Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

What's your swappiness set to, eh?

Feel free to talk about anything and everything in this board. Just don't post offensive topics that are meant to cause trouble with other members or are derogatory towards people of different genders, race, color, minors (this includes nudity and sex), politics or religion. Let's try to keep peace among the community and for visitors.

No spam on this or any other forums please! If you post advertisements on these forums, your account may be deleted.

Do not copy and paste entire or even up to half of someone else's words or articles into posts. Post only a few sentences or a paragraph and make sure to include a link back to original words or article. Otherwise it's copyright infringement.

You can talk about other distros here, but no MX bashing. You can email the developers of MX if you just want to say you dislike or hate MX.
Message
Author
User avatar
mmikeinsantarosa
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2270
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 10:12 am

What's your swappiness set to, eh?

#1 Post by mmikeinsantarosa » Fri Jun 19, 2015 1:19 pm

An interesting read about how to adjust your distros' swappiness. Anybody ever tinker with this? My m12 is set to 60. As far as swap size goes, the author suggests:
This is a dedicated space in your hard drive that is usually set to at least twice the capacity of your RAM

Happy Friday!
- mike
LT: MX17.1 Quad Core model: Intel Core i7-6820HQ Kernel: 4.16.0-12.1-liquorix-amd64 (64 bit)
DT: Intel(R) Core i5-3.1GHz Kernel~3.9-1-mepis64 x86_64

User avatar
chrispop99
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2250
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: What's your swappiness set to, eh?

#2 Post by chrispop99 » Fri Jun 19, 2015 1:28 pm

As I run with plenty of RAM, I always set it to 10. I understand that's a good idea for SSD users also.

Chris
Test machines:
32-bit non-PAE - Thinkpad T41, 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1GB RAM.
32-bit PAE - DELL Latitude D610, 1.73GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM.
64-bit - Lenovo T61, 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM
64-bit - Gigabyte Z77P-D3, Intel i3-3220, GeForce 8400 GS, 4GB PC3-12800.

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 5701
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: What's your swappiness set to, eh?

#3 Post by Eadwine Rose » Fri Jun 19, 2015 1:34 pm

2 gigs, it's more than plenty.
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 14-3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.111 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP F2280

User avatar
mmikeinsantarosa
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2270
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 10:12 am

Re: What's your swappiness set to, eh?

#4 Post by mmikeinsantarosa » Fri Jun 19, 2015 1:40 pm

from the article
The swappiness parameter value is stored in a simple configuration text file located in /proc/sys/vm and is named “swappiness”.
Anybody ever tinker with their "swappiness" setting?
LT: MX17.1 Quad Core model: Intel Core i7-6820HQ Kernel: 4.16.0-12.1-liquorix-amd64 (64 bit)
DT: Intel(R) Core i5-3.1GHz Kernel~3.9-1-mepis64 x86_64

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 5701
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: What's your swappiness set to, eh?

#5 Post by Eadwine Rose » Fri Jun 19, 2015 1:42 pm

Oh wait.. you are not talking about plain jane swap partition?
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 14-3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.111 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP F2280

User avatar
Adrian
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 8357
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am

Re: What's your swappiness set to, eh?

#6 Post by Adrian » Fri Jun 19, 2015 1:44 pm

Eadwine Rose wrote:Oh wait.. you are not talking about plain jane swap partition?
It explains in the article, swappiness is a parameter that tells the computer when to swap stuff, by default is 60 so it starts to swap out (write inactive part of the memory to the swap space) when the free memory drops to 60%. If you set swappiness 10 then the computer will start to swap only when the free memory drops to 10%.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 21791
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: What's your swappiness set to, eh?

#7 Post by Jerry3904 » Fri Jun 19, 2015 1:47 pm

Eadwine Rose wrote:Oh wait.. you are not talking about plain jane swap partition?
I misunderstood that too, and thought misr was trying to make a funny with the language...
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 5701
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: What's your swappiness set to, eh?

#8 Post by Eadwine Rose » Fri Jun 19, 2015 2:00 pm

Indeed! :smile:
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 14-3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.111 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP F2280

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 11380
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

Re: What's your swappiness set to, eh?

#9 Post by lucky9 » Fri Jun 19, 2015 2:03 pm

I run the default in all of my operating systems. I've never seen SWAP used in my normal day to day use pattern. Matter of fact I've never seen SWAP used when I've checked memory usage. (I currently have 8 GB of RAM, but never noticed a use when I had 4 GB.)
I do not use anything but up and running or off.
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain

User avatar
kmathern
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9270
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm

Re: What's your swappiness set to, eh?

#10 Post by kmathern » Fri Jun 19, 2015 2:16 pm

lucky9 wrote:I run the default in all of my operating systems. I've never seen SWAP used in my normal day to day use pattern. Matter of fact I've never seen SWAP used when I've checked memory usage. (I currently have 8 GB of RAM, but never noticed a use when I had 4 GB.)
I do not use anything but up and running or off.
My machine has 4GB of RAM, but some of it is being used as video memory.

It's not uncommon on my machine to see some swap being used, in fact the free command says it's using a small amount right now.

Code: Select all

$ free -h
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          3.2G       2.6G       593M         0B       189M       920M
-/+ buffers/cache:       1.5G       1.7G
Swap:         8.2G        84M       8.2G
I sized my swap partition at 8.2GB, just a little more than my machines 8GB RAM capacity (if I were to add another ram module).

Post Reply

Return to “General”