Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

K3b doesn't recognize "normalize-audio"

Here is where users who have been using MEPIS awhile and know the basics of linux and MEPIS can ask questions.
Message
Author
User avatar
Frank_v7
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 386
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 11:55 am

K3b doesn't recognize "normalize-audio"

#1 Post by Frank_v7 » Fri Oct 15, 2010 7:34 pm

I just noticed that when I burn an audio CD using K3b (Mepis 8.5) I can't "normalize-audio". K3b tells me the package "normalize-audio" isn't installed. I've reinstalled it and get the same message. Anyone else notice this? Any workarounds?
FRH

FRH
MX15 MSI MS-9804 V1.X Mini ATX Mainboard, AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual Core 3800+ 4GB ram

User avatar
Danum
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2556
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:49 pm

#2 Post by Danum » Fri Oct 15, 2010 7:40 pm

Run K3B, select Settings-Configure K3b..., click "Programs" on the left, and click the "Search" button. "/usr/bin/normalize" should show up under the "normalize" heading. Now just make sure you turn off "On th fly" in the options for burning, and it will let you select "Normalize volume levels" on the Advanced tab.
Desktop.
Zalman Z11 Plus ATX PC Tower, AMD FX 8350 Black Edition Vishera, 8 Core 4.4 GHz, Kingston HyperX FURY Red 16GB, Nvidia GT740 Graphics, Pioneer BDR-209EBK Writer, 2 x Seagate 1TB SSHD SATA Hybrid Hard Drives. ASUS VS278Q 27 inch HD Monitor

User avatar
Brooko
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3253
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 11:59 pm

#3 Post by Brooko » Fri Oct 15, 2010 8:04 pm

Open synaptic, search for normalize-audio (it's a recommends for k3b - so doesn't install as a dependency).

Restart k3b.

Normalizing should work.
Desktop - Win 8-64 : Corsair 520HX, P5Q Pro, Q6600 G0 @ 3Ghz, 4Gb DDR2 1066, Asus GTX560 OC, 3xWD 500Gb Sata2, Asus CD/DVD, Logitech Wave Kb, G5, C300 Cam, Audio-gd NFB-12 + LD MKIV + GigaWorks T20.
Netbook - Ubuntu 12.04 64b, Asus 1015PED 2Gb Ram

User avatar
Frank_v7
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 386
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 11:55 am

#4 Post by Frank_v7 » Fri Oct 15, 2010 10:07 pm

I already had "normalize-audio" installed and I reinstalled it. Restarted K3b and "not found". Restarted computer "not found". Went to K3b Settings/Programs/Search Path and added /usr/bin/normalize-audio and restarted K3b still "not found" although the path is now listed in the "search path" box. And usr/bin/normalize-audio is a valid path to the executable. My K3b version is 2.0.0. Maybe I should go back to an earlier version of K3b?
FRH

FRH
MX15 MSI MS-9804 V1.X Mini ATX Mainboard, AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual Core 3800+ 4GB ram

User avatar
Frank_v7
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 386
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 11:55 am

#5 Post by Frank_v7 » Fri Oct 15, 2010 10:24 pm

K3b 1.70.0 recognizes normalize-audio. Problem solved.
FRH

FRH
MX15 MSI MS-9804 V1.X Mini ATX Mainboard, AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual Core 3800+ 4GB ram

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 16505
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

#6 Post by Stevo » Sat Oct 16, 2010 3:40 pm

Yes, I can reproduce the bug. I see there's a new version of K3b in Sid, let's see if that has the same problem (backporting normalize-audio from Squeeze did not fix it)

Edit: turns out that others have reported the bug: http://www.sidux.com/index.php?name=PNp ... c&p=161977

Seems that K3b 2.0 calls out

normalize-audio -V

and gets the response:

normalize 0.7.7


but is hard-coded only to recognize the "normalize-audio" response instead of "normalize". If 2.0.1 has not fixed it, maybe I can patch the source code...

More: Debian did patch version 1.7.0 to correct the problem:


[ Michael Meskes ]
* Updated normalize-audio patch to make sure the program is correctly
recognized. Thanks to Roderick B. Greening. (Closes: #549221)

but seems it did not make it up into newer versions...so at least there's a patch to start with. The bug has been reported to Debian: http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=597155
The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds, and the pessimist fears this is true.

James Branch Cabell

User avatar
eric71
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 10:09 am

#7 Post by eric71 » Thu Oct 21, 2010 6:41 am

I filed a Debian bug about a month ago for this, also referring to Mr. Greening's previous patch. I initially filed it for sid, but also added Squeeze to that when I realized the bug was present there as well. There hasn't been any changes, but I suppose this may have something to do with the freeze. It's a very important bug for me, as I burn a ton of audio cds.

It does work fine in standard Mepis 8.5, but I have been playing with Squeeze and sid due to needing certain other packages.

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 16505
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

#8 Post by Stevo » Thu Oct 21, 2010 11:02 am

They do include the patch for the normalize fix, but it obviously is no longer solving the problem. I tried disabling the patch, but the bug persisted.

They can fix bugs during the freeze, in fact, that's what the freeze is intended for---so they can fix bugs in existing versions.
The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds, and the pessimist fears this is true.

James Branch Cabell

User avatar
eric71
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 10:09 am

#9 Post by eric71 » Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:54 am

Although there seems to have been no activity regarding the Debian bug I filed a few months ago, I just found this post related to Ubuntu Maverick (which has the same problem). I'll test it out. Planning to install the new alpha4 Mepis tonight.

Workaround for Maverick:

In Bug #44524, comment #11, a user posted a script he used to fix this issue in Feisty. With some tweaks, this script works in Maverick also. K3B doesn't like normalize-audio including a version number on the first line. The sheer audacity - how dare it do what it was asked. :-)

The fix is to move the version string to somewhere else in the output:

sudo mv /usr/bin/normalize-audio /usr/bin/normalize

sudo nano /usr/bin/normalize-audio

###
#/bin/bash
case "$1" in
--version)
normalize --version | sed -e 's/normalize
0.7.7/normalize-audio/g'
echo "normalize-audio 0.7.7"
;;
*)
normalize $*
;;
esac
###

sudo chmod 755 /usr/bin/normalize-audio

Restart K3B - it should work fine now.

Original source:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... omments/11

--
K3b dont find emovix-2 and normalize
https://bugs.launchpad.net/bugs/45026
You received this bug notification because you are a member of Kubuntu
Bugs, which is a direct subscriber.

--
kubuntu-bugs mailing list
kubuntu-bugs@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/kubuntu-bugs

User avatar
eric71
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 10:09 am

#10 Post by eric71 » Tue Dec 14, 2010 10:00 am

And a follow up to that possible fix - It is a little beyond my technical level. If I do this, what will happen when the debian K3b packagers eventually get around to fixing this bug(perhaps when a new K3B release happens)? Will this fix break things then? Will it have to be undone somehow?

Post Reply

Return to “Regulars”