Welcome!

Please read this important information about MX sources lists.
News
  • MX Linux on social media: here
  • Mepis support still here
Current releases
  • MX-17 Final release info here
  • MX-16.1 release info here
  • antiX-17 release info here
    New users
    • Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
    • Read Forum Rules

MX-16x32 repo added to MX-15x32 today?

Message
Author
User avatar
Richard
Posts: 1384
Age: 72
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:31 am

MX-16x32 repo added to MX-15x32 today?

#1 Postby Richard » Sun Jan 08, 2017 9:58 pm

On an Acer Aspire One, AA1, model KAV60, Atom N270 (-HT-), 1GB RAM, 160 GB HDD, 32-bit:

I am having a problem installing MX16x32 on the above which runs MX15x32 perfectly.
An older AA1 without the Atom N270 (-HT-) runs an MX16x32 install just fine, from same ISO.

On the KAV60, MX16x32 installs fine, then first thing I run

Code: Select all

# apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade
on the new install which completes fine. Then while setting up the desktop as desired,
MX16 crashed, well, became unresponsive? I waited a couple of hours but it didn't move. :confused:
This is the third time it's happened so I decided to try to find an answer.

I noticed this because I have been setting up the MX15x32 install for migration according to:
viewtopic.php?f=104&t=41195#p402447
A couple of days ago I found and removed the MX16 repo to prepare for migration.

Today, after letting the Apt-Notifier do it's thing, a couple of hours later I ran

Code: Select all

# apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade
just to be sure that nothing had changed before looking for the Migration
tool in the MX Package Installer. To my surprise there were beau coup updates? No way!

Checked /sources.lists.d, found the MX-16 repo reinserted and active, again.
Curious about this? I suppose it was done on purpose and might fix my 32-bit problem?

My alternatives seem to be:
1) stay with MX15 which is working fine, but I like running the same version on boxes I use, or
2) install a snapshot of that MX15, add the MX16 repo back and see how it goes, or
3) reinstall the snapshot of that MX15 on another partition and try the Migration tool, or
4) ???

Thanks for your thoughts.
MX16 p1-x64: desktop, 4 GB RAM, 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64
MX160-386: netbook, 1 GB RAM, w/3.16.0-4-686-pae.
DoubleCmd-9, LibO-5.4.3.2, Dropbox, Slimjet, Lazarus, CherryTree, Vbox

User avatar
timkb4cq
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3853
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm

Re: MX-16x32 repo added to MX-15x32 today?

#2 Postby timkb4cq » Sun Jan 08, 2017 10:18 pm

There was an update from Anticapitalista for the apt-mx package today. He updated it for the new mirrors in in France & Germany. That change applies to everybody, so it went into the MX-15 repo, and that must be how the MX-16 repository got added in.
Since you have had trouble with MX-16 on that machine you might want to disable the MX-16 repo in the Synaptic Settings -> Repositories screen, and reload.

There will still be updates anyway, because a number of well-tested packages were moved from the MX-15 Testing repo to the MX-15 Main repo.
MSI 970A-G43 MB, AMD FX-6300 (six core), 16GB RAM, GeForce 730, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD, Seagate Barracuda XT 3TB

User avatar
Richard
Posts: 1384
Age: 72
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:31 am

Re: MX-16x32 repo added to MX-15x32 today?

#3 Postby Richard » Mon Jan 09, 2017 12:33 am

Thanks, Tim.
I made a snapshot of the MX15 install, just in case.
Since you have had trouble with MX-16 on that machine you might want to disable the MX-16 repo in the Synaptic Settings -> Repositories screen, and reload
I've done that now, and run dist-upgrade. AOK. No errors.

I think, tomorrow night, I'll install the snapshot on another partition, turn the MX16 repo on and dist-upgrade. If it breaks we'll maybe have a better idea for why. It's still Jessie so I expect it to dist-upgrade without too much problem.

Thanks for the info and suggestion.
Last edited by Richard on Mon Jan 09, 2017 12:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
MX16 p1-x64: desktop, 4 GB RAM, 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64
MX160-386: netbook, 1 GB RAM, w/3.16.0-4-686-pae.
DoubleCmd-9, LibO-5.4.3.2, Dropbox, Slimjet, Lazarus, CherryTree, Vbox

User avatar
Richard
Posts: 1384
Age: 72
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:31 am

Re: MX-16x32 repo added to MX-15x32 today?

#4 Postby Richard » Mon Jan 09, 2017 12:55 am

Got a surprise tonight.

I'm on Android Chrome and when I opened the forum to check for replies to my post, I saw my post in Spanish.

I thought, "Did I post in Spanish to the English list!?!?
Surely I'm not that unconscious or sleepy?"

Then when I saw Tim's reply was in Spanish also,
I remembered that I'd changed Chrome, to auto-translate, to show something to my boss, and not changed back.
:happy: :p
MX16 p1-x64: desktop, 4 GB RAM, 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64
MX160-386: netbook, 1 GB RAM, w/3.16.0-4-686-pae.
DoubleCmd-9, LibO-5.4.3.2, Dropbox, Slimjet, Lazarus, CherryTree, Vbox

User avatar
anticapitalista
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 5247
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 10:40 am

Re: MX-16x32 repo added to MX-15x32 today?

#5 Postby anticapitalista » Mon Jan 09, 2017 4:24 am

I assumed the updated deb would go to the mx16 repo and not the mx15 one since we said we would put all new debs and upgrades in the mx16 repo, didn't we?
anticapitalista
Reg. linux user #395339.

Philosophers have interpreted the world in many ways; the point is to change it.

antiX-15 "Killah P!" - lean and mean.
http://antix.mepis.org

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 11380
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

Re: MX-16x32 repo added to MX-15x32 today?

#6 Postby lucky9 » Mon Jan 09, 2017 7:15 pm

My 'AAO' N270 with HT, 2 Gb RAM, 160 GB HDD took migration fine. Along with adding a lot of software via the Package Manager. No hiccups as yet. i386 seems fine here.
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain

User avatar
Richard
Posts: 1384
Age: 72
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:31 am

Re: MX-16x32 repo added to MX-15x32 today?

#7 Postby Richard » Mon Jan 09, 2017 8:45 pm

@Lucky9, Thanks, good to know.

At noon today, on the older AA1, I d-u'd its MX15 just to be sure,
then activated the MX16 repo:

Code: Select all

# apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade
Downloaded a bunch but I didn't note how much. It ran fine all afternoon,
rebooted a few times. I suppose it is "migrated".
Will have to find the tip sheet on how to make it MX16.

Tonight, on the newer AA1 that was locking up with a fresh install of MX16,
I dist-upgrade'd the MX15 which was all up to date, then activated the MX16 repo:

Code: Select all

# apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade
It's still downloading: 91 to update, 15 new to install, and 3 to remove...
all coming from the MX16 repo.

[NOTE] ...and running as smooth as ever.
Last edited by Richard on Mon Jan 09, 2017 9:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MX16 p1-x64: desktop, 4 GB RAM, 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64
MX160-386: netbook, 1 GB RAM, w/3.16.0-4-686-pae.
DoubleCmd-9, LibO-5.4.3.2, Dropbox, Slimjet, Lazarus, CherryTree, Vbox

User avatar
verynicechap
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 23
Age: 50
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 1:03 pm

Re: MX-16x32 repo added to MX-15x32 today?

#8 Postby verynicechap » Mon Jan 09, 2017 8:55 pm

It should migrate. This what I like with Debian and its forks. Migration usually just works and you can keep your system for ages. Use this wonderful snapshot tool and you will be just be fine. It can be done with Clonezilla and pure dd plus gzip, bu I have never seen an easier way to turn everything into a bootable ISO.
MX-16, Liquorix kernel, E8400, 8 GB RAM, 120 GB SSD, MATE

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 11380
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

Re: MX-16x32 repo added to MX-15x32 today?

#9 Postby lucky9 » Thu Jan 12, 2017 7:14 pm

Nor have I. After all I want to use my PC not have a set of specs to reach.
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Return to “Older Versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests