Welcome!
Forum users

Current releases
--MX-23 release info here
--Migration information to MX-23 here
--antiX-23.1 (Arditi del Popolo) release info here

Important information
--If in starting your system it boots to an unwanted Desktop, right click desktop, then select leave and logout. At the
login screen there is a session chooser at the top of the screen.

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- New Forum Features, Marking Solved and Referencing a User: here

Python 3 Version (SOLVED)

barnaby

Python 3 Version (SOLVED)

#1 Post by barnaby »

I am fairly new to MX but not to Linux. So far one of the things that has impressed me with MX is that so many programs are available, and in recent versions too. Some of them it seems are there at the request of users. For example I use the palemoon browser a lot. I was delighted to find it waiting in the repos. And it is kept up to date. Now I use the Python programming language a lot, and in fact teach it to young people in the local youth centre. They mostly use MS Windows on their laptops, and normally it is version 3.7 that they get when they install it.

I am somewhat surprised to find that, in MX, I am stuck with version 3.5, which was released more that three years ago. It is now way out of date. The current release is 3.7.1 and version 3.8 should be out fairly soon. So my question is, why is Python so far behind with its versions on MX, while so may other packages a right up to date? or am I missing something somewhere? And yes, I have upgraded MX to version 18.
Last edited by barnaby on Fri Dec 21, 2018 3:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Stevo
Developer

Re: Python 3 Version

#2 Post by Stevo »

It's because MX is based on Debian Stable, which had its base system packages frozen in late 2016, and we are leary of updating that base, which usually results in the system breaking. We've found that we have been able to backport Python 3 programs up to now with the current 3.5.