Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

[SOLVED] Connecting different types of "Ethernet cables" - possible?

Feel free to talk about anything and everything in this board. Just don't post offensive topics that are meant to cause trouble with other members or are derogatory towards people of different genders, race, color, minors (this includes nudity and sex), politics or religion. Let's try to keep peace among the community and for visitors.

No spam on this or any other forums please! If you post advertisements on these forums, your account may be deleted.

Do not copy and paste entire or even up to half of someone else's words or articles into posts. Post only a few sentences or a paragraph and make sure to include a link back to original words or article. Otherwise it's copyright infringement.

You can talk about other distros here, but no MX bashing. You can email the developers of MX if you just want to say you dislike or hate MX.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
MX-16_fan
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 958
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 12:09 pm

[SOLVED] Connecting different types of "Ethernet cables" - possible?

#1 Post by MX-16_fan » Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:12 pm

@all:

I sometimes need a 10 m (approx. 33 ft) "Ethernet cable" for configuration work. Currently I don't have a 10 m cable but e.g. two 5 m cables.

When connecting those cables using a coupler, would you have to check which Category the cable is (e.g. Cat 5, Cat 6)?

Or could you possibly mix all kinds of cables as long as they have 8P8C plugs (often falsely identified as "RJ45 plugs"), from Category 3 to Category 8?


Greetings, and thanks a lot in advance for any answer, Joe
Last edited by MX-16_fan on Mon Oct 01, 2018 8:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
timkb4cq
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4482
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm

Re: Connecting different types of "Ethernet cables" - possible?

#2 Post by timkb4cq » Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:27 pm

For a 10 meter run the minor differences between Cat 5 & Cat 6 (or 7) won't matter. If you have an old Cat 3 cable involved it may limit the speed to 100 mb/s (or even 10 if it has deteriorated over the years).
Just make sure you are using a straight-through coupler if it's intended to replace a longer single cable. There are also crossover couplers that are used to make port to port connections without using a hub or router.
MSI 970A-G43 MB, AMD FX-6300 (six core), 16GB RAM, GeForce 730, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD, Seagate Barracuda XT 3TB

User avatar
chrispop99
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2492
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: Connecting different types of "Ethernet cables" - possible?

#3 Post by chrispop99 » Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:41 pm

If it's something you need to do more than once, a 10m Cat 6 cable is only £2.82 ($3.69).

That's probably about the same as the coupler cost. ;-)

Chris
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

User avatar
MX-16_fan
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 958
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 12:09 pm

Re: Connecting different types of "Ethernet cables" - possible?

#4 Post by MX-16_fan » Sun Sep 30, 2018 10:28 am

@chrispop99:
chrispop99 wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:41 pm
(...) a 10m Cat 6 cable is only £2.82 ($3.69).

That's probably about the same as the coupler cost. ;-)

I know, but a coupler consumes less space. 10 m cables tend to come in rather inflexible qualities and thus tend to consume a lot of space.


Greetings, Joe

User avatar
MX-16_fan
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 958
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 12:09 pm

Re: Connecting different types of "Ethernet cables" - possible?

#5 Post by MX-16_fan » Sun Sep 30, 2018 10:30 am

@timkb4cq:
timkb4cq wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:27 pm
(...) There are also crossover couplers that are used to make port to port connections without using a hub or router.

Great hint, thanks! Greetings, Joe

User avatar
MX-16_fan
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 958
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 12:09 pm

Re: Connecting different types of "Ethernet cables" - possible?

#6 Post by MX-16_fan » Sun Sep 30, 2018 10:38 am

@timkb4cq:
timkb4cq wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:27 pm
For a 10 meter run the minor differences between Cat 5 & Cat 6 (or 7) won't matter. If you have an old Cat 3 cable involved it may limit the speed to 100 mb/s (or even 10 if it has deteriorated over the years). (...)

Appropriate speed is being autonegotiated, correct?

Meaning: Assuming that both cables are intact, and the coupler is intact, too, there's actually nothing that should go wrong (except for having a low speed connection). Correct?


Greetings, Joe

User avatar
timkb4cq
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4482
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm

Re: Connecting different types of "Ethernet cables" - possible?

#7 Post by timkb4cq » Sun Sep 30, 2018 11:07 am

MX-16_fan wrote:
Sun Sep 30, 2018 10:38 am
Appropriate speed is being autonegotiated, correct?

Meaning: Assuming that both cables are intact, and the coupler is intact, too, there's actually nothing that should go wrong (except for having a low speed connection). Correct?
Yup! Unless you have disabled auto negotiation on one or more of the nics. Haven't had a need to do that in well over a decade but it's till an option in many drivers.
MSI 970A-G43 MB, AMD FX-6300 (six core), 16GB RAM, GeForce 730, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD, Seagate Barracuda XT 3TB

User avatar
MX-16_fan
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 958
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 12:09 pm

Re: Connecting different types of "Ethernet cables" - possible?

#8 Post by MX-16_fan » Mon Oct 01, 2018 8:41 am

@timkb4cq:
timkb4cq wrote:
Sun Sep 30, 2018 11:07 am
MX-16_fan wrote:
Sun Sep 30, 2018 10:38 am
Appropriate speed is being autonegotiated, correct?

Meaning: Assuming that both cables are intact, and the coupler is intact, too, there's actually nothing that should go wrong (except for having a low speed connection). Correct?
Yup! Unless you have disabled auto negotiation on one or more of the nics. Haven't had a need to do that in well over a decade but it's till an option in many drivers.

Thanks a lot. That fully solves my question.

I'll mark this thread "SOLVED".


Greetings, and have a great week, Joe

Post Reply

Return to “General”