Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Mepis11 WIRED networking pooched

Questions about Networking that deals with wireless cards, ethernet, modems, samba and anything else related to these, including software help. Tutorials for any of these can be posted too.

Remember to provide relevant info in your posts, such as the following information:

Version of Mepis being used
Card Manufacturer (i.e. Linksys)
Card Model (i.e. WMP54G)
Type: (PCI or PCMCIA)
Current Kernel in use on their system (i.e. 2.6.10)
Udev or Hotplug
Exact steps taken to get the card working if it is not immediately recognized by MEPIS.
Message
Author
User avatar
uncle mark
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4954
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm

Mepis11 WIRED networking pooched

#1 Post by uncle mark » Fri Jun 13, 2014 8:33 pm

I've been fighting connectivity issues with Comcast and in my home network since Wednesday. I now have Internet, and I can connect from my wife's two Win machines, my old Ubuntu standalone box that serves as a NAS, an MX netbook, and my main machine with Windows -- but M11 networking on my main machine is pooched. In mnetwork, the Eth0 adapter is identified correctly it appears, but shows in read and no amount of changing settings or restarting the network or rebooting helps.

I originally had a cable modem go south, then had a helluva time getting the router reconfigured with the new modem, but everything is now working except M11. If I didn't know any better I'd think I had a bad NIC, but I'm posting from the Win part on the same machine, so the NIC is fine with Win.

So I need to know how I could maybe "reset" everything in the M11 networking thingy. Or perhaps I should ditch networkmanager and use something different? Again, this is a WIRED connection on a desktop, not wireles. I don't think I've ever seen anything like it.

Any help greatly appreciated. I'm frazzled.
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MEPIS 11
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 -- MX-15
Assorted junk: assorted Linuxes

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 21796
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Mepis11 WIRED networking pooched

#2 Post by Jerry3904 » Fri Jun 13, 2014 8:40 pm

Can you give us the output of

Code: Select all

ifconfig
?
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
uncle mark
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4954
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm

Re: Mepis11 WIRED networking pooched

#3 Post by uncle mark » Fri Jun 13, 2014 9:06 pm

Code: Select all

[root@mepis11 mark]# ifconfig
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:36 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:36 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:1800 (1.7 KiB)  TX bytes:1800 (1.7 KiB)

[root@mepis11 mark]# 
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MEPIS 11
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 -- MX-15
Assorted junk: assorted Linuxes

User avatar
uncle mark
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4954
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm

Re: Mepis11 WIRED networking pooched

#4 Post by uncle mark » Fri Jun 13, 2014 9:17 pm

From Windows

Code: Select all

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Mark>ipconfig

Windows IP Configuration


Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::493f:76f2:b418:4b1f%10
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.10
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:90d7:1cb1:d09:9d20:4768
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1cb1:d09:9d20:4768%11
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::

Tunnel adapter isatap.{1A825D27-5B3F-4092-8D4C-FE20954EB1A8}:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

C:\Users\Mark>
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MEPIS 11
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 -- MX-15
Assorted junk: assorted Linuxes

User avatar
kmathern
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9270
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm

Re: Mepis11 WIRED networking pooched

#5 Post by kmathern » Fri Jun 13, 2014 9:19 pm

Does ifconfig list the eth0 interface if you add the "-a"?

Code: Select all

su -c 'ifconfig -a'

Code: Select all

man ifconfig
        .
        .
        .
OPTIONS
       -a     display all interfaces which are currently available, even if down

User avatar
uncle mark
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4954
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm

Re: Mepis11 WIRED networking pooched

#6 Post by uncle mark » Fri Jun 13, 2014 9:42 pm

Code: Select all

mark@mepis11:~$ su -c 'ifconfig -a'
Password: 
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 48:5b:39:c9:4d:e6  
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:50 

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:36 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:36 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:1800 (1.7 KiB)  TX bytes:1800 (1.7 KiB)

mark@mepis11:~$ 
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MEPIS 11
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 -- MX-15
Assorted junk: assorted Linuxes

User avatar
uncle mark
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4954
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm

Re: Mepis11 WIRED networking pooched

#7 Post by uncle mark » Fri Jun 13, 2014 9:44 pm

Here's another data point: if I access the router and look a "Attached Devices" the only thing show up is this netbook and the wife's Roku. The M11 desktop is not listed. I'll reboot to Windows and see what it shows then.
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MEPIS 11
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 -- MX-15
Assorted junk: assorted Linuxes

User avatar
kmathern
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9270
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm

Re: Mepis11 WIRED networking pooched

#8 Post by kmathern » Fri Jun 13, 2014 9:46 pm

Will this bring it up ?

Code: Select all

su -c 'dhclient eth0'

User avatar
uncle mark
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4954
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm

Re: Mepis11 WIRED networking pooched

#9 Post by uncle mark » Fri Jun 13, 2014 9:49 pm

uncle mark wrote:Here's another data point: if I access the router and look a "Attached Devices" the only thing show up is this netbook and the wife's Roku. The M11 desktop is not listed. I'll reboot to Windows and see what it shows then.
After rebooting into W7, the machine does show up in the router under Attached Devices.
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MEPIS 11
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 -- MX-15
Assorted junk: assorted Linuxes

User avatar
uncle mark
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4954
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm

Re: Mepis11 WIRED networking pooched

#10 Post by uncle mark » Fri Jun 13, 2014 9:54 pm

kmathern wrote:Will this bring it up ?

Code: Select all

su -c 'dhclient eth0'

Code: Select all

Reloading /etc/samba/smb/conf: smbd only
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MEPIS 11
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 -- MX-15
Assorted junk: assorted Linuxes

Post Reply

Return to “Networking”