Welcome!

Please read this important information about MX sources lists.
News
  • MX Linux on social media: here
  • Mepis support still here
Current releases
  • MX-17 beta 1 release info here
  • MX-16.1 release info here
  • antiX-17 release info here
    New users
    • Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
    • Read Forum Rules

Upgrade problems

Topics/Questions/Guides about Windows Managers and Desktop Environments (other than KDE) should go here.
Message
Author
User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 19608
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Upgrade problems

#1 Postby Jerry3904 » Fri Dec 20, 2013 3:58 pm

This thread is for people who upgrade Xfce 4.8 to 4.10 on Mepis 12 (including betas etc.), as we are doing for the upcoming alpha release.
Production: 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 19608
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Upgrade problems

#2 Postby Jerry3904 » Fri Dec 20, 2013 4:08 pm

By pure coincidence, I have come upon a problem that I don't understand. We are using Lxmed to provide an easy way to edit the main menu. This installed fine on both 4.8 and 4.10. But in the latter, a problem arises that stops it cold:
(gksu:5107): GConf-WARNING **: Client failed to connect to the D-BUS daemon:
Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken.
GConf Error: No D-BUS daemon running
I tried rebooting, then reinstalling but without a change in behavior. Googlilng didn't help much--any ideas?
Production: 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
timkb4cq
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3757
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm

Re: Upgrade problems

#3 Postby timkb4cq » Fri Dec 20, 2013 4:19 pm

Please run

Code: Select all

ps x | grep dbus-daemon
You should get something like this back:

Code: Select all

3360 ?        Ss     0:02 /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --fork --print-pid 5 --print-address 7 --session
 6652 pts/1    S+     0:00 grep dbus-daemon
If you don't get that first line, then the dm (lightdm?) hasn't started the dbus-daemon
MSI 970A-G43 MB, AMD FX-6300 (six core), 16GB RAM, GeForce 730, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD, Seagate Barracuda XT 3TB

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 19608
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Upgrade problems

#4 Postby Jerry3904 » Fri Dec 20, 2013 4:31 pm

timkb4cq wrote:Please run

Code: Select all

ps x | grep dbus-daemon
You should get something like this back:

Code: Select all

3360 ?        Ss     0:02 /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --fork --print-pid 5 --print-address 7 --session
 6652 pts/1    S+     0:00 grep dbus-daemon
If you don't get that first line, then the dm (lightdm?) hasn't started the dbus-daemon


Looks like that is OK:
$ ps x | grep dbus-daemon
4325 ? Ss 0:01 /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --fork --print-pid 5 --print-address 7 --session
5291 pts/0 S+ 0:00 grep dbus-daemon
xdemo@M12x:~


And this for basics:
$ inxi -F
System: Host: M12x Kernel: 3.12.5-antix.2-486-smp i686 (32 bit)
Desktop: Xfce 4.10.2 Distro: mepis-13_386-xfce jerry 20 December 2013
Machine: System: innotek product: VirtualBox version: 1.2
Mobo: Oracle model: VirtualBox version: 1.2 Bios: innotek version: VirtualBox date: 12/01/2006
CPU: Single core AMD Phenom 9650 (-UP-) cache: 512 KB flags: (pae sse sse2 sse3) clocked at 2301.933 MHz
Graphics: Card: InnoTek Systemberatung VirtualBox Graphics Adapter
X.Org: 1.12.4 drivers: ati,vboxvideo (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 2048x1152@60.0hz
GLX Renderer: N/A GLX Version: N/A
Network: Card: Intel 82540EM Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: e1000
IF: eth0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: 08:00:27:b0:ac:3c
Drives: HDD Total Size: 8.6GB (27.6% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: VBOX_HARDDISK size: 8.6GB
Partition: ID: / size: 6.8G used: 2.3G (35%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 1.10GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
Sensors: None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Info: Processes: 112 Uptime: 40 min Memory: 151.3/1943.9MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 1.9.16
Production: 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 19608
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Upgrade problems

#5 Postby Jerry3904 » Fri Dec 20, 2013 6:19 pm

It would definitely help if I used the right command:

Code: Select all

xdemo@M12x:~
$ lxmed
sh: 1: java: not found
So I installed openjkd-6-jre and it all worked as it should.

:grin:
Production: 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB


Return to “Other WMs / DEs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest