Installing MX18 without updating GRUB

When you run into problems installing MX Linux XFCE
lapata

Installing MX18 without updating GRUB

#1 Post by lapata »

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie with Linux so I need your help.

I got a laptop with UBUNTU installed (sda1 1GB as esp, sda2 5GB as recovery, sda3 790GB as root+home, sda4 8GB as swap)
I followed Dolphin's tutorial on how to install MX on a multi-booted system (link inside MX manual).
So I resized sda3 and now I have sda3 630GB and sda5 130GB.

But I have some questions while running installation from LiveCD:
1st: how not to install GRUB during MX installation in order to update UBUNTU's GRUB later on?
2nd: if I want to share the same swap partition with UBUNTU should I select sda4 or none? Selecting sda4 will just re-label it or will affect UBUNTU also?
3rd: and what about boot partition? is it OK if I choose to be installed at sda5 (the same partition with MX root)?
in other words how will I install everything on sda5, share swap with UBUNTU and leave GRUB intact .

thanks guys.

fehlix
Developer

Re: Installing MX18 without updating GRUB

#2 Post by fehlix »

lapata wrote: Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:46 pm Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie with Linux so I need your help.

I got a laptop with UBUNTU installed (sda1 1GB as esp, sda2 5GB as recovery, sda3 790GB as root+home, sda4 8GB as swap)
I followed Dolphin's tutorial on how to install MX on a multi-booted system (link inside MX manual).
So I resized sda3 and now I have sda3 630GB and sda5 130GB.

But I have some questions while running installation from LiveCD:
1st: how not to install GRUB during MX installation in order to update UBUNTU's GRUB later on?
As you have an esp, you appear to boot in UEFI-mode.Which means in UEFI, all installs do have it's own EFI-GRUB,
installed within that esp-partition ( under /EFI/ubuntu .. /EFI/mx18.1 etc )
You select with the installer when booting Live in UEFI mode the GRUB-target as "ESP"!