Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

KDE

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
rajiv
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 2:22 pm

KDE

#1 Post by rajiv » Sun Dec 17, 2017 6:39 pm

Just installed MX17 386 - how do I install KDE on it. None of the package manager want to do it. Any reasons?

User avatar
Richard
Posts: 1778
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:31 am

Re: KDE

#2 Post by Richard » Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:23 am

Probably low priority due to MX-17 just released. Only/Main DE is Xfce.

There is not planned an official KDE,
but I'm sure it will be available soon for installation via the MX Package Installer.

Years ago there was a builder on Kde site, which sometimes worked.
Last edited by Richard on Sun Dec 24, 2017 10:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.
MX17.1____: T430-2017, 8 GB RAM, 4.15.0-1-amd64, 119 SSD
antiX-/MX-171: AA1/Eee, 1 GB RAM, 4.15.0-1-686-pae, 149 HDD
DoubleCmd, LO604, Dropbox, Slimjet, FFesr, mPDFed, Py3, CherryT, Vbox

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 21809
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: KDE

#3 Post by Jerry3904 » Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:42 am

Yes, as we say everywhere: this is an Xfce distro. Package Installer has other possibilities available under Window Managers, including KDE5 Standard, for the user's convenience only--we don't officially support those.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15657
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: KDE

#4 Post by Stevo » Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:40 pm

Tim just discovered that we also need a 32-bit version of our modified kde-plasma-desktop metapackage, so that should appear in the repo very soon. I would guess that all the reported KDE install problems have been on the 32-bit platform. Hopefully that'll clear it up.

User avatar
rajiv
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 2:22 pm

Re: KDE

#5 Post by rajiv » Sun Dec 24, 2017 11:43 am

Thanks for the info Stevo

Post Reply

Return to “Desktop Environment”