Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

LibreOffice wrong paper size

Questions about printers and scanners, hardware-related and/or software-related can be asked here, as well as posting of tutorials.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
beckwith
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 475
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 9:27 pm

LibreOffice wrong paper size

#1 Post by beckwith » Sat Mar 15, 2014 9:54 pm

Hello,
The guys the LIbreOffice forum are running out of idea. So I thought I'd try here.
LO 4.1.4.2 - two printers an hp2050, and ah hp6700. from the same document
the first says papersize C5, the second 215 x 153mm. /etc/cups/ppd says
noth have default of A4. System settings say A4.

EDIT
It's related to the document in some way. Another document has C5 for both
printers, a much older document shows A4 for both, spreadsheets show A4.

User avatar
Gaer Boy
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2129
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 6:06 am

Re: LibreOffice wrong paper size

#2 Post by Gaer Boy » Sun Mar 16, 2014 4:45 am

I'm confused. In general, there are 3 definitions of paper size - the default size in the printer definition, the default size in LibreOffice and the size defined in the particular document.

Cups gives the default printer size and you can check the default LO size by opening a new document in Writer and checking the page format. In your case, Cups gives A4 for both printers and, assuming LO default size is also A4, any other setting is in the individual document. I don't understand how the printer gives another size - it must be the document. What size is the document in LO? (Format>Page>Page tab)

When you say "the [printer] says C5" etc, where are you seeing this?

I have a lot of trouble with documents sent to me with US paper sizes - if I don't spot and correct it, the printer complains of Paper Size Mismatch, which adds a few seconds to printing each page.

AsRock FM2A88X-ITX+, A8-6500, 8GB, 120GB Samsung SSD (GPT), 1TB HDD (MBR), MX-17.1
Lenovo Thinkpad X220, dual-core i5, 3MB, 320GB Hitachi HDD, Win7, MX-17.1

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6102
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: LibreOffice wrong paper size

#3 Post by Eadwine Rose » Sun Mar 16, 2014 5:32 am

I googled a bit.. note the section in yellow http://ask.libreoffice.org/en/question/ ... ont-stick/

I think that is what beckwith means?
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 14-3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.130 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP F2280

User avatar
m_pav
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2676
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 3:02 pm

Re: LibreOffice wrong paper size

#4 Post by m_pav » Sun Mar 16, 2014 3:20 pm

/etc/papersize - change it as root to whatever your preference is. Not all print drivers will respect it though as I have seen first hand how stupid proprietary brother drivers always set LETTER irrespective of what the system has as a default paper size.
Mike P

Regd Linux User #472293
(Mine)Lenovo T560, i7-6600U, 16GB, 2.0TB SSHD, MX17 64-bit
(Wifes) Asus M4A88TD-M, AMD Phenom II x4 955 CPU, nVidia GF610, 6Gb, 500GB+320GB, MX17 + KDE
(Kids) Intel NUC, J1900, 4GB, 64GB SSD, MX17

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6102
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: LibreOffice wrong paper size

#5 Post by Eadwine Rose » Sun Mar 16, 2014 3:32 pm

So does CUPS: http://jurjenbokma.com/ApprenticesNotes ... armic.html
https://blueprints.launchpad.net/ubuntu ... -correctly

I have set everything printerwise that I can access easily to a4, I have done this papersize thing. Not added the other locale things though, yet when I want to print with LO I look in the print properties and.. letter.

Minor annoyance thank goodness.

Thanks for the tip m_pav!
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 14-3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.130 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP F2280

User avatar
m_pav
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2676
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 3:02 pm

Re: LibreOffice wrong paper size

#6 Post by m_pav » Mon Mar 17, 2014 4:51 am

The LO version shipped with MX-14 is the US version, so it will have the US templates, which is why we're lumped with this short and stumpy paper size. For those who use taller and slimmer pages, this is a clue on how to do it......of course they don't mention paper size, but whatever you set gets kept.
Mike P

Regd Linux User #472293
(Mine)Lenovo T560, i7-6600U, 16GB, 2.0TB SSHD, MX17 64-bit
(Wifes) Asus M4A88TD-M, AMD Phenom II x4 955 CPU, nVidia GF610, 6Gb, 500GB+320GB, MX17 + KDE
(Kids) Intel NUC, J1900, 4GB, 64GB SSD, MX17

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6102
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: LibreOffice wrong paper size

#7 Post by Eadwine Rose » Mon Mar 17, 2014 8:21 am

However as soon as you start printing, gotta set it every single time. Even when you have a new document opened as the default a4.. printing? Letter. *mutter* hehe
MX-17.1_x64 Horizon 14-3-2018 * 4.15.0-1-amd64 ext4 Xfce 4.12.3 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GF GT640-1GD5-L NVIDIA 384.130 * AMD Proc. Athl II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB VT1708S An * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingst * 22" Samsung SyncM P2250 * HP F2280

Post Reply

Return to “Print/Scan”