Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

MX Tools fonts (SOLVED)

Show us how you are setting up MX-14!
Message
Author
User avatar
Fornhamfred
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 165
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 12:49 pm

Re: MX Tools fonts

#11 Post by Fornhamfred » Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:25 pm

dreamer wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:51 am
richb wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:12 am
dreamer wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:07 am
Those who have problems with QT/MX fonts - do you have KDE related packages installed?
I do.
I would say that's the problem. KDE usually takes over: theming, fonts etc. I doubt someone without KDE related packages installed has these problems. I actually had KDE on this MX installlation, but removed it, because it can work for a while, but then suddenly KDE strikes again and "infects" other DEs, like Xfce.

I think it has been that way since KDE 4, maybe even earlier. I think MX devs have tried to solve it. Stevo did a KDE spin a while back, but my experience is that this KDE problem has never been fully solved.
I have not installed any KDE apps intentionally but doing a search of synaptic reveals quite a few associated apps.
Screenshot.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
greywolf
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 9:06 pm

Re: MX Tools fonts

#12 Post by greywolf » Fri Sep 21, 2018 7:56 pm

Not sure if this helps, but,
one of my 1st tasks post-install any gtk based install is to install (if not there already) "qt5ct" and run it to make sure qt apps have the same font/general settings as my gtk theme. Never not worked for me.

greywolf.
It is about the Dragons - it was always about the Dragons!

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 17493
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: MX Tools fonts

#13 Post by richb » Fri Sep 21, 2018 7:57 pm

fehlix wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:05 pm
richb wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:12 am
dreamer wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:07 am
Those who have problems with QT/MX fonts - do you have KDE related packages installed?
I do.
@ Richb, to be more explicit so I can understand better:
You do run XFCE session and you have some KDE apps installed, e.g. like dolphin file manager.
THat is correct
And the fonts changes are visible within both Qt5 and the KDE apps, but
font size changes are not recognised in any Qt app including the KDE apps?
I will have to get at this tomorrow afternoon to verify. Long day. But a cursory look at several XFCE and KDE apps shows no change in fonts with XFCE system settings. Not sure how to tell whether an app is QT or not.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 17.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2395
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: MX Tools fonts

#14 Post by fehlix » Fri Sep 21, 2018 8:38 pm

richb wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 7:57 pm
I will have to get at this tomorrow afternoon to verify. Long day. But a cursory look at several XFCE and KDE apps shows no change in fonts with XFCE system settings. Not sure how to tell whether an app is QT or not.
Thanks. Just do some font/size changes and compare with two apps one GTK and one Qt app,
to show the visual differences.
Perhaps further also check on the command line those environment variables
are set properly:

Code: Select all

 env | grep QT_ | grep PLATFORM
QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=gtk2
QT_PLATFORM_PLUGIN=gtk2
QT_PLATFORMTHEME=gtk2
You will find in any Qt-app within help/about popup/info a reference of used Qt version if any, as this
seems to be a license requirement of Qt.
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

User avatar
Fornhamfred
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 165
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 12:49 pm

Re: MX Tools fonts

#15 Post by Fornhamfred » Sat Sep 22, 2018 1:17 pm

greywolf wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 7:56 pm
Not sure if this helps, but,
one of my 1st tasks post-install any gtk based install is to install (if not there already) "qt5ct" and run it to make sure qt apps have the same font/general settings as my gtk theme. Never not worked for me.

greywolf.
Qt5ct is already installed and run. The fonts are now the same but not sure about the general settings. Checked the MX tools and font has not changed.
All my system fonts have gone wonky appearance settings, qt5 settings look to be correct.

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2395
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: MX Tools fonts

#16 Post by fehlix » Sat Sep 22, 2018 2:46 pm

Fornhamfred wrote:
Sat Sep 22, 2018 1:17 pm
Qt5ct is already installed and run. The fonts are now the same but not sure about the general settings. Checked the MX tools and font has not changed.
You can either choose
Option A - to use Qt5 widget styles provided by qt5-style-plugins.

or alternatively

Option B - use Qt5 configuration utility qt5ct to provide gtk themes to Qt5 widgets.

The former option A is the default with MX17 enabled through those environment variables passed to the Qt5 widgets.

Code: Select all

QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=gtk2
QT_PLATFORM_PLUGIN=gtk2
QT_PLATFORMTHEME=gtk2
Otion B - qt5ct, is known to work, but seem to have limitations for some applications and themes.
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 17493
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: MX Tools fonts

#17 Post by richb » Sat Sep 22, 2018 4:20 pm

@Fehkix
Responding to your requests posted last night.
Using settings manager:
Galculator GTK+ app font changes effective both style and size.
Nomacs QT 5.7.1 app Style does not change but font size does.
$ env | grep QT_ | grep PLATFORM
QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=gtk2
QT_PLATFORM_PLUGIN=gtk2
QT_PLATFORMTHEME=gtk2
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 17.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2395
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: MX Tools fonts

#18 Post by fehlix » Sat Sep 22, 2018 5:48 pm

@richb, thanks.
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

User avatar
Fornhamfred
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 165
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 12:49 pm

Re: MX Tools fonts

#19 Post by Fornhamfred » Sun Sep 23, 2018 7:43 am

fehlix wrote:
Sat Sep 22, 2018 2:46 pm
Fornhamfred wrote:
Sat Sep 22, 2018 1:17 pm
Qt5ct is already installed and run. The fonts are now the same but not sure about the general settings. Checked the MX tools and font has not changed.
You can either choose
Option A - to use Qt5 widget styles provided by qt5-style-plugins.

or alternatively

Option B - use Qt5 configuration utility qt5ct to provide gtk themes to Qt5 widgets.

The former option A is the default with MX17 enabled through those environment variables passed to the Qt5 widgets.

Code: Select all

QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=gtk2
QT_PLATFORM_PLUGIN=gtk2
QT_PLATFORMTHEME=gtk2
Otion B - qt5ct, is known to work, but seem to have limitations for some applications and themes.
This is the output from my system
$ env | grep QT_ | grep PLATFORM
QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct
QT_PLATFORM_PLUGIN=qt5ct
QT_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct

How do I change this to gtk2 as the display in qt5 settings is larger than the screen.
Screenshot_2018-09-23_12-42-51.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2395
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: MX Tools fonts

#20 Post by fehlix » Sun Sep 23, 2018 8:23 am

Fornhamfred wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 7:43 am
How do I change this to gtk2 as the display in qt5 settings is larger than the screen.
For using qt5ct to pass style, themes and fonts to the Qt5 apps, you need only to set

Code: Select all

export QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct
such that they are available for both user and root.
Check with:

Code: Select all

# check for the user
env | grep QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME
# and for root:
sudo env | grep QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME
Set style, themes and fonts accordingly by running qt5ct for both user and root:

Code: Select all

# set for the user
env QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct qt5ct
# set for root
gksudo env QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct qt5ct
Within qt5ct: select Style : gtk2
Adjust Fonts and Icons Theme accordingly.
:puppy:
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

Post Reply

Return to “Themes and Screenshots”