Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Can't Get to TTY to Configure X, after installation complete

Message
Author
User avatar
chris_debian
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 4:12 pm

Can't Get to TTY to Configure X, after installation complete

#1 Post by chris_debian » Fri Jan 24, 2014 3:46 pm

Hi, all.

Thanks to the people on the 'Failed Boot' forum, I have now managed to install MX using the graphical installer. Looking at the graphical installer session, it looks like the devs have made a good looking desktop environment.

I rebooted and got the different boot options, and waitied for the default boot option to run. Sadly, despite having used a graphical environment to do the install, X could not start when I did my first boot after installation. I kept getting a 'nouveau' error, and this seemed to go into a loop and wouldn't drop to the bash prompt, or allow me to switch to another TTY to configure X manually. I'm slightly confused because X worked fine during the install, so I guess something isn't getting loaded at boot time.

Is it possible to do Xorg -configure, somewhere?

Cheers,

Chris.

User avatar
anticapitalista
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 5688
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 10:40 am

Re: Can't Get to TTY to Configure X, after installation comp

#2 Post by anticapitalista » Fri Jan 24, 2014 3:52 pm

inxi -G will tell us something about your hardware drivers.

Do you actually manage to boot and can input username, userpassword then startx?
anticapitalista
Reg. linux user #395339.

Philosophers have interpreted the world in many ways; the point is to change it.

antiX-17 "Heather Heyer" - lean and mean.
https://antixlinux.com

User avatar
chris_debian
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: Can't Get to TTY to Configure X, after installation comp

#3 Post by chris_debian » Fri Jan 24, 2014 3:55 pm

anticapitalista wrote:inxi -G will tell us something about your hardware drivers.

Do you actually manage to boot and can input username, userpassword then startx?
Hi, anticapitalista.

The system boots, but then attempts to start x and won't let me enter anything via the keyboard, or switch to F1, etc, so I can't try to enter inxi -G.

Sorry.

Chris.

User avatar
anticapitalista
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 5688
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 10:40 am

Re: Can't Get to TTY to Configure X, after installation comp

#4 Post by anticapitalista » Fri Jan 24, 2014 3:59 pm

Boot with a 3 at the menu prompt, then login as user etc startx, or simply type inxi -G

We need to know your graphics. You might need to add these cheats also at the boot menu.

nomodeset nouveau.modeset=0 or the equivalent for radian.

When you ran live did you get to the desktop?
anticapitalista
Reg. linux user #395339.

Philosophers have interpreted the world in many ways; the point is to change it.

antiX-17 "Heather Heyer" - lean and mean.
https://antixlinux.com

User avatar
golden45
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 396
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 11:24 am

Re: Can't Get to TTY to Configure X, after installation comp

#5 Post by golden45 » Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:37 pm

will try and post back.john

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6004
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: Can't Get to TTY to Configure X, after installation comp

#6 Post by Eadwine Rose » Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:43 pm

And here she is again hehe.

I have just installed but I get bumped back to the login screen after entering my password.

I don't know if this is related, figured I'd post it here, but feel free to move about as needed :smile:
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 14-3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.130 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP F2280

User avatar
anticapitalista
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 5688
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 10:40 am

Re: Can't Get to TTY to Configure X, after installation comp

#7 Post by anticapitalista » Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:51 pm

At boot screen, type 3 and boot. Then at cursor, login with your username/password, then type startx.

If that fails, then it is likely to be a graphics issue. What graphics do you have? nvidia/radeon? You might need to install using smxi or sgfxi -f

Other boot cheats:

nomodeset nouveau.modeset=0 OR nomodeset=0 radeon.modeset
anticapitalista
Reg. linux user #395339.

Philosophers have interpreted the world in many ways; the point is to change it.

antiX-17 "Heather Heyer" - lean and mean.
https://antixlinux.com

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6004
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: Can't Get to TTY to Configure X, after installation comp

#8 Post by Eadwine Rose » Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:55 pm

ASUS GeForce GT640-1GD5-L is an nvidia

I used sgfxi on M12b2 as well to get the resolution right. That is no problem, as long as I can get past that login hehe.
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 14-3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.130 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP F2280

User avatar
anticapitalista
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 5688
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 10:40 am

Re: Can't Get to TTY to Configure X, after installation comp

#9 Post by anticapitalista » Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:58 pm

type nomodeset nouveau.modeset=0 at grub menu. That should get you into X

Good memory practice :)
anticapitalista
Reg. linux user #395339.

Philosophers have interpreted the world in many ways; the point is to change it.

antiX-17 "Heather Heyer" - lean and mean.
https://antixlinux.com

User avatar
golden45
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 396
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 11:24 am

Re: Can't Get to TTY to Configure X, after installation comp

#10 Post by golden45 » Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:58 pm

Hey golden45, could you also try typing only

load=pata-via

at the boot menu screen. It would really help to see if this was the missing module.

(edit - this and golden45's post should really be in the boot thread. Mod, please move)

No luck with this sorry will move to the boot thread

Post Reply

Return to “Older Versions”