Welcome!
Forum users

Current releases
--MX-23 release info here
--Migration information to MX-23 here
--antiX-23.1 (Arditi del Popolo) release info here

Important information
--If in starting your system it boots to an unwanted Desktop, right click desktop, then select leave and logout. At the
login screen there is a session chooser at the top of the screen.

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- New Forum Features, Marking Solved and Referencing a User: here

Nice job!

Here you can post a testimonial about why you like or love MX. Include as much detail and info as you wish.
rootetsy

Nice job!

#1 Post by rootetsy »

Hi All,

I just switched my main computer over to MX 2 weeks ago and I thought I would let you know how much I enjoy it.

A little knowledge about me. This is my work computer and I use at least 50 hours per week. Before MX I was on Mint 18.3. I had been with Mint since around 17.1 I think. And I've been using only Linux for my desktop for at least 12 years now. Mostly Debian based distros.

Now that I've had a little bit of use with MX I can say that it's exactly what I'm looking for. I think I've found my new home for a while.

I love that it's based on Debain stable. You've done a great job with the default settings for everything all the way down to the bash prompt which is rare. I also really like the MX Package Installer. Makes it really easy to manage backports and just install things in general.

Also, I really like how all of your tools show the terminal output. That makes it really easy to debug when something goes wrong. The only issue I had at all during the install was with the Nvidia driver. It wouldn't install because of a conflict I had in backports. But since it showed me exactly what it was trying to do and what the problem was, I had it fixed in no time.

Not to mention that the people in the forum here seem very nice. This is my first post but I've been lurking for a couple of months now. :)