Welcome!
Important information
-- Required MX 15/16 Repository Changes
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Thunar acts strange browsing android-devices

Report Bugs, Issues and non- pacakage Requests
Post Reply
Friedrich
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 2:50 am

Thunar acts strange browsing android-devices

#1

Post by Friedrich » Wed Jun 05, 2019 1:17 pm

I use the S4 for very limited cases namely for syncing Polar and Garmin devices by wlan and as a camera but have otherwise no experience with smartphones in general, so I am lost whats going on.
S4 is in MTP-mode.
When I connect it via USB-cable it shows up in thunar.
Navigating to the DCIM folder where the fotos reside works. The thunar status bar shows (roughly from german) "Loading file folder content".
After some while the files show up. But thunar becomes very unresponsive or even unusable.
In Mint and Manjaro on the same machine browsing is almost instantaneous and behaviour like with every other storage device.
I have not the faintest idea where to start to look for solving this.
So some merciful soul out there, please give me a hint how to investigate this.

Code: Select all

System:    Host: mx Kernel: 5.0.0-18.1-liquorix-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3 
           Distro: MX-18.3_x64 Continuum March 14  2018 
Machine:   Type: Desktop Mobo: ASRock model: B75 Pro3 serial: <root required> 
           BIOS: American Megatrends v: P1.90 date: 12/20/2013 
CPU:       Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core i5-3570 bits: 64 type: MCP L2 cache: 6144 KiB 
           Speed: 1597 MHz min/max: 1600/3800 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1596 2: 1597 3: 1597 
           4: 1597 
Graphics:  Device-1: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v2/3rd Gen Core processor Graphics driver: i915 
           v: kernel 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.2 driver: intel resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ivybridge Desktop v: 4.2 Mesa 18.2.6 
Audio:     Device-1: Intel 7 Series/C216 Family High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.0.0-18.1-liquorix-amd64 
Network:   Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet driver: r8169 
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: bc:5f:f4:d3:1a:82 
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 1.39 TiB used: 1.00 TiB (72.0%) 
           ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Samsung model: SSD 860 EVO 250GB size: 232.89 GiB 
           ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Western Digital model: WD6400AAKS-75A7B0 size: 596.17 GiB 
           ID-3: /dev/sdc vendor: Western Digital model: WD6400AAKS-65A7B0 size: 596.17 GiB 
Partition: ID-1: / size: 19.41 GiB used: 12.27 GiB (63.2%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda7 
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 9.92 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda5 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 43.0 C mobo: N/A 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Info:      Processes: 224 Uptime: 1h 52m Memory: 6.75 GiB used: 1.17 GiB (17.4%) Shell: bash 
Last edited by Friedrich on Wed Jun 12, 2019 4:29 am, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
ChrisUK
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 1:04 pm

Re: Thunar acts strange browsing Galaxy S4

#2

Post by ChrisUK » Wed Jun 05, 2019 2:18 pm

I can confirm this, but with a Galaxy Note 3... not something I do often, so not sure when it started happening.

Code: Select all

System:    Host: mx18 Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 6.3.0 
           Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3 Distro: MX-18.3_x64 Continuum March 14  2018 
           base: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch) 
Machine:   Type: Laptop System: SAMSUNG product: RV411/RV511/E3511/S3511/RV711 v: N/A 
           serial: <filter> 
           Mobo: SAMSUNG model: RV411/RV511/E3511/S3511/RV711 serial: <filter> BIOS: Phoenix 
           v: 03PA.M001.20110312.XW date: 03/12/2011 
Battery:   ID-1: BAT1 charge: 6.4 Wh condition: 6.5/47.5 Wh (14%) model: SAMSUNG Electronics 
           status: Unknown 
CPU:       Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Core i3 M 380 bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Nehalem 
           rev: 5 L2 cache: 3072 KiB 
           flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 20219 
           Speed: 933 MHz min/max: 933/2533 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 933 2: 1066 3: 933 4: 1199 
Graphics:  Device-1: NVIDIA GT218M [GeForce 315M] vendor: Samsung Co driver: nouveau v: kernel 
           bus ID: 02:00.0 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.2 driver: nouveau unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa 
           resolution: 1366x768~60Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: NVA8 v: 3.3 Mesa 18.2.6 direct render: Yes 
Audio:     Device-1: Intel 5 Series/3400 Series High Definition Audio vendor: Samsung Co 
           driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1b.0 
           Device-2: NVIDIA High Definition Audio vendor: Samsung Co driver: snd_hda_intel 
           v: kernel bus ID: 02:00.1 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.9.0-9-amd64 
Network:   Device-1: Broadcom Limited BCM4313 802.11bgn Wireless Network Adapter vendor: Askey 
           driver: bcma-pci-bridge v: N/A port: 2000 bus ID: 03:00.0 
           Device-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet vendor: Samsung Co 
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 4000 bus ID: 05:00.0 
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
           IF-ID-1: tun2 state: unknown speed: 10 Mbps duplex: full mac: N/A 
           IF-ID-2: wlan0 state: down mac: <filter> 
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 931.51 GiB used: 127.71 GiB (13.7%) 
           ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Seagate model: ST1000LM048-2E7172 size: 931.51 GiB 
Partition: ID-1: / size: 49.26 GiB used: 15.54 GiB (31.6%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 47.0 C mobo: 47.0 C gpu: nouveau temp: 53 C 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Repos:     Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/antix.list 
           1: deb http://mxlinux.mirrors.uk2.net/packages/antix/stretch/ stretch main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian-stable-updates.list 
           1: deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ stretch-updates main contrib non-free
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian.list 
           1: deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ stretch main contrib non-free
           2: deb http://security.debian.org/ stretch/updates main contrib non-free
           No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/devrepo.list 
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/mx.list 
           1: deb http://mxlinux.mirrors.uk2.net/packages/mx/repo/ stretch main non-free
           No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/various.list 
/usr/bin/strings: Warning: could not locate '/sbin/init'.  reason: Permission denied
Info:      Processes: 213 Uptime: 13h 27m Memory: 5.70 GiB used: 1.07 GiB (18.8%) Init: SysVinit 
           runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 6.3.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.12 inxi: 3.0.33 
chris@mx18:~
Chris

MX 18 - Manjaro

Friedrich
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 2:50 am

Re: Thunar acts strange browsing Galaxy S4

#3

Post by Friedrich » Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:39 am

ChrisUK wrote:
Wed Jun 05, 2019 2:18 pm
I can confirm this, but with a Galaxy Note 3...
Thanks. Always good to know its not only oneself messing around with something. (Which I usually don't do on my main installation)
Chris wrote:not something I do often, so not sure when it started happening.
Same here.
What I tried without success so far:
Purge and reinstall thunar and thunar-volman.
Disable thunar volume-management.
What makes some difference:
Change Preferences -> Behaviour -> Previews (Vorschaubilder) : From "Always" to "Only local" or "never".
No previews but also no unresponsivenes or freezing.
(I remember having changed the default setting (Only local) to "Always". When looking for specific fotos I need previews.
So, everyone not having changed the default, will likely not run into this bug (?).)

But:
Other filemanagers, -I tried PCManFM so far-, don't have any problems handling previews in the same non-local folder (DCIM).
May I conclude there is something wrong with thunar handling this?

Friedrich
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 2:50 am

Re: Thunar acts strange browsing Galaxy S4

#4

Post by Friedrich » Wed Jun 12, 2019 4:28 am

This issue was reported 3 years ago at XFCE's bugzilla:
"Thunar becomes unusable on ptp/mtp devices when thumbnails enabled":
https://bugzilla.xfce.org/show_bug.cgi?id=12111
Was targeted to be fixed with version 1.8.
(Last version tested: 1.8.6 in Manjaro.)
But unfortunately isn't yet.
As I said: Pcmanfm and probably other filemanagers handle this well.

User avatar
JayM
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 980
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 4:47 am

Re: Thunar acts strange browsing android-devices

#5

Post by JayM » Wed Jun 12, 2019 5:01 am

MX-18.x has Thunar 1.6.15. The version of Thunar for Debian Buster is 1.8.4-1, so maybe this (and the issues with the right-click menu performing an action at times) will be resolved in MX-19. If not, perhaps a newer Thunar from the next Debian Testing branch that has the bugfix can be backported to MX-19, once we're on the newer version of Xfce.
New users: Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information (Quick System Info) to posts!

Friedrich
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 2:50 am

Re: Thunar acts strange browsing android-devices

#6

Post by Friedrich » Wed Jun 12, 2019 9:39 am

I wonder if it would be good/appropriate practice to leave an additional comment in the bug-report to bring this forward to their attention. Thunar has 103 unresolved bugs reaching back to 2012.
Seems they are already busy with the Xfce 4.14 release or a bit short on manpower.

Post Reply

Return to “Bugs and Non-Package Requests Forum”