Welcome!

The kernel problem with recent updates has been solved. Find the solution here

Important information
-- Required MX 15/16 Repository Changes
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Reload makes me go whoa

Feel free to talk about anything and everything in this board. Just don't post offensive topics that are meant to cause trouble with other members or are derogatory towards people of different genders, race, color, minors (this includes nudity and sex), politics or religion. Let's try to keep peace among the community and for visitors.

No spam on this or any other forums please! If you post advertisements on these forums, your account may be deleted.

Do not copy and paste entire or even up to half of someone else's words or articles into posts. Post only a few sentences or a paragraph and make sure to include a link back to original words or article. Otherwise it's copyright infringement.

You can talk about other distros here, but no MX bashing. You can email the developers of MX if you just want to say you dislike or hate MX.
Post Reply
User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 8667
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Reload makes me go whoa

#1

Post by Eadwine Rose » Mon Feb 08, 2016 4:02 pm

Code: Select all

Failed to fetch http://nl.mxrepo.com/antix/jessie/dists/jessie/Release.gpg  Something wicked happened resolving 'nl.mxrepo.com:http' (-5 - No address associated with hostname)
Failed to fetch http://nl.mxrepo.com/mx/repo/dists/mx15/Release.gpg  Something wicked happened resolving 'nl.mxrepo.com:http' (-5 - No address associated with hostname)
Failed to fetch http://nl.mxrepo.com/antix/jessie/dists/jessie/main/i18n/Translation-en_US  Something wicked happened resolving 'nl.mxrepo.com:http' (-5 - No address associated with hostname)
Failed to fetch http://nl.mxrepo.com/antix/jessie/dists/jessie/main/i18n/Translation-en  Something wicked happened resolving 'nl.mxrepo.com:http' (-5 - No address associated with hostname)
Failed to fetch http://nl.mxrepo.com/mx/repo/dists/mx15/main/i18n/Translation-en_US  Something wicked happened resolving 'nl.mxrepo.com:http' (-5 - No address associated with hostname)
Failed to fetch http://nl.mxrepo.com/mx/repo/dists/mx15/main/i18n/Translation-en  Something wicked happened resolving 'nl.mxrepo.com:http' (-5 - No address associated with hostname)
Failed to fetch http://nl.mxrepo.com/mx/repo/dists/mx15/non-free/i18n/Translation-en_US  Something wicked happened resolving 'nl.mxrepo.com:http' (-5 - No address associated with hostname)
Failed to fetch http://nl.mxrepo.com/mx/repo/dists/mx15/non-free/i18n/Translation-en  Something wicked happened resolving 'nl.mxrepo.com:http' (-5 - No address associated with hostname)
Failed to fetch http://nl.mxrepo.com/antix/jessie/dists/jessie/main/binary-amd64/Packages  Something wicked happened resolving 'nl.mxrepo.com:http' (-5 - No address associated with hostname)
Failed to fetch http://nl.mxrepo.com/antix/jessie/dists/jessie/main/binary-i386/Packages  Something wicked happened resolving 'nl.mxrepo.com:http' (-5 - No address associated with hostname)
Failed to fetch http://nl.mxrepo.com/mx/repo/dists/mx15/main/binary-amd64/Packages  Something wicked happened resolving 'nl.mxrepo.com:http' (-5 - No address associated with hostname)
Failed to fetch http://nl.mxrepo.com/mx/repo/dists/mx15/non-free/binary-amd64/Packages  Something wicked happened resolving 'nl.mxrepo.com:http' (-5 - No address associated with hostname)
Failed to fetch http://nl.mxrepo.com/mx/repo/dists/mx15/main/binary-i386/Packages  Something wicked happened resolving 'nl.mxrepo.com:http' (-5 - No address associated with hostname)
Failed to fetch http://nl.mxrepo.com/mx/repo/dists/mx15/non-free/binary-i386/Packages  Something wicked happened resolving 'nl.mxrepo.com:http' (-5 - No address associated with hostname)
Some index files failed to download. They have been ignored, or old ones used instead.

This will likely get resolved with time, things were working fine a few hours ago after all.

But gee.. that is a BIG error :laugh:
MX-18.3_x64 May 26 2019 * 4.19.0-5-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * 8-core AMD Ryzen 7 2700
Asus TUF B450-Plus Gaming UEFI * Asus GTX 1050 Ti Nvidia 390.116 * 2x16Gb DDR4 2666 Kingston HyperX Predator
Samsung 860EVO * Samsung S24D330 & P2250 * HP Envy5030

User avatar
DBeckett
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2777
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 3:59 pm

Re: Reload makes me go whoa

#2

Post by DBeckett » Mon Feb 08, 2016 4:38 pm

 
That looks like your Internet could be down.
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX-6100 hex-core, 3.3GHz, 8G, Radeon HD6570

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 19561
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: Reload makes me go whoa

#3

Post by Stevo » Mon Feb 08, 2016 6:08 pm

DBeckett wrote: 
That looks like your Internet could be down.
Except if she used the Net to post that message..

I can surf into that repo in a browser, so it's up.

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 11376
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

Re: Reload makes me go whoa

#4

Post by lucky9 » Mon Feb 08, 2016 6:25 pm

If you have a connection then time will heal whatever it is. I've had spurious things like her error message. ATM my latest installation (now on sda) of MX-15_64 has not had the earlier problems with Network Manager. But it had happened often enough in the past that that was the first thing I checked. And it usually was a dropped connection. Of course this could easily be an ISP problem not a NM problem. Whatever it was, it was intermittent and tied to (I think) being away from the PC. I also was in XFCE the times I noticed it happening.
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain

User avatar
DBeckett
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2777
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 3:59 pm

Re: Reload makes me go whoa

#5

Post by DBeckett » Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:22 pm

Stevo wrote:
DBeckett wrote: 
That looks like your Internet could be down.
Except if she used the Net to post that message..

I can surf into that repo in a browser, so it's up.
Duh
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX-6100 hex-core, 3.3GHz, 8G, Radeon HD6570

User avatar
timkb4cq
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 5058
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm

Re: Reload makes me go whoa

#6

Post by timkb4cq » Mon Feb 08, 2016 8:56 pm

Those errors indicate a DNS error, which can happen if your internet got disconnected or if your ISP's DNS servers are offline, misconfigured, or somehow are blocking the ip range nl.mxrepo.com inhabits. These usually clear up the next time the DNS servers get an update. That depends on the TTL (Time To Live) set for each domain which is generally somewhere between 4 & 24 hours.

One additional factor is that nl.mxrepo.com is a subdomain of mxrepo.com, so initial requests go to mxrepo.com in Utah to look up the nl.mxrepo.com address. Your ISP's DNS server will generally cache that result until the next TTL expires.
If the path between NL & UT was interrupted for some reason and the DNS cache had expired then you get the Something wicked happened resolving 'nl.mxrepo.com:http' message. Those resolve as soon as the path works again.
MSI 970A-G43 MB, AMD FX-6300 (six core), 16GB RAM, GeForce 730, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD, Seagate Barracuda XT 3TB

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 8667
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: Reload makes me go whoa

#7

Post by Eadwine Rose » Tue Feb 09, 2016 1:46 am

It is indeed working again. It was working all day before, so I knew it would just mean "time" :smile:

And indeed I posted that message from the same internet connection as the one with the error came from.

Lot of pulseaudio related updates appeared.

Ehhh.. *steers clear for a bit*
MX-18.3_x64 May 26 2019 * 4.19.0-5-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * 8-core AMD Ryzen 7 2700
Asus TUF B450-Plus Gaming UEFI * Asus GTX 1050 Ti Nvidia 390.116 * 2x16Gb DDR4 2666 Kingston HyperX Predator
Samsung 860EVO * Samsung S24D330 & P2250 * HP Envy5030

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 19561
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: Reload makes me go whoa

#8

Post by Stevo » Tue Feb 09, 2016 2:25 pm

Eadwine Rose wrote:It is indeed working again. It was working all day before, so I knew it would just mean "time" :smile:

And indeed I posted that message from the same internet connection as the one with the error came from.

Lot of pulseaudio related updates appeared.

Ehhh.. *steers clear for a bit*
The new pulseaudio has been used without problems by people here for some time, and has also been in jessie-backports a while. That's why we moved it to main. It fixed a crashing problem the stock Jessie version has if system event sounds are enabled.

Post Reply

Return to “General”