Welcome!
Important information
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-18 Final release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.3 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Has anyone tried Deepin?

Feel free to talk about anything and everything in this board. Just don't post offensive topics that are meant to cause trouble with other members or are derogatory towards people of different genders, race, color, minors (this includes nudity and sex), politics or religion. Let's try to keep peace among the community and for visitors.

No spam on this or any other forums please! If you post advertisements on these forums, your account may be deleted.

Do not copy and paste entire or even up to half of someone else's words or articles into posts. Post only a few sentences or a paragraph and make sure to include a link back to original words or article. Otherwise it's copyright infringement.

You can talk about other distros here, but no MX bashing. You can email the developers of MX if you just want to say you dislike or hate MX.
Eggnog
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 2:40 am

Re: Has anyone tried Deepin?

#11

Post by Eggnog » Tue Jan 01, 2019 2:43 pm

antechdesigns wrote:
Mon Dec 31, 2018 5:10 pm
I have an archdeepin ISO floating around on the web, I made it for my own personnel use, I adding an installer to see if it worked, and it did. So I released it to the public, Has a live environment, its 100 times better than deepin. Its fast, uses about 480mb at first boot, no problems with updates etc because it uses the arch repos, obviously. Does not have a lot of software installed OOTB, and does not have the controversial deepin software manager.

If your familiar with arch and like the DDE its a fantastic ISO
I didn't like the regular Deepin distro. There was nothing wrong with the DE, which is quite beautiful actually, and the distro seemed nice enough. It was mostly that their servers seemed slow and everything took forever to happen, from the ISO download on up. I found your archdeepin ISO (10/19/18 version) which I guess is the latest. I'm going to put it into a VM to check it out. I have a feeling it's going to tempt me to try it on hardware.

User avatar
aledie
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 2:06 pm

Re: Has anyone tried Deepin?

#12

Post by aledie » Tue Jan 01, 2019 4:23 pm

I think the last time I tried it (before they optimized), from memory - so don't take it literally without checking, they seemed improving a lot and faaast, like in one release they said ram went down from 1.2G to 0.8.

-it was too heavy (above 1gig ram) on my 5 year old 6Gb ram, i5-1Gen Compaq. And getting heavier once you start opening browser or LO docs. Bad for Debian based.
-installation demanded >20gig drive, not sure now, but recall it went weird as it needed the whole drive to swallow
-overfloated with software, especially emulators etc, many apps installed recall also Android apps like WeChat, WhatsApp, games etc.
-what I didn't like about their software manager, it wanted me to sign up, which was weird, otherwise I couldn't install anything.
-A lot of (for some useful, for others not) Chinese software, like Baidu Pan/ Yun drive, which is a good thing (do they offer 1TB cloud storage?).
-Basically too much "want to be Mac or Win (or shall I say iPad)" feel
-were many bugs here and there once you start opening apps
. Felt heavy
- if I recall correctly, it's run by a Chinese company from Chengdu or Chongqing, so at the end of day companies in China want to make money, there isn't much else to expect long-term
- spying issue may not be true, probably just some stats on software manager usage, something more innocent like Ubuntu/Amazon or Google do... Remember reading a response by deepin devs about.
-sure, if you use third applications preinstalled like WeChat Messenger, who knows what gets checked

It was some 1 year ago.
MX-18 (x64): HP 8460p, i5-2540M, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, HD3000

Eggnog
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 2:40 am

Re: Has anyone tried Deepin?

#13

Post by Eggnog » Wed Jan 02, 2019 3:06 am

I never could get the archdeepin iso to download. It kept stopping part way through. So I finally used Manjaro Architect to get the latest Manjaro and the lastest Deepin. The Manjaro community Deepin spin is over a year old so I thought what the heck and used Architect. I haven't had time to take it for a proper spin yet, but I will tomorrow. Seems fast enough in virtualbox. I'm pretty excited to see how it works.

User avatar
dphn
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 7:26 am

Re: Has anyone tried Deepin?

#14

Post by dphn » Wed Jan 02, 2019 5:45 am

antechdesigns wrote:
Mon Dec 31, 2018 5:10 pm
I have an archdeepin ISO floating around on the web, I made it for my own personnel use, I adding an installer to see if it worked, and it did. So I released it to the public, Has a live environment, its 100 times better than deepin. Its fast, uses about 480mb at first boot, no problems with updates etc because it uses the arch repos, obviously. Does not have a lot of software installed OOTB, and does not have the controversial deepin software manager.

If your familiar with arch and like the DDE its a fantastic ISO
Great idea. Have seen your iso on your website, but it's an old version from Oct. 2018. For Arch it is recommenable to provide every month a new iso. Their packages changes fast and updating an old Arch-System isn't easy or perhaps not possible anymore.
for those with an eye for the finer details...

User avatar
wildmanjohn
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 11:01 am

Re: Has anyone tried Deepin?

#15

Post by wildmanjohn » Wed Jan 02, 2019 11:24 am

Yes. I was a user for 2 years and now use MX17+1. It was my "go to" OS for that 2 year period. I'm not a coder or programmer...just want a nice and easy OS. Not a gamer or anything special-general user for everyday use. :)

User avatar
antechdesigns
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 334
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:01 am

Re: Has anyone tried Deepin?

#16

Post by antechdesigns » Wed Jan 02, 2019 11:30 am

dphn wrote:
Wed Jan 02, 2019 5:45 am
Great idea. Have seen your iso on your website, but it's an old version from Oct. 2018. For Arch it is recommenable to provide every month a new iso. Their packages changes fast and updating an old Arch-System isn't easy or perhaps not possible anymore.
I will be doing a new ISO soon, when I get myself motivated after the holidays ;)

Post Reply

Return to “General”