-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

problem with persistence making a live usb with MX17

For help or questions about 64-bit version of MEPIS, this is the forum to use.
awsim
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

problem with persistence making a live usb with MX17

#1 Post by awsim » Wed Mar 21, 2018 10:51 am

Hi I have been using linux for about 10 years first with ubuntu now with Mint Cinnamon 18.3 and I am attempting to make a live bootable usb with persistence to look at MX17 . Ihave managed to make a live usb with etcher and boot it up. However when I log out I lose all my settings and data . On looking carefully on boot up it appears that I have wrongly selected the partitions. Do I have to partition the usb before mounting the .iso on Etcher. If so what size should the partitions be , the usb is a Sandisk Cruzer Glide 3.0 16GiB. I have tried reformatting and resetting everything but it seems that settings from the previous install are interfereing with the revised install( seemingly not fully formatted)my laptop is an Acer E1 -571 72.8Hdd.3.7 GiB Ram Intel core i3-2328M Cpu @2.2 GHZx2

dolphin_oracle
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran

Re: problem with persistence making a live usb with MX17

#2 Post by dolphin_oracle » Wed Mar 21, 2018 11:08 am

etcher creates a read-only file system no matter how you partition the drive.

If you have a second stick, I would use our live-usb-maker tool's clone-mode to make a "full-featured" live-USB capable of persistence. The tool will take care of partitioning for you.
http://www.youtube.com/runwiththedolphin
lenovo ThinkPad T530 - MX-17
lenovo s21e & 100s - antiX-17, MX17(live-usb)
FYI: mx "test" repo is not the same thing as debian testing repo.

awsim
Forum Novice