Welcome!

The kernel problem with recent updates has been solved. Find the solution here

Important information
-- Required MX 15/16 Repository Changes
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

[SOLVED] HELP (Smart People)--- Menus borked

Report Bugs, Issues and non- package Requests
Post Reply
User avatar
manyroads
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 1869
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 6:33 pm

[SOLVED] HELP (Smart People)--- Menus borked

#1

Post by manyroads » Sat Mar 30, 2019 10:51 pm

In trying to install some software I somehow managed to bork my Whiskermenus; I am unable to get them to reappear in the correct form. I, also lost all my MX Tools but I have them back (although they do not appear in my menus anywhere) It used to be that alacarte allowed a Menu autoreset to work. But now neither menulibre nor alakarte work correctly. And my MX Tools are all missing (I am able to run them with with Synapse).

Here are the errors I get.

Code: Select all

$ alacarte
/usr/share/alacarte/Alacarte/MainWindow.py:22: PyGIWarning: GMenu was imported without specifying a version first. Use gi.require_version('GMenu', '3.0') before import to ensure that the right version gets loaded.
  from gi.repository import Gtk, GdkPixbuf, Gdk, GMenu

(alacarte:9795): Gtk-CRITICAL **: 20:36:58.641: gtk_accel_label_set_accel_closure: assertion 'gtk_accel_group_from_accel_closure (accel_closure) != NULL' failed

(alacarte:9795): Gtk-CRITICAL **: 20:36:58.641: gtk_accel_label_set_accel_closure: assertion 'gtk_accel_group_from_accel_closure (accel_closure) != NULL' failed
**
ERROR:/build/gnome-menus-RL_1GT/gnome-menus-3.13.3/./libmenu/gmenu-tree.c:4020:preprocess_layout_info: assertion failed: (!directory->preprocessed)
Aborted
mark@Mark-Dell:~
$ unset XDG_MENU_PREFIX
mark@Mark-Dell:~
$ echo $XDG_MENU_PREFIX

mark@Mark-Dell:~
$ alacarte
/usr/share/alacarte/Alacarte/MainWindow.py:22: PyGIWarning: GMenu was imported without specifying a version first. Use gi.require_version('GMenu', '3.0') before import to ensure that the right version gets loaded.
  from gi.repository import Gtk, GdkPixbuf, Gdk, GMenu

(alacarte:9825): Gtk-CRITICAL **: 20:37:41.621: gtk_accel_label_set_accel_closure: assertion 'gtk_accel_group_from_accel_closure (accel_closure) != NULL' failed

(alacarte:9825): Gtk-CRITICAL **: 20:37:41.621: gtk_accel_label_set_accel_closure: assertion 'gtk_accel_group_from_accel_closure (accel_closure) != NULL' failed

(alacarte:9825): Gtk-WARNING **: 20:38:05.418: Allocating size to GtkWindow 0x5623d0b36500 without calling gtk_widget_get_preferred_width/height(). How does the code know the size to allocate?

(alacarte:9825): Gtk-WARNING **: 20:38:11.275: Allocating size to GtkWindow 0x5623d0b36500 without calling gtk_widget_get_preferred_width/height(). How does the code know the size to allocate?

(alacarte:9825): Gtk-WARNING **: 20:38:18.600: Allocating size to GtkWindow 0x5623d0b36500 without calling gtk_widget_get_preferred_width/height(). How does the code know the size to allocate?

(alacarte:9825): Gtk-WARNING **: 20:38:22.046: Allocating size to GtkWindow 0x5623d0b36500 without calling gtk_widget_get_preferred_width/height(). How does the code know the size to allocate?

(alacarte:9825): Gtk-WARNING **: 20:39:08.700: Allocating size to GtkWindow 0x5623d0b36500 without calling gtk_widget_get_preferred_width/height(). How does the code know the size to allocate?
mark@Mark-Dell:~
$ menulibre

(menulibre:13638): Gtk-WARNING **: 20:42:28.914: gtk_menu_attach_to_widget(): menu already attached to GtkMenuButton

(menulibre:13638): Gtk-WARNING **: 20:42:28.957: gtk_menu_attach_to_widget(): menu already attached to GtkMenuButton
**
ERROR:/build/gnome-menus-RL_1GT/gnome-menus-3.13.3/./libmenu/gmenu-tree.c:4020:preprocess_layout_info: assertion failed: (!directory->preprocessed)
Aborted
The traditional xfce Application Menu works as previously. Any help is/ ideas are appreciated.
Last edited by manyroads on Sun Mar 31, 2019 9:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
Pax vobiscum,
Mark Rabideau - http://many-roads.com
bspwm MX-18.3 kernel: 5.1.11-antix.1-amd64-smp
"For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong." H. L. Mencken
Testing: antiX19

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Administrator
Posts: 9373
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: HELP (Smart People)--- Menus borked

#2

Post by Eadwine Rose » Sun Mar 31, 2019 2:40 am

Bluesguy wrote:
Sat Mar 30, 2019 11:08 pm
Hey manyroads ... you haven't looked at the couple of posts I responded to you ... viewtopic.php?f=104&p=493836#p493830 ... do this stuff first ... viewtopic.php?f=104&p=493836#p493834 ... then get back to me ... YOU borked it ... "SMART PEOPLE" are here to help you ... your header is toxic ... grow up ...
Mod note:

Bluesguy: be nice or you'll get an official warning, another mod might still give you one for this. The way you just spoke is not how we treat each other on this forum.
MX-18.3_x64 May 26 2019 * 4.19.0-5-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * 8-core AMD Ryzen 7 2700
Asus TUF B450-Plus Gaming UEFI * Asus GTX 1050 Ti Nvidia 390.116 * 2x16Gb DDR4 2666 Kingston HyperX Predator
Samsung 860EVO * Samsung S24D330 & P2250 * HP Envy5030

User avatar
JayM
Qualified MX Guide
Posts: 2132
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 4:47 am

Re: HELP (Smart People)--- Menus borked

#3

Post by JayM » Sun Mar 31, 2019 5:02 am

I'm not particularly smart, but isn't the default Whisker menu found in /etc/skel/.config/menus? Or is that the stock Xfce menu, not Whisker?

Perhaps it's /etc/skel/.conf/panel/whiskermenu-20.rc? If so this could be copied to /home/manyroads/.conf/xf4c/panel to restore the original menu, or perhaps you have a backup in /home/manyroads/.restore/.conf/xfce4/panel that might contain any changes you've made prior to when you blorched your menu? That is, if this is the file that Whisker Menu uses to store its entries, which I have no idea if it is. OTOH the fact that the Xfce menu still works suggests that the menu itself is OK and the problem might be with Whisker Menu's config file which is probably that .rc file. Be sure to rename the one that you have and don't just overwrite it just in case this makes it worse instead of better, so you can at least get back to where you are now if you have to.
Please read How To Ask For Help and How to Break Your System.
MX User Manual: hold down ALT and press F1. Further information may be found in the MX Wiki.

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Administrator
Posts: 9373
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: HELP (Smart People)--- Menus borked

#4

Post by Eadwine Rose » Sun Mar 31, 2019 7:19 am

Bluesguy: whatever the cause you think may validate your manner of speaking.. it does not. This behavior is not tolerated. And as far as that goes, the forum staff has the last word.
MX-18.3_x64 May 26 2019 * 4.19.0-5-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * 8-core AMD Ryzen 7 2700
Asus TUF B450-Plus Gaming UEFI * Asus GTX 1050 Ti Nvidia 390.116 * 2x16Gb DDR4 2666 Kingston HyperX Predator
Samsung 860EVO * Samsung S24D330 & P2250 * HP Envy5030

User avatar
Jerry3904
Administrator
Posts: 25772
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: HELP (Smart People)--- Menus borked

#5

Post by Jerry3904 » Sun Mar 31, 2019 7:21 am

Enough said.
Not quite. The moderator's point was not what you said, but how you said it. We require civil discourse on this Forum--disagree all you want, but do not use the sort of aggravating language you finish with on this Forum:
"SMART PEOPLE" are here to help you ... your header is toxic ... grow up ...
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, SSD 120 GB, Data 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB
Personal: XPS 13, 4.18.0-19.3-liquorix, 4 GB

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 19449
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: HELP (Smart People)--- Menus borked

#6

Post by richb » Sun Mar 31, 2019 8:02 am

Move on yes. PM if you have issues with other users or Moderators.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 18.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 490
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2019 3:37 pm

Re: HELP (Smart People)--- Menus borked

#7

Post by Head_on_a_Stick » Sun Mar 31, 2019 8:07 am

@OP: try

Code: Select all

mv ~/.config/menus/xfce-applications.menu{,.bak}
That should restore the default menu (the command renames the xfce-applications.menu file with a .bak suffix).

Disclaimer: I'm not smart :cat:
"Direct action is the logical, consistent method of anarchism." — Emma Goldman

User avatar
manyroads
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 1869
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 6:33 pm

Re: HELP (Smart People)--- Menus borked

#8

Post by manyroads » Sun Mar 31, 2019 9:34 am

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
Sun Mar 31, 2019 8:07 am
@OP: try

Code: Select all

mv ~/.config/menus/xfce-applications.menu{,.bak}
That should restore the default menu (the command renames the xfce-applications.menu file with a .bak suffix).

Disclaimer: I'm not smart :cat:
Ah but much smarter than me... :eek:

Your solution seems to have worked. Thank you!
Pax vobiscum,
Mark Rabideau - http://many-roads.com
bspwm MX-18.3 kernel: 5.1.11-antix.1-amd64-smp
"For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong." H. L. Mencken
Testing: antiX19

User avatar
Stevo
Developer
Posts: 20122
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: [SOLVED] HELP (Smart People)--- Menus borked

#9

Post by Stevo » Sun Mar 31, 2019 5:45 pm

Remember you can also use the Panel section of MX Tweak to backup and restore your current panel configuration once you have it just the way you like it, which includes what items you have on the panel and how they're configured. This includes Whiskermenu and how you've configured it.

This is an MX-only killer feature for XFCE that is also needs more publicity, IMHO. Maybe in a video along with the Thunar deb install action?

User avatar
manyroads
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 1869
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 6:33 pm

Re: [SOLVED] HELP (Smart People)--- Menus borked

#10

Post by manyroads » Sun Mar 31, 2019 6:52 pm

Stevo wrote:
Sun Mar 31, 2019 5:45 pm
Remember you can also use the Panel section of MX Tweak to backup and restore your current panel configuration once you have it just the way you like it, which includes what items you have on the panel and how they're configured. This includes Whiskermenu and how you've configured it.

This is an MX-only killer feature for XFCE that is also needs more publicity, IMHO. Maybe in a video along with the Thunar deb install action?
Thank you for the reminder. I just did that! :number1:
Pax vobiscum,
Mark Rabideau - http://many-roads.com
bspwm MX-18.3 kernel: 5.1.11-antix.1-amd64-smp
"For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong." H. L. Mencken
Testing: antiX19

Post Reply

Return to “Bugs and Non-Package Requests Forum”