Welcome!

Please read this important information about Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities.
Please read this important information about MX sources lists.
News
  • MX Linux on social media: here
  • Mepis support still here
Current releases
  • MX-17 Final release info here
  • MX-16.1 release info here
  • antiX-17 release info here
    New users
    • Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
    • Read Forum Rules

CIFS mount in MX-16.

Message
Author
TheMax
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 11:13 pm

CIFS mount in MX-16.

#1 Postby TheMax » Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:16 pm

Been using MX for a while.
I auto mount my local workspace from an SME server via fstab using this line:

//192.168.0.1/home.share/files/ /home/max/HomeShare cifs credentials=/home/max/.cifs_usr_pwd,file_mode=0666,dir_mode=0777 0 0

This has worked since MX-13,14, and 15.
after upgrade to Mx-16 i get:
sudo mount -a
mount error: cifs filesystem not supported by the system
mount error(19): No such device
Refer to the mount.cifs(8) manual page (e.g. man mount.cifs)

cifs.utils is installed and latest version.
Also when try to do this I get
sudo modprobe cifs
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'cifs': Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter

Any ideas what has been changed removed from MX-16.

Thanks.

User avatar
dolphin_oracle
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 7355
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 1:17 pm

Re: CIFS mount in MX-16.

#2 Postby dolphin_oracle » Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:30 pm

Odd problem. I'm not seeing this issue with cifs here. And I can manually modprobe it ok.

did you do an in-place upgrade to mx16, or a fresh install?

have you changed the kernel, and if so, to what version?

posting "inxi -F" output is always good for telling us particulars

you might try

Code: Select all

apt-get install --reinstall cifs-utils


and see if that helps.

BTW, I don't think we touched anything with cifs, cifs-utils, or samba for that matter.
http://www.youtube.com/runwiththedolphin
eeepc 904ha antix 15 32 bit (streaming media player)
acer c720p chromebook - chromeos / MX15-64 (custom snapshot) live USB.
lenovo s21e - antiX-16 MX16(live-usb)

User avatar
Adrian
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 7732
Age: 42
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am

Re: CIFS mount in MX-16.

#3 Postby Adrian » Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:44 pm

Have you rebooted? (sometime kernel updates mess up this kind of things).
It should work, I use a similar setting at work.

TheMax
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 11:13 pm

Re: CIFS mount in MX-16.

#4 Postby TheMax » Tue Jan 24, 2017 5:07 pm

Good call Adrian.
I keep forgetting to reboot the system before posting.
Been so long since I have used Windows, so I've come to expect to do updates without reboot :)
All is good after a reboot.
I've also been loosing my mouse pointer after waking up the laptop from suspension. Hope the reboot will take care of that too.

Shay2
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 170
Age: 74
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 5:32 pm

Re: CIFS mount in MX-16.

#5 Postby Shay2 » Tue Jan 24, 2017 5:28 pm

I've also been loosing my mouse pointer after waking up the laptop from suspension. Hope the reboot will take care of that too.

I unplug the mouse and re-plug it in, another USB slot, normally stops that. Dirty contacts???

User avatar
Adrian
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 7732
Age: 42
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am

Re: CIFS mount in MX-16.

#6 Postby Adrian » Tue Jan 24, 2017 6:09 pm

Kernel updates still need reboot... at least till all the distros are going to implement a KGraft, kpatch or ksplice type of upgrades for kernels.

TheMax
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 11:13 pm

Re: CIFS mount in MX-16.

#7 Postby TheMax » Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:09 pm

This mouse issue is quickly becoming a show stopper.
Sometimes, I loss the mouse as I'm working. Other times, laptop wakes up with no mouse pointer. And NO not the mouse, since the touch pad does not work. As if, the mouse pointer is stuck on one of the existing windows. Even tab or esc does not work. Only thing to do is alt-ctrl-backspace to re-start XFCE, but then I lose all the work. If I can't find a solution for this soon, I might have to move back to MINT.
Could you let me know where I can post this of the Forums?
Thanks,

TheMax
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 11:13 pm

Re: CIFS mount in MX-16.

#8 Postby TheMax » Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:11 pm

Never mind.
I should have google it first:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+bug/1573454


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest