Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Radeon 3000 in M8? [Solved]

You can ask for help with video cards, tv cards, dvb, monitors, webcams, digital cameras and software related to these devices, here. Tutorials about these devices can be posted here, too.
Message
Author
User avatar
TenderFoot
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 2:34 pm

Radeon 3000 in M8? [Solved]

#1 Post by TenderFoot » Mon Sep 15, 2014 10:35 am

Trying to persuade M8-64bit to work on my "new" rig. It has installed ok but have a couple of problems.

Screen resolution is constrained to 1280x768 instead of the 1440x900. Tried the cheatcode xdrvr=radeon but the liveusb bombed so took the default. Tried "upping" the installed version from vesa to radeon (not even fglrx) but that failed - perhaps because of lack of internet connection (see parallel thread http://forum.mepiscommunity.org/viewtop ... 19&t=36862).

Even assuming connection issues are resolved, is there any hope for HD3000 in M8?
Last edited by TenderFoot on Fri Sep 19, 2014 1:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 11380
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

Re: Radeon 3000 in M8?

#2 Post by lucky9 » Mon Sep 15, 2014 1:07 pm

You might try the res cheatcode. res=1440x900 See: http://www.mepis.org/docs/en/index.php?title=Cheatcodes

Are you using an LCD or a CRT?
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain

User avatar
TenderFoot
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 2:34 pm

Re: Radeon 3000 in M8?

#3 Post by TenderFoot » Mon Sep 15, 2014 1:20 pm

Unfortunately that had no effect!

LCD monitor.

User avatar
TenderFoot
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 2:34 pm

Re: Radeon 3000 in M8?

#4 Post by TenderFoot » Wed Sep 17, 2014 3:45 pm

Tried the radeon drivers from MXWA but that rendered the system inaccessible so after a reinstall not to anxious to go for fglrx.

However, it may also be significant that there was a suspect internet connection and there was no "progress" but instantly seemed to indicate success (though the apply never greys out anyway)!

Although the monitor - LG198WA - is not recognised (or listed), it was not a problem on another machine using it but using a different graphic card so conclude that it is a driver issue?

User avatar
kmathern
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9255
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm

Re: Radeon 3000 in M8?

#5 Post by kmathern » Wed Sep 17, 2014 4:24 pm

Are you mainly just wanting to get the 1440x900 resolution instead of the 1280x768 resolution that it's currently getting set at?

If so try booting a M8 Live session with the following cheats: xres=1440x900 xhsync=30-83 xvsync=56-75

If that gives you the 1440x900 resolution you want while running in X, copy the /etc/X11/xorg.conf to your harddrive install.


note #1: The default M8 xorg.conf uses "HorizSync 30-75" & "VertRefresh 55-70" timings, which might be what's keeping it from achieving the 1440x900 resolution.
note #2: I got the LG198WA timing values from here: http://www.computecgroup.com/Specificat ... _198WA.pdf.

User avatar
TenderFoot
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 2:34 pm

Re: Radeon 3000 in M8?

#6 Post by TenderFoot » Wed Sep 17, 2014 7:32 pm

Unfortunately that invokes "Out of Range" from the monitor (similarly without the sync parameters).

Tried picking monitors from MXWA which might approximate but no joy.

Also tried xdrvr=radeon rootdelay=20 which has resolved issues with ati cards previously.

User avatar
kmathern
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9255
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm

Re: Radeon 3000 in M8?

#7 Post by kmathern » Wed Sep 17, 2014 8:38 pm

After my last post I ran the gtf and cvt commands to see what the timings are for a 1440x900 @60Hz resolution. M8's default xorg.conf HorizSync & VertRefresh timings should allow it.
$ gtf 1440 900 60

# 1440x900 @ 60.00 Hz (GTF) hsync: 55.92 kHz; pclk: 106.47 MHz
Modeline "1440x900_60.00" 106.47 1440 1520 1672 1904 900 901 904 932 -HSync +Vsync
$ cvt 1440 900 60
# 1440x900 59.89 Hz (CVT 1.30MA) hsync: 55.93 kHz; pclk: 106.50 MHz
Modeline "1440x900_60.00" 106.50 1440 1528 1672 1904 900 903 909 934 -hsync +vsync
So maybe rather than expanding the HorizSync & VertRefresh ranges like we did before, lets try shrinking them so they're much closer to what's actually needed.
try: res=1440x900 hsync=55-57 vsync=59-61

** note this time I removed the leading "x" from the cheats, the cheats work with or without the leading "x"

User avatar
TenderFoot
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 2:34 pm

Re: Radeon 3000 in M8?

#8 Post by TenderFoot » Thu Sep 18, 2014 7:59 am

I'd already tried shrinking the range after reading another recent thread but tried your suggestion too but it still ends up with the monitor displaying "Out of range".

Is the monitor issue seperate to the driver?

I'd try using MXWA to install radeon or fglrx but my fears are that, from past experience, it renders the system unusable that I don't have the skills to recover!

In the meantime, have done a little research wich led to http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/d ... x%20x86_64 and http://howtoubuntu.org/how-to-execute-a ... -in-ubuntu.

However, not sure wether the ati prerequisits can be met
Automated installer and Display Drivers for Xorg 6.9 to Xserver 1.12 and Kernel version up to 3.4
Browsing Synaptic for Xorg and Xserver suggest Xorg is 6.8 but don't understand all the version numbers and their relationship?

[PS appreciated that xres and res are the same following lucky9's useful link in first reply!]

User avatar
kmathern
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9255
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm

Re: Radeon 3000 in M8?

#9 Post by kmathern » Thu Sep 18, 2014 8:22 am

When during the boot process does the monitor start displaying the "Out of range", immediately after it starts booting from grub, or does it go for a while before it displays it?

Are you booting with the splash enabled? I would make sure it's disabled.

What resolution is being used for the console portion of the boot? I think M8 used something like 'vga=788' or 'vga=791' by default. Maybe change it to 'vga=ask' and see if it offers a 1440x900 resolution.


I think M8/Lenny used Xorg 7.3 (http://archive.debian.net/lenny/xserver-xorg) so fglrx might be possible, but I'd rather stick with the opensource (radeon) driver.

User avatar
TenderFoot
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 2:34 pm

Re: Radeon 3000 in M8?

#10 Post by TenderFoot » Thu Sep 18, 2014 12:34 pm

I'm not currently risking messing with install but using liveusb!

The "Out of Range" occurs after first splash and progress bar completed. There are then lines of text output that fly past too fast to clock but I think the last visible line is "Srarting Xserver: kdm". It's the same without splash.

xserver-xorg version is 1.7.3+20 and (for example) xserver-xorg-video-mach64 version is 6.8.0.1.

vga=ask does not offer 1440x900 and nor does "scan". In fact none of the offered resolutions are even 16:9 aspect. However, had previously tried vga=867 which I believe is 1440x900 24bit (per http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VESA_BIOS_Extensions) but no joy with that either.

Post Reply

Return to “Video-Related”