Welcome!
Forum users

Current releases
--MX-23 release info here
--Migration information to MX-23 here
--antiX-23.1 (Arditi del Popolo) release info here

Important information
--If in starting your system it boots to an unwanted Desktop, right click desktop, then select leave and logout. At the
login screen there is a session chooser at the top of the screen.

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- New Forum Features, Marking Solved and Referencing a User: here

MX Linux 18 Laptop Computer Hung Up With Black Screen

Falcon

MX Linux 18 Laptop Computer Hung Up With Black Screen

#1 Post by Falcon »

Hi,

I'm new to MX Linux and I posted a question about printer installation in the Hardware forum using my desktop computer. I left the laptop that I just installed MX Linux on a short time ago running until I got an answer to my question. This took a couple of hours, and when I got the answer, I went back to the laptop and found that the screen was black. That's most likely because the screen shuts off to save battery power. I tapped the touchpad but nothing happened. In the past when the computer had Windows 7 installed if this occurred, I only had to press the ESC key and the computer would come back to life. That didn't work this time, nor did any other keystrokes. Is there a particular key combination that would normally be used to poke the OS and get it running again? I was logged in as an administrator so I'm afraid to force a power off.

Thanks...!!!

Jerry3904
Administrator

Re: MX Linux 18 Laptop Computer Hung Up With Black Screen

#2 Post by Jerry3904 »

I press the power button for a second when that happens.
Production: 5.10, MX-23 Xfce, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 16 GB, SSD 120 GB, Data 1TB
Personal: Lenovo X1 Carbon with MX-23 Fluxbox and Windows 10
Other: Raspberry Pi 5 with MX-23 Xfce Raspberry Pi Respin

Falcon

#3 Post by Falcon »

I gave the power button a try but that didn't work. Any other ideas?

Falcon

#4 Post by Falcon »