Welcome!

The kernel problem with recent updates has been solved. Find the solution here

Important information
-- Required MX 15/16 Repository Changes
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Fails to complete shutdown

Report Bugs, Issues and non- package Requests
User avatar
arjaybe
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1717
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 6:51 pm

Re: Fails to complete shutdown

#21

Post by arjaybe » Thu Jun 05, 2014 4:38 pm

I tried many combinations and permutations and none of them was better, but some were worse. acpi=off results in a slower boot with some hangs, and the shutdown dies after two lines. None of the apm codes seemed to do anything.

I feel the serpent nodding off again.-)
Intel Celeron 1007U with integrated HD Graphics 2500, 4GB RAM

A thug state led by an overweening twat.

Green Comet

PhilH
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 8:56 pm

Re: Fails to complete shutdown

#22

Post by PhilH » Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:58 pm

When I experienced this problem, it appeared to be due to the wireless network card not being set up properly. If you use wired networking, but have a wireless card in the system this might (?) be the cause of the problem. Once I got the wireless card working the problem "magically" disappeared. There is (or was) an option that appeared on the screen to scroll back through the shutdown entries before you push the power button to turn it off when shutdown fails. A couple of the entries in there (vaguely remember something about ACPI, but not entirely sure) will give the clues you might need to get it to run the shutdown to the end.

FWIW, I also got the "Failed to umount" error.

Regards,
Phil
(in NC/NY)

User avatar
arjaybe
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1717
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 6:51 pm

Re: Fails to complete shutdown

#23

Post by arjaybe » Thu Jun 05, 2014 8:47 pm

PhilH

You're describing my symptoms, but the wireless dongle appears to be working properly. Thanks for the reminder though. I'll check to ensure that the internal (dead-ish) wireless isn't acting up.

This machine also has Mepis 8 working correctly on it, and the original XP, which I guess is still working. Maybe I should go blow the dust off it and see.-) Those working installs are what keep me from trying BIOS fixes.
Intel Celeron 1007U with integrated HD Graphics 2500, 4GB RAM

A thug state led by an overweening twat.

Green Comet

User avatar
DBeckett
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2777
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 3:59 pm

Re: Fails to complete shutdown

#24

Post by DBeckett » Fri Jun 06, 2014 11:40 am

 
If you're not actually using the wireless, try disabling it to see what happens. At least it might give you a clue. I had similar trouble with mine.
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX-6100 hex-core, 3.3GHz, 8G, Radeon HD6570

User avatar
arjaybe
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1717
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 6:51 pm

Re: Fails to complete shutdown

#25

Post by arjaybe » Fri Jun 06, 2014 12:14 pm

DBeckett wrote: 
If you're not actually using the wireless, try disabling it to see what happens. At least it might give you a clue. I had similar trouble with mine.
Wireless is an immutable requirement, but I suppose I could try a boot with the dongle unplugged. One of the symptoms of acpi=off is that the wireless takes longer to establish a connection.
Intel Celeron 1007U with integrated HD Graphics 2500, 4GB RAM

A thug state led by an overweening twat.

Green Comet

User avatar
arjaybe
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1717
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 6:51 pm

Re: Fails to complete shutdown

#26

Post by arjaybe » Thu Jun 19, 2014 6:07 pm

I ran MX-14.1.1 on a unetbootin stick and it successfully shut down. So I installed it, saving home, and that shuts down too. It looks like I'll be able to make the move from M8 to MX14 now. Whatever the difference is, it fixed this problem. I'll go and mark it solved.
Intel Celeron 1007U with integrated HD Graphics 2500, 4GB RAM

A thug state led by an overweening twat.

Green Comet

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 24965
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Fails to complete shutdown

#27

Post by Jerry3904 » Thu Jun 19, 2014 6:18 pm

Excellent--yeah BitJam (I think)!
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, SSD 120 GB, Data 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB
Personal: XPS 13, 4.18.0-19.3-liquorix, 4 GB

Post Reply

Return to “Bugs and Non-Package Requests Forum”