Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Sound & No Sound on M-12 and MX-14

For help or questions about 64-bit version of MEPIS, this is the forum to use.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
towwire
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:15 pm

Sound & No Sound on M-12 and MX-14

#1 Post by towwire » Sat Apr 12, 2014 2:25 pm

Sound & No Sound on M-12 and MX-14

I'll explain using Mepis 11.9.92-64, but it is basicly the same on MX-14. When Mepis boots it plays a sound. The speaker icon on the system tray is there but no slider to adjust sound. Mouse over shows volume at 0%. When you click on it, it shows starting from the bottom, Mixer, Speaker icon with green sound from it, txt IEC958, addon board icon.

I have tried everything I can fine in the mixer settings, no go.

I do NOT have any sound thru the browser, video's play find with no sound, no matter which site I use. I can play a cd using KsCD and can stream radio using VLC but can not using the browser. The other thing is no sound adjustment with out openning the mixer.

All updates have been done on both systems. Just install a few days ago. So what is not configured correctly?

This a new build computer, Gigabyte F2A88X-UP4, A10-7850K, memory G.Skill F3-2400C10D-16GTX total 32GB SPD 1333MHz, not over clocked now.

User avatar
BitJam
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2472
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 11:36 pm

Re: Sound & No Sound on M-12 and MX-14

#2 Post by BitJam » Sat Apr 12, 2014 2:55 pm

Let's start with the output of:

Code: Select all

inxi -A
and:

Code: Select all

cat /proc/asound/cards

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 21796
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Sound & No Sound on M-12 and MX-14

#3 Post by Jerry3904 » Sat Apr 12, 2014 2:57 pm

<as always...>
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
towwire
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:15 pm

Re: Sound & No Sound on M-12 and MX-14

#4 Post by towwire » Sat Apr 12, 2014 3:13 pm

This is on Mepis output

oldfoool@mepis12:~$ inxi -A
bash: inxi: command not found
oldfoool@mepis12:~$ cat /proc/asound/cards
0 [Generic ]: HDA-Intel - HD-Audio Generic
HD-Audio Generic at 0xfeb64000 irq 94
1 [Generic_1 ]: HDA-Intel - HD-Audio Generic
HD-Audio Generic at 0xfeb60000 irq 16
oldfoool@mepis12:~$ su
Password:
root@mepis12:/home/oldfoool# inxi -A
bash: inxi: command not found
root@mepis12:/home/oldfoool# cat /proc/asound/cards
0 [Generic ]: HDA-Intel - HD-Audio Generic
HD-Audio Generic at 0xfeb64000 irq 94
1 [Generic_1 ]: HDA-Intel - HD-Audio Generic
HD-Audio Generic at 0xfeb60000 irq 16
root@mepis12:/home/oldfoool#

The onboard sound is Realtek ACL892 codec

User avatar
BitJam
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2472
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 11:36 pm

Re: Sound & No Sound on M-12 and MX-14

#5 Post by BitJam » Sat Apr 12, 2014 3:34 pm

Try creating a file called ".asoundrc" in your home directory with these two lines:

Code: Select all

defaults.pcm.!card Generic_1
defaults.ctl.!card Generic_1
Don't forget the dot at the front of the file name. That makes the file hidden so it doesn't show up in the output of the "ls" command unless you use the -a or -A options.

I use the follow command to play a test sound:

Code: Select all

speaker-test -c2 -twav -l1
but there are plenty of other ways to play sounds.

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 5714
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: Sound & No Sound on M-12 and MX-14

#6 Post by Eadwine Rose » Sat Apr 12, 2014 3:41 pm

Oh that last command is a keeper! Thanks :happy:
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 14-3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.111 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP F2280

User avatar
towwire
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:15 pm

Re: Sound & No Sound on M-12 and MX-14

#7 Post by towwire » Sat Apr 12, 2014 4:27 pm

BitJam wrote:Try creating a file called ".asoundrc" in your home directory with these two lines:

Code: Select all

defaults.pcm.!card Generic_1
defaults.ctl.!card Generic_1
Don't forget the dot at the front of the file name. That makes the file hidden so it doesn't show up in the output of the "ls" command unless you use the -a or -A options.

I use the follow command to play a test sound:

Code: Select all

speaker-test -c2 -twav -l1
but there are plenty of other ways to play sounds.
Nice, that does provide sound in the browser now. Thanks for that. What do I need to change in KDE to enable the control of sound in the system tray??

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15648
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: Sound & No Sound on M-12 and MX-14

#8 Post by Stevo » Sat Apr 12, 2014 8:09 pm

You'll have to right-click on the icon, and pick "restore", then configure the settings of the mixer, possibly adding channels to the mixer GUI. Every device seems to supply a different set of channels, but then right-clicking on the icon and selecting the Master Channel will give volume control--I use the "Master" slider, but PCM should also work.

User avatar
towwire
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:15 pm

Re: Sound & No Sound on M-12 and MX-14

#9 Post by towwire » Sat Apr 12, 2014 9:49 pm

Stevo wrote:You'll have to right-click on the icon, and pick "restore", then configure the settings of the mixer, possibly adding channels to the mixer GUI. Every device seems to supply a different set of channels, but then right-clicking on the icon and selecting the Master Channel will give volume control--I use the "Master" slider, but PCM should also work.
I have put every channel there is and when I open to pick a channel to represent the master volume, there is nothing to pick from. I show Current mixer: HD-Audio Generic or using the (^ down instead of up) HD-Audio Gemeric, still nothing to select. I think one of KDE config files must be set wrong, but which one?

User avatar
BitJam
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2472
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 11:36 pm

Re: Sound & No Sound on M-12 and MX-14

#10 Post by BitJam » Sat Apr 12, 2014 10:01 pm

It's been years since I've used KDE but maybe this will help.

Post Reply

Return to “64-bit Newbies”