Welcome!
Important information
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.1 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Pick your brains

Post Reply
User avatar
j2mcgreg
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 477
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 12:04 pm

Pick your brains

#1

Post by j2mcgreg » Tue Dec 25, 2018 2:19 pm

I'm still trying to figure out how to install MX 18 on this laptop (see signature) and I have been trying various boot parameters with no luck so far. However, I came across an article on installing Ubuntu on a Ryzen 3 equipped ACER that mentioned using one that spoofed Windows. That led me to Linus Torvald's Git Hub article on kernel parameters where he talks about this:

Code: Select all

'acpi_osi=! acpi_osi="Windows 2000"'
What I want to know is if that is scalable IE can "Windows 2000" be replaced with "Windows 10" and still work?

Thanks in Advance
Acer Aspire 3 A315-41-R2W5, AMD Ryzen 5 2500U, Radeon Vega Mobile Graphics, 8 GB ram, 1000 TB hdd

User avatar
Richard
Posts: 2534
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:31 am

Re: Pick your brains

#2

Post by Richard » Tue Dec 25, 2018 8:20 pm

What happens when you try it?
It appears to be a signal to the laptop,
so shouldn't change anything on the computer.

But remember, I'm just guessing.
Laptop: MX18.1: Thinkpad T430: DualCore, Intel i5-3320M, Ivy Bridge, 8GB RAM, 4.19.0-1-amd64, 119GB SSD 840PRO, Intel Graphics-Audio-Network
Netbook: MX18.1, antiX17.3: AsusTek EeePC 1005HA: Intel DualCore Atom N270, 1GB RAM, 4.19.0-1-686, 150GB HDD

User avatar
j2mcgreg
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 477
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 12:04 pm

Re: Pick your brains

#3

Post by j2mcgreg » Tue Dec 25, 2018 8:46 pm

Richard wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 8:20 pm
What happens when you try it?
It appears to be a signal to the laptop,
so shouldn't change anything on the computer.

But remember, I'm just guessing.
From what I could gather from the Torvald article, it's supposed to activate threads in the bios that would not normally be activated by a linux kernel. The problem for me is that Windows 2k is ancient and there have been huge advances since then. So, is the command version specific, or is "Windows" a generic pointer which will work with any version?
Acer Aspire 3 A315-41-R2W5, AMD Ryzen 5 2500U, Radeon Vega Mobile Graphics, 8 GB ram, 1000 TB hdd

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3121
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: Pick your brains

#4

Post by fehlix » Tue Dec 25, 2018 8:51 pm

j2mcgreg wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 2:19 pm
I'm still trying to figure out how to install MX 18 on this laptop (see signature) and I have been trying various boot parameters with no luck so far.
So did the installtion not work? Or couldn't you not boot after installation? Or did you only boot into Windows?
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

User avatar
Richard
Posts: 2534
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:31 am

Re: Pick your brains

#5

Post by Richard » Tue Dec 25, 2018 11:02 pm

Well, I can understand why you are
a bit reluctant to pull the trigger
on that parameter.
Laptop: MX18.1: Thinkpad T430: DualCore, Intel i5-3320M, Ivy Bridge, 8GB RAM, 4.19.0-1-amd64, 119GB SSD 840PRO, Intel Graphics-Audio-Network
Netbook: MX18.1, antiX17.3: AsusTek EeePC 1005HA: Intel DualCore Atom N270, 1GB RAM, 4.19.0-1-686, 150GB HDD

User avatar
j2mcgreg
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 477
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 12:04 pm

Re: Pick your brains

#6

Post by j2mcgreg » Tue Dec 25, 2018 11:13 pm

fehlix wrote:
So did the installtion not work? Or couldn't you not boot after installation? Or did you only boot into Windows?
THe Grub menu comes up in a live session and then it immediately crashes with any action other than memtest.
Acer Aspire 3 A315-41-R2W5, AMD Ryzen 5 2500U, Radeon Vega Mobile Graphics, 8 GB ram, 1000 TB hdd

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 18301
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: Pick your brains

#7

Post by Stevo » Wed Dec 26, 2018 4:26 pm

I've seen similar commands with

"Windows 2009" and
"Windows 2015".

Post Reply

Return to “Installation”