but I have had several Thinkpads, the one closest to yours' being the X201 and T410. So I'm interested in your issue. If, as it looks like, you have the GMA X3100 video driver, it is known to have issues with a kernel newer than 4.18:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... ug/1813509
Perhaps chose advanced and boot into an older kernel, the 4.15 MX kernel would be a likely choice.

trebor

#3 Post by trebor »

The video card is X4500MHD and is the same as in x200s, where I have no problems. That's why the reason must be something else.
But changing the kernel could be an idea for testing, nevertheless. How can I do that?
MX Linux provides an easy method of upgrading/downgrading the default kernel: open MX
Package Installer and click on the “Kernel” category. There you will see a number of kernels that
are available to the user. Select the one you want to use (ask on the Forum if unsure) and install
it.
( https://www.mxlinux.org/user_manual_mx18/mxum.pdf , page 173)