Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

No inxi says the MEPIS12 64 bit repo man.

For help or questions about 64-bit version of MEPIS, this is the forum to use.
Message
Author
User avatar
eemaestro
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1010
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 12:12 pm

No inxi says the MEPIS12 64 bit repo man.

#1 Post by eemaestro » Thu Jan 08, 2015 9:57 pm

Anybody know what happened to this program?

Code: Select all

# apt-get install inxi
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package inxi
root@mepis1:/home/jon#  apt-cache search inxi

User avatar
Paul..
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2277
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 6:34 pm

Re: No inxi says the MEPIS12 64 bit repo man.

#2 Post by Paul.. » Thu Jan 08, 2015 10:01 pm

inxi is included when you install the smxi script...you can get that here http://smxi.org/site/install.htm#inxi

Daily: MSI 890FXA-GD70 | AMD Phenom II X6 1055T | GeForce GTX 750 Ti | 8G
Test: Thinkpad T431s | Intel i5-3437U | Intel 3rd gen Graphics | 4G

User avatar
mmikeinsantarosa
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2460
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 10:12 am

Re: No inxi says the MEPIS12 64 bit repo man.

#3 Post by mmikeinsantarosa » Thu Jan 08, 2015 10:11 pm

as su

Code: Select all

cd /usr/local/bin && wget -Nc smxi.org/inxi && chmod +x inxi && inxi
works on my m12's
LT: MX17.1 Quad Core model: Intel Core i7-6820HQ Kernel: 4.16.0-12.1-liquorix-amd64 (64 bit)
DT: Intel(R) Core i5-3.1GHz Kernel~3.9-1-mepis64 x86_64

User avatar
eemaestro
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1010
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 12:12 pm

Re: No inxi says the MEPIS12 64 bit repo man.

#4 Post by eemaestro » Thu Jan 08, 2015 11:39 pm

Thank you for solving this problem. I appreciate your help.

User avatar
mmikeinsantarosa
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2460
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 10:12 am

Re: No inxi says the MEPIS12 64 bit repo man.

#5 Post by mmikeinsantarosa » Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:15 am

eemaestro wrote:Thank you for solving this problem.
That was all pcallahan80

mike
LT: MX17.1 Quad Core model: Intel Core i7-6820HQ Kernel: 4.16.0-12.1-liquorix-amd64 (64 bit)
DT: Intel(R) Core i5-3.1GHz Kernel~3.9-1-mepis64 x86_64

User avatar
kmathern
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9353
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm

Re: No inxi says the MEPIS12 64 bit repo man.

#6 Post by kmathern » Fri Jan 09, 2015 12:14 pm

Inxi is in the Debian Jessie repo (https://packages.debian.org/source/jessie/inxi), it could probably be backported and added to the M12/MX-14 CRs.
{in fact I put in a request for it about a year and a half ago - http://forum.mepiscommunity.org/viewtop ... 57#p318857, but it was never added}

User avatar
dolphin_oracle
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9569
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 1:17 pm

Re: No inxi says the MEPIS12 64 bit repo man.

#7 Post by dolphin_oracle » Fri Jan 09, 2015 12:47 pm

the version of inxi supplied with MX (just to be complete) is here:

http://antix.daveserver.info/stable/poo ... .0_all.deb
http://www.youtube.com/runwiththedolphin
lenovo ThinkPad T530 - MX-17
lenovo s21e & 100s - antiX-17, MX17(live-usb)
FYI: mx "test" repo is not the same thing as debian testing repo.

User avatar
eemaestro
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1010
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 12:12 pm

Re: No inxi says the MEPIS12 64 bit repo man.

#8 Post by eemaestro » Fri Jan 09, 2015 2:15 pm

Okay, mike. In case you didn't notice, I'm rather confused by Debian repo's. Maybe I should start shuffling through the administrator's handbook http://debian-handbook.info/browse/stable/
The bifurcation of sources.list into sources.list.d/debian.list, sources.list.d/mepis.list, and sources.list/d/opera.list has confused me even more. If you know of a similar handbook for Mepis, or a Debian repositories for Dummies guide, let me know so I can read it. I know the Debian repo's all work with binary deb packages for the object code and with corresponding deb-src packages for the source code. I surmise that the deb package contains external references to libraries that need to be linked with the object code to make it work on my computer.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22653
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: No inxi says the MEPIS12 64 bit repo man.

#9 Post by Jerry3904 » Fri Jan 09, 2015 2:53 pm

There is a lot of stuff in the Mepis Wiki on repositories, including the Community Repo, that might be of aid.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 11380
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

Re: No inxi says the MEPIS12 64 bit repo man.

#10 Post by lucky9 » Fri Jan 09, 2015 3:18 pm

eemaestro wrote: The bifurcation of sources.list into sources.list.d/debian.list, sources.list.d/mepis.list, and sources.list/d/opera.list has confused me even more.
The thing to know is that a sources.list is a sources.list. No matter what the label is.
All are in etc/apt/

If it confuses you, all are in one etc/apt/ Folder. The wiki has a decent explanation of how to replace or modify things there and will work. Put sources.list in the Search box and hit Enter. Up will come a list of the different versions that we support. Click on the version that you are running. Follow the directions you find there. It's basically a Copy&Paste operation for the various MX sources.list containers. Or you can use Synaptic, though that's a bad use of time to my mind.

Things like the Opera repository will be in the same place. As can the virtualbox repository. These two programs, for instance, will place their repositories correctly. You don't need to worry about them. Many do not keep them enabled (using Synaptic) by default. Though it does make checking on security upgrades a manual process in that you need to remember to enable them before doing a Reload.
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain

Post Reply

Return to “64-bit Regulars”