Brave browser

Message
Author
evpo
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 8:03 pm

Re: Brave browser

#11 Post by evpo »

Building from source

You need to install yarn and nodejs

You can get higher level instructions from this link:

Code: Select all

https://github.com/brave/brave-browser/wiki/Linux-Development-Environment
I ran the prerequisite install commands from the page.

Code: Select all

apt-get install build-essential libgnome-keyring-dev python-setuptools npm
The last package npm doesn't install the npm command surprisingly

Following links from the page above, I executed below commands to install Yarn:

Code: Select all

curl -sS https://dl.yarnpkg.com/debian/pubkey.gpg | sudo apt-key add -
echo "deb https://dl.yarnpkg.com/debian/ stable main" | sudo tee /etc/apt/sources.list.d/yarn.list
yarn import
Installing nodejs by following this link did not work: https://github.com/nodesource/distribut ... /README.md

The installer reported that the version of debian was not supported.

Luckily there is a package in the MX test repo: nodejs

Code: Select all

Package: nodejs
Version: 8.9.4-1~mx17+
The package provides the npm command required for building.

Download the source code from the git repo

The following commands are from this manual: https://github.com/brave/brave-browser/wiki

Code: Select all

git clone git@github.com:brave/brave-browser.git
cd brave-browser
npm install
The next command took a few hours:

Code: Select all

npm run init
I had to use --unsupported switch to install dependencies:

Code: Select all

./src/build/install-build-deps.sh --unsupported
The dependencies installed fine despite being unsupported.

Building from source

As I understand this build is not for mere mortals. You need special hardware with huge amount of RAM. At least my laptop bought two years ago with 12 GB of memory couldn't handle it. I started the build and waited for 4-5 days before giving up. I noticed CPU consumption didn't go up a lot. The problem was the disk and memory. Here is how I solved it. I used my desktop which is very old but it has an SSD hard drive. See the specs below:

Code: Select all

CPU: Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 bits: 64 type: MCP 
Memory: 3.85 GiB
I installed MX live on a memory stick, used frugal static and I made 24 GB swap file on the ssd drive:

Code: Select all

$ swapon
NAME TYPE SIZE USED PRIO
/live/boot-dev/home/mx-user/mx-swap file 23G 378.8M -2
/dev/sdc5 partition 4G 0B -3
So in a way I extended my physical memory to the SSD drive. This strategy proved to be successful. Three days later the build finished and I got a brand new brave browser.

Solving the "no usable sandbox" problem

I had to install the chromium package "apt install chromium" , which provides chrome-sandbox. Then I made a link to the directory where brave executable is:

Code: Select all

ln -s /usr/lib/chromium/chrome-sandbox ./
Now my brave works fine including the tor tabs.

Installation

I stripped the resulting binary file because it was 6.4 GB. Here is the command:

Code: Select all

strip -o brave-strip brave
#test it and move
mv brave-strip brave
I copied run-time files to /opt/brave
Here is a list:

Code: Select all

brave
brave_100_percent.pak
brave_200_percent.pak
brave.desktop
brave_resources.pak
chrome_100_percent.pak
chrome_200_percent.pak
chrome-sandbox
extensions
headless_lib.pak
icon_before.bak
icudtl.dat
libEGL.so
libGLESv2.so
libVkICD_mock_icd.so
libVkLayer_core_validation.so
libVkLayer_object_lifetimes.so
libVkLayer_stateless_validation.so
libVkLayer_thread_safety.so
libVkLayer_unique_objects.so
libwidevinecdm.so
locales
natives_blob.bin
product_logo_48.png
resources
resources.pak
snapshot_blob.bin
v8_context_snapshot.bin
views_mus_resources.pak
The size went down to 263 MB

I found icons here: http://www.iconarchive.com/show/papirus ... -icon.html

I made brave.desktop and it went to /usr/share/applications
Icons went to /usr/share/icons/hicolor/...

Conclusion

This experience confirmed that a browser is OS pretending to be a browser

User avatar
Gerson
Posts: 876
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2017 10:58 am

Re: Brave browser

#12 Post by Gerson »

Ufff... I got lost with such instruction and also I do not master English well.
I install Brave browser much more easily and I get updates without problem; The commands are the following:

Code: Select all

$ curl -s https://brave-browser-apt-release.s3.brave.com/brave-core.asc | sudo apt-key --keyring /etc/apt/trusted.gpg.d/brave-browser-release.gpg add -

Code: Select all

$ source /etc/os-release

Code: Select all

$ echo "deb [arch=amd64] https://brave-browser-apt-release.s3.brave.com/ stretch main" | sudo tee /etc/apt/sources.list.d/brave-browser-release-${Continunn}.list

Code: Select all

$ sudo apt update&&sudo apt install brave-keyring brave-browser
And with that I have Brave installed without problem.
No todos ignoramos las mismas cosas. :confused:

User avatar
jazzy55
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2019 3:20 am

Re: Brave browser

#13 Post by jazzy55 »

Hello, :happy:
On my MX 17.i 64bit i can not get the brave browser to install at all .It has broken the synaptic pkg and Debian pkg manager and the system has stopped doing updates. :-( The synaptic pkg and Debian pkg manager is just greyed out ...I have found the files in the file manager /etc/apt/sources.list.d/ can i delete them from there ? I have tried this but the delete option when i right click it is also greyed out...Any ideas how to delete these files from my system to get it working again ?
Many Thanks ..Steve Rickards :-)

User avatar
NevilsStation
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 3:09 pm

Re: Brave browser

#14 Post by NevilsStation »

Gerson wrote: Wed Apr 17, 2019 6:49 am And with that I have Brave installed without problem.
Did you install this in MX-17 or MX-18, please?
Custom-built PC w/i7 CPU running MX-16.

User avatar
Gerson
Posts: 876
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2017 10:58 am

Re: Brave browser

#15 Post by Gerson »

NevilsStation wrote: Fri May 03, 2019 9:51 pm Did you install this in MX-17 or MX-18, please?
When I used MX17 and 17.1 I had it installed, it cost me a little but now in MX 18 with the commands I placed, it installs without problem and also alerts you when there is a new version to update.
No todos ignoramos las mismas cosas. :confused:

User avatar
jabon
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 3:32 pm

Re: Brave browser

#16 Post by jabon »

Gerson wrote: Wed Apr 17, 2019 6:49 am Ufff... I got lost with such instruction and also I do not master English well.
I install Brave browser much more easily and I get updates without problem; The commands are the following:

Code: Select all

$ curl -s https://brave-browser-apt-release.s3.brave.com/brave-core.asc | sudo apt-key --keyring /etc/apt/trusted.gpg.d/brave-browser-release.gpg add -

Code: Select all

$ source /etc/os-release

Code: Select all

$ echo "deb [arch=amd64] https://brave-browser-apt-release.s3.brave.com/ stretch main" | sudo tee /etc/apt/sources.list.d/brave-browser-release-${Continunn}.list

Code: Select all

$ sudo apt update&&sudo apt install brave-keyring brave-browser
And with that I have Brave installed without problem.
Those are the exact same instructions from the Brave website https://brave-browser.readthedocs.io/en ... html#linux to install in Ubuntu 16.04+ and Mint 18+.
But it wasn't enough for me, because after doing the above, when I run brave browser on terminal I was getting

Code: Select all

~ $ brave-browser
[5201:5201:0601/092550.117265:FATAL:zygote_host_impl_linux.cc(116)] No usable sandbox! You probably need to enable user namespaces in your kernel. See https://brave-browser.readthedocs.io/en/latest/installing-brave.html#linux for more information.
Trace/breakpoint trap
So after installing Brave using the above steps, these were the additional steps I did to make Brave work in my MX Linux 18.2
1. Switch to root user

Code: Select all

sudo su
2. Using instructions from here: https://superuser.com/questions/1094597 ... el#1122977

Code: Select all

echo 'kernel.unprivileged_userns_clone=1' > /etc/sysctl.d/00-local-userns.conf
service procps restart
Brave launched :happy: Image

User avatar
KBD
Posts: 959
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 7:52 pm

Re: Brave browser

#17 Post by KBD »

There needs to be a much easier way to install Brave Browser on Debian :(

User avatar
figueroa
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 12:20 am

Re: Brave browser

#18 Post by figueroa »

Brave doesn't support Debian. MX is based on Debian. Why are y'all so eager to break your MX installations? Brave doesn't care about you. Firefox with Privacy Badger + /etc/host advert blocking, and/or Vivaldi.
Andy Figueroa
Using Unix from 1984; GNU/Linux from 1993

User avatar
Gerson
Posts: 876
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2017 10:58 am

Re: Brave browser

#19 Post by Gerson »

For me it works perfectly, it has no incompatibility with MX since I started using it over a year and a half ago, it is fast and I can see everything I need and work with it without restrictions. It blocks perfect what I do not want to see and I also collaborate with the rewards. It consumes little RAM. I use the same Chrome extensions. Firefox is slow and has given me freezes. My machine is not powerful and limited but works well with Brave.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
No todos ignoramos las mismas cosas. :confused:

User avatar
KBD
Posts: 959
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 7:52 pm

Re: Brave browser

#20 Post by KBD »

It looks like an excellent stand in for Chrome, but with privacy focus. I tried it on a Windows machine last night and it looks very good. I tried to follow advice in this thread and it looked like it installed but wouldn't launch. Too bad there is not a simple deb package to download and use on Debian.

Post Reply

Return to “Software / Configuration”