QEMU How To

Here is where you can post tips and tricks to share with other users of MX. Do not ask for help in this Forum.
JmaCWQ

QEMU How To

#1 Post by JmaCWQ »

G'day All,

Thought I might share this here as people might find it useful, a little while ago I started learning how to use QEMU & put together the steps I followed that got it working for me.
The only thing I couldn't get working via Terminal was being able to access connected USB devices, but using AQEMU (gui version) and a bit of research I managed to get them working.
This was done on MX-17.

Here's how I get an ISO working via Terminal in QEMU, just change your username, file locations etc. etc. in the commands to suit.

First thing is create the virtual drive QEMU will use for the desired OS, which is a .img file
Choose the folder you want it in, then open Terminal & 'cd' to that desired folder.
Or when using MX you can open the desired folder, then right click > Open Terminal Here.
On my setup to keep them all together I use the hidden .aqemu folder inside my home folder but the location can be anywhere, username I log in with is 'home'.
So to cd to there in Terminal cd /home/home/.aqemu hit Enter.
Or open the folder, right click > Open Terminal Here.

Next is the command to create the .img file, it can also be named whatever you want, I usually name them the same as the OS I'm installing to make it easier to keep track of things.
In this instance I'm using the iso for the MidnightBSD 64-bit operating system which I renamed to mbsd.iso.

sudo qemu-img create -f qcow2 mbsd.img 10G

The 10G is the size of the virtual drive, that can be any size you want so long as it's large enough for the system you want's install.
It won't initially show as 10 GB when created in the folder, QEMU expands this file as needed up to a maximum of the size specified.

Once created next step is boot the .iso.
My mbsd.iso file is located in my home folder, so to run it it's: