Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Window placement

Message
Author
User avatar
arjaybe
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1667
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 6:51 pm

Window placement

#1 Post by arjaybe » Sun Dec 20, 2015 2:20 pm

MX-15 RC1

How do I get windows to open where I want them? I like to size and place the window for each application and have it always open the same way.
Intel Celeron 1007U with integrated HD Graphics 2500, 4GB RAM

A thug state led by an overweening twat.

Green Comet

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22603
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Window placement

#2 Post by Jerry3904 » Sun Dec 20, 2015 2:47 pm

Size is supposed to follow what you last used in most applications. Usually works for me except on some child screens (like in LuckyBackup).

I don't believe individual locations for particular applications is possible. The generic location can be set in Settings Manager > Window Manager Tweaks, Placement tab. But the theme being used can interfere with that setting...
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
arjaybe
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1667
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 6:51 pm

Re: Window placement

#3 Post by arjaybe » Sun Dec 20, 2015 3:01 pm

Dang! Maybe I'll just set it to "Center."
Intel Celeron 1007U with integrated HD Graphics 2500, 4GB RAM

A thug state led by an overweening twat.

Green Comet

User avatar
DBeckett
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2779
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 3:59 pm

Re: Window placement

#4 Post by DBeckett » Mon Dec 21, 2015 4:49 am

 
I think the best you can hope for is to use "Under the mouse pointer" for placement. Click the item and then quickly move your mouse to the desired area. It doesn't work very well for apps that start very quickly like Thunar. There isn't enough time to move the mouse.
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX-6100 hex-core, 3.3GHz, 8G, Radeon HD6570

User avatar
arjaybe
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1667
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 6:51 pm

Re: Window placement

#5 Post by arjaybe » Mon Dec 21, 2015 2:44 pm

I'll give that a try. Could become a habit. I'm trying to use this release without installing KDE.
Intel Celeron 1007U with integrated HD Graphics 2500, 4GB RAM

A thug state led by an overweening twat.

Green Comet

User avatar
i_ri
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 319
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 12:26 am

Re: Window placement

#6 Post by i_ri » Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:45 am

hello arjaybe and everyone
the window placement found it to be a variable when was being silly with so many panels. the smallest panel creates so many variables vert,horz., size,location for at least the first few windows to anchor or avoid. moving the entire panel made anchor but layers behind not really convenient for us. one tiny one here is anchor for first open window placement. other than that it is silly experimenting to have one button important or empty or several middle and edge too do try for possibilities? of interaction of varied panels with window placement? see if you can harness the logic to your windowwishes.

User avatar
BitJam
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2472
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 11:36 pm

Re: Window placement

#7 Post by BitJam » Sun Jan 17, 2016 5:11 am

arjaybe wrote:How do I get windows to open where I want them? I like to size and place the window for each application and have it always open the same way.
The wmctrl program gives you some control over this. You have to open the window first and then use wmctrl to set its location and size. If you want the same application in the same place with the same size each time then you might be able to accomplish it with a little script that opens each application and then places it with wmctrl.

Here is a brief discussion of some of the pitfalls of using wmctrl. It also demonstrates that some applications (such as xfce4-terminal) allow you to set the geometry directly which is usually a much better way to go if it is available. Either approach will probably require some sort of script.
Will I cry when it's all over?
When I die will I see Heaven?

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 11380
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

Re: Window placement

#8 Post by lucky9 » Sun Jan 17, 2016 5:47 am

You can get spoiled....
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22603
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Window placement

#9 Post by Jerry3904 » Sun Jan 17, 2016 9:48 am

There was a thread on this recently on the Xfce Forum:

https://forum.xfce.org/viewtopic.php?pid=39998#p39998

I'd be interested in seeing what the CLI application devilspie can do.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
arjaybe
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1667
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 6:51 pm

Re: Window placement

#10 Post by arjaybe » Sun Jan 17, 2016 1:03 pm

I've been working with "open under cursor." Click and whip it across the screen, hoping the window opens pretty close to where you want it. It'll do until something better comes along.

Thanks BitJam, but I don't think I'm ready for writing a bunch of scripts, particularly with pitfalls. It might come to that, though.

Lucky9, I am spoiled, yes. But I will suck it up.-)

Jerry3904, I'm interested in seeing devilspie too.

Possibly unrelated, but somewhat window placementish: how can I stop the windows maximizing when they touch the top of the screen?
Intel Celeron 1007U with integrated HD Graphics 2500, 4GB RAM

A thug state led by an overweening twat.

Green Comet

Post Reply

Return to “Desktop Environment”