Welcome!

Fast news: @MX_Linux


Releases
  • MX-16 RC1 release info here
  • antiX-16 release info here -- watch the video. Torrents here
  • MX-15 (antiX MX), release info here: here. Monthly update/upgrade available here.
  • Older MX Linux releases available on the download page

    New users
    • Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!

Fresh install question

Help for Mepis 11
Message
Author
User avatar
Dieselrider
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1200
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:57 am

Fresh install question

#1 Postby Dieselrider » Sun Jan 08, 2012 11:57 pm

If I were to do a complete fresh install would it be ok to make a separate partition on my HD and just copy my home folder to it to not loose all the info or, are there certain things in that folder that should not be saved? What should I leave off?

Also, I have a mepis 11.0 DVD from several months ago. There will be bunches of updates if I run with that disk. Would burning a new DVD iso image be more up to date or not?
Thank you for all your help and I am sorry for being such a pain lately.

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 13916
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: Fresh install question

#2 Postby richb » Mon Jan 09, 2012 12:05 am

You can do a fresh install on the same partitions you have setup. Since it is a Mepis 11 to a Mepis 11 the installer will allow you to safely save home automatically. Just check the appropriate box. You will however have to re-install any apps you have added.

Refer to this wiki article on an easy process to save and re-install those applications.

http://www.mepis.org/docs/en/index.php? ... _your_data
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX-15- 64 - migrated to MX-16 RC1
HD Test: MX-16 RC1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
Dieselrider
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1200
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:57 am

Re: Fresh install question

#3 Postby Dieselrider » Mon Jan 09, 2012 12:19 am

What about things like FF and TB that have folders inside the home folder? I would want to delete them first right? Wouldn't they bring the same troubles with them into the new setup?

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 13916
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: Fresh install question

#4 Postby richb » Mon Jan 09, 2012 12:32 am

Dieselrider wrote:What about things like FF and TB that have folders inside the home folder? I would want to delete them first right? Wouldn't they bring the same troubles with them into the new setup?

I am not sure as we have not really identified your problem. Why not just rename them first.
Also if you use the wiki method I mentioned you would reinstall any current deb installed FF and FB packages.

The other option is just to start from scratch after backing up your personal data which should be done in any case. Then add the packages you need. I usually do it that way as I like to start from scratch and remove any crud that I have collected I no longer use or need.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX-15- 64 - migrated to MX-16 RC1
HD Test: MX-16 RC1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4479
Age: 44
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: Fresh install question

#5 Postby Eadwine Rose » Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:49 am

I would not take /home along in your case. Just save the files that need saving and load them back in. Yes it is a bit of work to get all your software at the previous level but it is the cleanest possible way.

DO start out with ff and tb, and the flash and opening links and all that and then focus on the rest :smile:
MX-15_x64 Fusion 24 Dec 2015 ext4 Xfce 4.12.2 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GeForce GT640-1GD5-L * AMD Processor Athlon II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB (VT1708S Analog) * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingston * 22" Samsung SyncMaster P2250 * HP DeskJet F2280

User avatar
Dieselrider
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1200
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:57 am

Re: Fresh install question

#6 Postby Dieselrider » Mon Jan 09, 2012 5:59 am

I have plenty of extra room on this HD and made another partition to save data to. However I tried to just copy data to it and it will not allow me to do that. Says access denied. I can't remember how to setup the partition to be allowed to write to it.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 12379
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

Re: Fresh install question

#7 Postby lucky9 » Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:07 am

I think you can open Dolphin as su and go to /mnt and right-click. Choose Permissions and change them to your User. You can also just move the data as root which is probably a better idea most of the time.
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4479
Age: 44
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: Fresh install question

#8 Postby Eadwine Rose » Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:14 am

Ah yes, I had to do that too on the extra partition I had. Simply right click indeed, no biggie :smile:
MX-15_x64 Fusion 24 Dec 2015 ext4 Xfce 4.12.2 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GeForce GT640-1GD5-L * AMD Processor Athlon II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB (VT1708S Analog) * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingston * 22" Samsung SyncMaster P2250 * HP DeskJet F2280

User avatar
Dieselrider
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1200
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:57 am

Re: Fresh install question

#9 Postby Dieselrider » Mon Jan 09, 2012 9:32 am

lucky9 wrote:I think you can open Dolphin as su and go to /mnt and right-click. Choose Permissions and change them to your User. You can also just move the data as root which is probably a better idea most of the time.



How do I open dolphin as root?

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4479
Age: 44
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: Fresh install question

#10 Postby Eadwine Rose » Mon Jan 09, 2012 9:42 am

It's in the menu! Under system.
MX-15_x64 Fusion 24 Dec 2015 ext4 Xfce 4.12.2 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GeForce GT640-1GD5-L * AMD Processor Athlon II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB (VT1708S Analog) * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingston * 22" Samsung SyncMaster P2250 * HP DeskJet F2280


Return to “Mepis 11”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest