Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Thunar - Camera - Very annoying missing privileges !!!

Message
Author
linwinux

Thunar - Camera - Very annoying missing privileges !!!

#1 Post by linwinux » Sun May 06, 2018 5:55 am

Hmmm, I wasn't sure if I should post this under Hardware or under Desktop, but here we go ...
I've been an avid hobby photographer for the past 30+ years. Ever since I switched to Linux, starting with Ubuntu back around 2008 or so, I never had a problem connecting my camera to the computer via USB cable, followed by being able to do whatever the heck I want, with my photos which are located on the camera. My very simple procedure for getting ready to work with my photos while they're still in the camera is generally always the same method:

1. Connect cable to camera.
2. Power on the camera.
3. Open file manager and locate camera.
4. Open folder with photos and CTRL + A followed by CTRL + X for removal of photos to specific location on disk.

For the past numerous years, regardless if I was using Ubuntu, Xubuntu, or Mint, this has never been a problem ... until now. With MX Linux & Thunar the photos can be located without a problem, but I can neither move nor delete the photos which I find incredibly irritating. Went on a long hike with our dog this morning, took some pretty phenomenal photos, and can't get them off the camera storage. I've tried opening the folder location on the camera as root in order to re-assign ownership privileges ... didn't work. Tried assigning ownership of camera folder to computer user via terminal, using both chown -R as well as trying to assign 777 chmod settings, both of which failed due to lacking privileges. If I try to find the camera/folder within system/media or system/mnt it doesn't show up there ... even though it's visible in Thunar. Starting off with Thunar opened as root, displays neither the camera nor the camera folders anywhere! This is quite annoying to say the least. How can I make sure that the camera is automatically recognized as a device that's owned by the user, i.e. not owned by root? I also tried pcmanfm, which yielded the same problems. So this is something that has to do specifically with MX ... methinks. :frown:
camera_nocut_nodelete.jpg
camera_nocut_nodelete2.jpg
camera_nocut_nodelete3.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
chrispop99
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2369
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: Thunar - Camera - Very annoying missing privileges !!!

#2 Post by chrispop99 » Sun May 06, 2018 7:07 am

My Canon cameras work OOTB; connect, and they appear in Thunar, then browse to the DCIM folder. For cameras where this doesn't work, installing Shotwell usually fixes things.

Chris
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22420
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Thunar - Camera - Very annoying missing privileges !!!

#3 Post by Jerry3904 » Sun May 06, 2018 7:21 am

I can't delete from my smartphone, though copy works fine. I use either the phone's app or AirDroid to remove them.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

linwinux

Re: Thunar - Camera - Very annoying missing privileges !!!

#4 Post by linwinux » Sun May 06, 2018 7:34 am

Well, I'm not using my smartphone, but rather an actual digital camera. I'll install shotwell and see what happens, but that's definitely not my preferred solution. I really like to use nothing but the file manager, to instantly open the appropriate app for any file automatically. Hopefully this will be resolved at some point ... ???

antiX-Dave
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 377
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 4:51 pm

Re: Thunar - Camera - Very annoying missing privileges !!!

#5 Post by antiX-Dave » Sun May 06, 2018 7:38 am

Perhaps it is mounting as ro instead of rw? Not sure why it would default to this but perhaps crafting a fstab entry for rw would resolve this issue.

linwinux

Re: Thunar - Camera - Very annoying missing privileges !!!

#6 Post by linwinux » Sun May 06, 2018 8:42 am

I have no idea what it's mounting as. I just see a little USB camera on the upper left side of Thunar and know that that's my device. In standard, non-root mode, I can access the camera with its folders and view as well as copy the photos. If I open Thunar as root from the terminal, I can't even do that. I'm not messing with the Fstab unless someone can provide me with the proper, MX Linux compatible adjustments to make. Messing around with Fstab without knowing exactly what I (or anyone else for that matter) am doing there, can cause for the sytem to become unstable. I used to edit the Fstab for disks all of the time, until I got my first conflict with the (then new) Disks app that Mint started using. After that I just enabled auto-mount from there permanently. I'm sure that's possible with MX too, just haven't found that setting yet ...

I tried Shotwell which does indeed provide the option to delete images after an import, but that's twice the time and twice the work of just cutting them directly from the camera into the right folder on the hard disk. For now I'll have to live with that I guess. :bawling: Getting things done directly from within Thunar is just so much faster. If I log out of MX, how do I log back in as root only (if that's possible from the login screen)?

.

User avatar
dolphin_oracle
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9303
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 1:17 pm

Re: Thunar - Camera - Very annoying missing privileges !!!

#7 Post by dolphin_oracle » Sun May 06, 2018 9:05 am

It's not really mounted. The camera is connected via the gphoto2 protocol, as can be seen in your screenshots in the address bar.

I'm not sure that gphoto2 supports "cut" operations. I'm surpised that a straight up delete didn't work in thunar.
http://www.youtube.com/runwiththedolphin
lenovo ThinkPad T530 - MX-17
lenovo s21e & 100s - antiX-17, MX17(live-usb)
FYI: mx "test" repo is not the same thing as debian testing repo.

User avatar
dolphin_oracle
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9303
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 1:17 pm

Re: Thunar - Camera - Very annoying missing privileges !!!

#8 Post by dolphin_oracle » Sun May 06, 2018 9:08 am

If it's possible to check your camera settings to see if you can specity a mass storage mode. My little cheapy Kodak had 2 storage modes. One comes up in gphoto and the other as a standard usb mass storage device.
http://www.youtube.com/runwiththedolphin
lenovo ThinkPad T530 - MX-17
lenovo s21e & 100s - antiX-17, MX17(live-usb)
FYI: mx "test" repo is not the same thing as debian testing repo.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22420
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Thunar - Camera - Very annoying missing privileges !!!

#9 Post by Jerry3904 » Sun May 06, 2018 9:26 am

Huh. I went into Thunar > Edit > Preferences > Advanced > Volume Management, clicked on "Configure" link. I enabled "Auto-open files on new drives and media." I then opened the smartphone and set the USB option to "File Transfer" and now can delete images. I unchecked the option I had enabled, logged out and back in, and can still delete.

Need to try a regular camera next...yup, delete works with my little Canon as well.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6005
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: Thunar - Camera - Very annoying missing privileges !!!

#10 Post by Eadwine Rose » Sun May 06, 2018 9:42 am

Jerry, thanks!! Seriously this is the first time I click on that configure link.. all these years I held off on that one because I thought it had to do with the SOUND volume *snort*
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 14-3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.130 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP F2280

Post Reply

Return to “Desktop Environment”