Welcome!

Please read this important information about MX sources lists.
News
  • MX Linux on social media: here
  • Mepis support still here
Current releases
  • MX-17 Final release info here
  • MX-16.1 release info here
  • antiX-17 release info here
    New users
    • Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
    • Read Forum Rules

MX Help -- look up at the tabs!

Message
Author
User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 20107
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

MX Help -- look up at the tabs!

#1 Postby Jerry3904 » Mon Mar 17, 2014 8:47 am

For the resource-challenged: MX Help is now available off the Forum, thanks to Peregrine's Monday Morning Magic.

No need to hunt around for the BIG BLUE QUESTION MARK any more...
Production: 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 15733
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: MX Help -- look up at the tabs!

#2 Postby richb » Mon Mar 17, 2014 8:57 am

Jerry3904 wrote:For the resource-challenged: MX Help is now available off the Forum, thanks to Peregrine's Monday Morning Magic.

No need to hunt around for the BIG BLUE QUESTION MARK any more...

Do you mean available on the Forum? Retaliation for Mepsi.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX-15- 64 - migrated to MX-16 RC1
HD Test: MX-16 RC1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
malspa
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1913
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:21 am

Re: MX Help -- look up at the tabs!

#3 Postby malspa » Mon Mar 17, 2014 9:13 am

Jerry3904 wrote:No need to hunt around for the BIG BLUE QUESTION MARK any more...

:rofl:

Adding the tab here was a nice touch, though.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 20107
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: MX Help -- look up at the tabs!

#4 Postby Jerry3904 » Mon Mar 17, 2014 10:51 am

richb wrote:
Jerry3904 wrote:For the resource-challenged: MX Help is now available off the Forum, thanks to Peregrine's Monday Morning Magic.

No need to hunt around for the BIG BLUE QUESTION MARK any more...

Do you mean available on the Forum? Retaliation for Mepsi.
Meant: "off the Forum [page] ... "
Production: 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
Richard
Posts: 1384
Age: 72
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:31 am

Re: MX Help -- look up at the tabs!

#5 Postby Richard » Thu Jul 03, 2014 3:44 pm

While looking through the MX-Docs, I came across this anomaly:
Tips and Tricks
. . .
If you want maximized windows to not cover the entire screen, RC the Panel > Panel > Panel Preferences to set workspace margins.
. . .
Thought this was interesting, but it doesn't seem to work that way.

However, in All Configuration > Configuration > Work Areas, I can adjust those margens, and using 10 in the margens there's not much effect. Using 100 in all 4 margens does make a difference.

[Don't complain about the mixed up posting. This is the third time I've written it.
First time the lights went off.
Second time I posted but the internet went off while posting.
When it came back on, seems that nothing was posted.
So here I am again, to clarify.]

Please change, "If you want maximized windows to not cover the entire screen, RC the Panel > Panel > Panel Preferences to set workspace margins."
to
"If you want maximized windows to not cover the entire screen, open the Settings panel from the menu, choose Work Areas > Margens, to set workspace margins."

However, in Settings > Work Areas, I can adjust those margins, and using 10 in the margins there's not much effect, but using 100 in all 4 margins does make a difference.

[Please move this to the MX-Documentation thread (started in the middle :p
and please change margen to margin,
and Configuration to Settings. . . . . . ] :bagoverhead:

All the best.
Last edited by Richard on Thu Jul 03, 2014 5:40 pm, edited 6 times in total.
MX16 p1-x64: desktop, 4 GB RAM, 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64
MX160-386: netbook, 1 GB RAM, w/3.16.0-4-686-pae.
DoubleCmd-9, LibO-5.4.3.2, Dropbox, Slimjet, Lazarus, CherryTree, Vbox

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 20107
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: MX Help -- look up at the tabs!

#6 Postby Jerry3904 » Thu Jul 03, 2014 4:18 pm

Not sure any more: it has been many months since I wrote that--will test again.

...and many thanks for the close reading!
Production: 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
Richard
Posts: 1384
Age: 72
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:31 am

Re: MX Help -- look up at the tabs!

#7 Postby Richard » Thu Jul 03, 2014 5:44 pm

Please move my comment above to the MX-Documentation thread
(started reading in the middle :p )
MX16 p1-x64: desktop, 4 GB RAM, 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64
MX160-386: netbook, 1 GB RAM, w/3.16.0-4-686-pae.
DoubleCmd-9, LibO-5.4.3.2, Dropbox, Slimjet, Lazarus, CherryTree, Vbox

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 20107
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: MX Help -- look up at the tabs!

#8 Postby Jerry3904 » Thu Jul 03, 2014 6:15 pm

Doesn't matter: I have it on my ToDo list and will make the change next time I work on the documentation.

Thanks again.
Production: 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
Gaer Boy
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2058
Age: 81
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 6:06 am

Re: MX Help -- look up at the tabs!

#9 Postby Gaer Boy » Fri Jul 04, 2014 5:20 pm

Richard wrote:"If you want maximized windows to not cover the entire screen, open the Settings panel from the menu, choose Work Areas > Margins, to set workspace margins."

This doesn't only affect maximised windows - it also affects newly opened windows. I have a left margin setting of 45 which gives a small gap between the panel and the left edge of all windows. The setting doesn't prevent moving the window into this gap, but the effect of moving a maximised window is variable and seems unpredictable, although it seems to be consistent for a particular application.

AsRock FM2A88X-ITX+, A8-6500, 8GB, 120GB Samsung SSD (GPT), 1TB HDD (MBR), MX-16
Lenovo Thinkpad X220, dual-core i5, 3MB, 320GB Hitachi HDD, Win7, MX-16.1

User avatar
Richard
Posts: 1384
Age: 72
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:31 am

Re: MX Help -- look up at the tabs!

#10 Postby Richard » Fri Jul 04, 2014 6:21 pm

Yes, I noticed some strangeness when moving a window about.
Seemed like it interferred with the No-Tiling effect.
I finally just rolled them all back to 0 margins.
Haven't ever really used it before, except when the default was 2 or 4 or something.
MX16 p1-x64: desktop, 4 GB RAM, 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64
MX160-386: netbook, 1 GB RAM, w/3.16.0-4-686-pae.
DoubleCmd-9, LibO-5.4.3.2, Dropbox, Slimjet, Lazarus, CherryTree, Vbox


Return to “Older Versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests