[SOLVED] First Install - GParted can't find SSD

When you run into problems installing MX Linux XFCE
Specter88

[SOLVED] First Install - GParted can't find SSD

#1 Post by Specter88 »

Moderator note:
Images posted to the Forum are limited to 600px x 600px. The link to the larger image at the outside service should be used without the {img} tags if the image is larger than the restricted Forum size.

Hi,

I'm actually pretty new to linux and trying to install MX Linux on a Lenovo Yoga 520 (81C8). Finally I want to run a dual boot system with MX Linux and Windows 10. Windows 10 is already installed but trying to install MX Linux seems to be a lot of more trouble than I expected. Starting GParted in the Live USB to create a new partition for Linux displays my USB Stick but not my SSD I want to install Linux (screenshot).
https://i.imgur.com/Pio1rUO.png

Searching the internet
Maybe I need some further driver for the SSD, but I'm not sure.

These are my hardware components:

Lenovo Yoga 520- 14IKB (81C8)

Bios 4QCN49WW (v2.13)

CPU Íntel Core i5-8250U

8 GB RAM

Hard Disk Intel SSDPEKKW256G7

Can somebody help me please?
Last edited by Specter88 on Wed Apr 03, 2019 1:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

manyroads

Re: First Install - GParted can't find SSD

#2 Post by manyroads »

Have you tried the help provided/ suggested by "mother google"? (link below)

https://goo.gl/M1fUax

If you have tried the above and those don't work, you should provide the terminal output of the following command here:

Code: Select all

inxi-Fxrz
Pax vobiscum,
Mark Rabideau - ManyRoads Genealogy -or- eirenicon llc. (geeky stuff)
i3wm, bspwm, hlwm, dwm, spectrwm ~ Linux #449130
"For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong." -- H. L. Mencken

fehlix
Developer

#3 Post by fehlix »

Specter88 wrote: Sat Mar 23, 2019 8:51 am Can somebody help me please?
In the upper right corner of gparted you can select the disk / drive.