Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Aptik or Equivalent Work on MX-Linux?

Message
Author
nathan2423
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 247
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 8:33 am

Re: Aptik or Equivalent Work on MX-Linux?

#11 Post by nathan2423 » Thu Jul 27, 2017 1:33 pm

Thanks for the advice! - I have it running now - will try and test to see how it works - initial efforts with backing up themes and icons at least appears easy.

User avatar
timkb4cq
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4297
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm

Re: Aptik or Equivalent Work on MX-Linux?

#12 Post by timkb4cq » Fri Dec 01, 2017 9:14 pm

Aptik is now available in the Testing repository for MX-17 and has been updated for MX-15/16 (also in the Testing repository).
If some intrepid beta tester wants to try using it to help them migrate programs & settings from MX-15 or MX-16 to the MX-17 beta the feedback could be useful.
MSI 970A-G43 MB, AMD FX-6300 (six core), 16GB RAM, GeForce 730, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD, Seagate Barracuda XT 3TB

nathan2423
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 247
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 8:33 am

Re: Aptik or Equivalent Work on MX-Linux?

#13 Post by nathan2423 » Sat Dec 02, 2017 7:11 am

Thank you! I intend to use this as we progress from beta to release candidates to final. Looks to me like it would make sense to use the one-click settings as set by default, with the exception of the Software Sources option, since in MX we aren't using PPAs or other special sources, and we want to track the latest release data on sources. That sound like a reasonable approach?

nathan2423
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 247
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 8:33 am

Re: Aptik or Equivalent Work on MX-Linux?

#14 Post by nathan2423 » Sat Dec 02, 2017 7:23 am

Also, it doesn't look to me like it will impact usage, but I note when I click through the "backup" buttons just to see what happens, the information boxes that pop up are highly vertical and narrow, and the text within them ends up being a long 2 or 3 column wrapped format that is very difficult to read. But again, should not impact performance.

Post Reply

Return to “Installation”