Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Long Sign in time????

Message
Author
joesplace
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:39 pm

Re: Long Sign in time????

#11 Post by joesplace » Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:44 am

Since I have an SSD, I turned off the swap file and deleted the swap partition. No difference . . . :(

User avatar
chrispop99
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2372
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: Long Sign in time????

#12 Post by chrispop99 » Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:53 am

joesplace wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 12:36 am
The User Manual says "avoid setting up a SWAP file on the SSD to avoid slowing it down." So how do I get rid of my swap partition and file? Can you just turn it off?
The manual says users with an SSD often avoid setting a swap file in order to avoid slowing it down. That refers to slowing down the SSD as it ages, not your system or boot time.

If you have 4GB or more of RAM, and don't intend doing intensive tasks, you can run OK without swap. In your case, I would leave it active.

Chris
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

joesplace
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:39 pm

Re: Long Sign in time????

#13 Post by joesplace » Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:01 am

Thanks Chris - I'll put the partition back and turn on the swap :)

User avatar
asqwerth
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3257
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 5:37 am

Re: Long Sign in time????

#14 Post by asqwerth » Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:07 am

Not sure if I'm reading this correctly, but you appear to be logged into root.

Code: Select all

root@mx:/home/shortstop# inxi -F
System: Host: mx Kernel: 4.15.0-1-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 Console: tty 1 
If so, does that make a difference? Anyone more knowledgeable able to comment on this?
Desktop: Intel i5-4460, 16GB RAM, Intel integrated graphics
Clevo N130WU-based Ultrabook: Intel i7-8550U (Kaby Lake R), 16GB RAM, Intel integrated graphics (UEFI)
ASUS X42D laptop: AMD Phenom II, 6GB RAM, Mobility Radeon HD 5400

User avatar
dolphin_oracle
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9307
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 1:17 pm

Re: Long Sign in time????

#15 Post by dolphin_oracle » Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:55 am

I would take a look at dmesg output and ~/Xsession-errors to see if there is any sign of problem.
http://www.youtube.com/runwiththedolphin
lenovo ThinkPad T530 - MX-17
lenovo s21e & 100s - antiX-17, MX17(live-usb)
FYI: mx "test" repo is not the same thing as debian testing repo.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22421
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Long Sign in time????

#16 Post by Jerry3904 » Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:51 am

Could it be the Broadcoms?
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
chrispop99
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2372
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: Long Sign in time????

#17 Post by chrispop99 » Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:58 am

Jerry3904 wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:51 am
Could it be the Broadcoms?
Strong possibility, based on experience!

Chris
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

User avatar
mmikeinsantarosa
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2377
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 10:12 am

Re: Long Sign in time????

#18 Post by mmikeinsantarosa » Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:22 am

Stevo wrote:
Wed Jun 13, 2018 11:36 pm
If you use the systemd boot option in the advanced GRUB options, does it make any difference?

If not, you can use the systemd-analyze tool to try and find what's taking the longest, or else use bootchart with the standard boot.

https://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/systemd-blame.html

Until it's fixed, can you avoid rebooting by using suspend or hibernate?
++ Great tip/link steveo!
LT: MX17.1 Quad Core model: Intel Core i7-6820HQ Kernel: 4.16.0-12.1-liquorix-amd64 (64 bit)
DT: Intel(R) Core i5-3.1GHz Kernel~3.9-1-mepis64 x86_64

User avatar
j2mcgreg
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 370
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 12:04 pm

Re: Long Sign in time????

#19 Post by j2mcgreg » Thu Jun 14, 2018 11:22 am

Here's an acid test to see if your Broadcom wireless card is the culprit. Temporarily connect your laptop to your router / modem using an ethernet cable and if the delay disappears, you have your answer. Also it would be a good idea to access your router/modem and make sure that the wireless broadcast mode is set to 2.4 GHz a/b/g rather than the usual default of "mixed". A lot of router/modems default to "mixed mode" which alternates broadcasts between the 2.4 GHz and 5Ghz at a rate that is faster than older Broadcom chips can easily accomodate.
Acer Aspire 5742: Intel i3 M370, Intel HD graphics, 4 GB ram, 500 GB hdd, Broadcom wireless n adapter

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 16180
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: Long Sign in time????

#20 Post by Stevo » Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:15 pm

So...are you going to try and use bootchart or systemd-analyze to assign the blame? Sometimes it's just some network thingamajig waiting for something that never happens, then timing out.

You could also try adding and booting a different kernel so see if that makes any difference, just to rule out a regression in the 4.15 one for your hardware. I would suggest the stock Debian one to start with, easily installed with the package installer.

Post Reply

Return to “Desktop Environment”