Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Laptop Freezes

Message
Author
User avatar
KBD
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 7:52 pm

Re: Laptop Freezes

#11 Post by KBD » Thu Apr 12, 2018 2:18 pm

Those temps are perfect, better than mine.
What I would do, if you have another drive handy, or even a usb stick with at least 16gb storage, is do a full install of of MX on another drive and see if you are still having an issue. I'm wondering if your hard drive is acting up. Also is it just freezing up with Firefox, or across your apps?
Typically I would think video driver issue, firefox issue if it only happens with firefox, cpu only if overheating or low spec, which your computer is not. You have at least 4gb ram? I think that's what these machines come with.

User avatar
rokytnji.1
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 736
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 9:06 pm

Re: Laptop Freezes

#12 Post by rokytnji.1 » Thu Apr 12, 2018 8:03 pm

Just a update from me. I backed up the 320gig secondary drive on mine and erased everything. The freeze-up is on the 120 gig seagate drive. Both are IDE.

Funny thing is. As long as I don't turn the computer off. Everything is fine. Only after it sits powered down for a day or 2. I have been keeping up with updates on the 120 gig drive. Where MX sits.

Been doing other bike projects. So procrastinating on installing from one 120 gig drive to the other 320 gig gig drive. Since it runs fine. As Long as I don't turn it off and let it sit for a day or 2.

I am not sure if it is any good or not. But when I tore apart my dish network receiver. Its a ide hard drive in it. So I might swap out the 120 gig seagate and trash it.
Maybe I can watch the stored videos on it with VLC?

User avatar
Krissharm
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 7:53 pm

Re: Laptop Freezes

#13 Post by Krissharm » Fri Apr 13, 2018 7:46 am

To be clear - this happens when the laptop is underload. I was actually playing a game. I expected it to be RAM but looking at conky the CPU and RAM usage is not even half way. However the laptop does get hot. I assumed it was that.
Primary HP Omen 15-ax009na, i5-6300HQ+NVIDIA GTX 950 Running MX17 64 bit.
Secondary Thinkpad x220 12GB ssd msata & ssd sata drive MX17 64 bit
Light child duties Thinkpad R51 MX17/Windows XP 32bit with forcepae and IDE to SATA + Kingston SSD.

User avatar
chrispop99
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2273
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: Laptop Freezes

#14 Post by chrispop99 » Fri Apr 13, 2018 9:46 am

Have you tried my suggestion of having the temperatures shown in the panel, so you can get some actual figures of temperatures under load?

Chris
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

User avatar
Krissharm
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 7:53 pm

Re: Laptop Freezes

#15 Post by Krissharm » Fri Apr 13, 2018 9:56 am

chrispop99 wrote:Have you tried my suggestion of having the temperatures shown in the panel, so you can get some actual figures of temperatures under load?

Chris
Sorry - yes I did use conky to show the temp and it did reach 90 degrees. (i'm sorry I assume you mean conky when you say panel?)
Primary HP Omen 15-ax009na, i5-6300HQ+NVIDIA GTX 950 Running MX17 64 bit.
Secondary Thinkpad x220 12GB ssd msata & ssd sata drive MX17 64 bit
Light child duties Thinkpad R51 MX17/Windows XP 32bit with forcepae and IDE to SATA + Kingston SSD.

User avatar
chrispop99
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2273
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: Laptop Freezes

#16 Post by chrispop99 » Fri Apr 13, 2018 11:49 am

No, not Conky.

The vertical bar (unless you have moved it) that runs up the left of the screen. You can add and remove items from it. Right-click the Panel > Panel > Add New Items, then type 'sensor' in the search box. Click 'Sensor plug in', click 'Add', then close the dialogue.

You will have an addition item on the panel that you can configure to show things like temperatures. (Ignore the message about HDD; you only need this plug-in whilst fault-finding. You can right-click and delete it later.)

Try running things that cause the shut-down and monitor the temperatures.

One other thing - is this a laptop with dual graphics cards? If you don't know, show us the output in a terminal of the following:

Code: Select all

inxi -G
Chris
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

User avatar
KBD
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 7:52 pm

Re: Laptop Freezes

#17 Post by KBD » Fri Apr 13, 2018 11:59 am

X220 is a 7 year old machine at this point. Certain video games may be a bit much for it. I've never hit 90C but I don't run games on my X220. It might help if you max out the ram at 16gb, but that old cpu may just be overmatched by the games you are running on it. It is possible you could upgrade the cpu, might be worth checking out the r/thinkpad reddit and ask the folks there about it.

User avatar
cyrilus31
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 546
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 3:24 pm

Re: Laptop Freezes

#18 Post by cyrilus31 » Fri Apr 13, 2018 12:23 pm

When you have an issue, please provide hardware information thanks to "Quick Info".
Changing thermal compound is sometimes the only way to reduce the CPU temp.

catsarekacamp
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 7:45 pm

Re: Laptop Freezes

#19 Post by catsarekacamp » Sun Apr 15, 2018 5:44 pm

If you have an intel laptop, make sure you have thermald installed. it helps alot with temps, especially under load.

User avatar
Krissharm
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 7:53 pm

Re: Laptop Freezes

#20 Post by Krissharm » Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:07 pm

cyrilus31 wrote:When you have an issue, please provide hardware information thanks to "Quick Info".
Changing thermal compound is sometimes the only way to reduce the CPU temp.
System: Host: x220 Kernel: 4.13.0-1-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3
Distro: MX-17.1_x64 Horizon December 15, 2017
Machine: Type: Laptop System: LENOVO product: 4291F52 v: ThinkPad X220 serial: N/A
Mobo: LENOVO model: 4291F52 serial: N/A UEFI [Legacy]: LENOVO v: 8DET73WW (1.43 )
date: 10/12/2016
Battery: ID-1: BAT0 charge: 0.7 Wh condition: 91.7/93.2 Wh (98%)
CPU: Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Core i5-2520M type: MT MCP L2 cache: 3072 KiB
Speed: 2968 MHz min/max: 800/3200 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 2968 2: 3136 3: 2892
4: 2990
Graphics: Card-1: Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics driver: i915
v: kernel
Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.2) driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa
resolution: 1366x768~60Hz
OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Sandybridge Mobile v: 3.3 Mesa 13.0.6
Audio: Card-1: Intel 6 Series/C200 Series Family High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel
Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.13.0-1-amd64
Network: Card-1: Intel 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection driver: e1000e
IF: eth0 state: down mac: f0:de:f1:9c:21:55
Card-2: Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205 [Taylor Peak] driver: iwlwifi
IF: wlan0 state: up mac: 08:11:96:83:d7:84
Drives: HDD Total Size: 232.89 GiB used: 131.84 GiB (56.6%)
ID-1: /dev/mmcblk0 model: 00000 size: 29.81 GiB
ID-2: /dev/sda model: Samsung_SSD_850 size: 232.89 GiB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 226.23 GiB used: 131.84 GiB (58.3%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
ID-2: swap-1 size: 2.00 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda2
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 70.0 C mobo: N/A
Fan Speeds (RPM): cpu: 3797
Repos: Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/antix.list
1: deb http://nl.mxrepo.com/antix/stretch stretch main
Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian-stable-updates.list
1: deb http://ftp.uk.debian.org/debian/ stretch-updates main contrib non-free
Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian.list
1: deb http://ftp.uk.debian.org/debian/ stretch main contrib non-free
2: deb http://security.debian.org/ stretch/updates main contrib non-free
Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/mx.list
1: deb http://nl.mxrepo.com/mx/repo/ stretch main non-free
No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/various.list
Info: Processes: 235 Uptime: 3m Memory: 11.52 GiB used: 939.1 MiB (8.0%) Shell: init
inxi: 3.0.00


apologies - thought I had.
Primary HP Omen 15-ax009na, i5-6300HQ+NVIDIA GTX 950 Running MX17 64 bit.
Secondary Thinkpad x220 12GB ssd msata & ssd sata drive MX17 64 bit
Light child duties Thinkpad R51 MX17/Windows XP 32bit with forcepae and IDE to SATA + Kingston SSD.

Post Reply

Return to “General”