-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

disk writes and alsa

Problems with your sound card are to be posted here, as well as tutorials to share with others.
grekim
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

disk writes and alsa

#1 Post by grekim » Wed Mar 19, 2014 10:57 am

Hi, I am a developer of Linux audio software and I have noticed that Mepis does not cause an xrun with ALSA when data gets written to disk. I find this very interesting because plain Debian, Ubuntu, and even Crunch Bang with Openbox will cause an xrun during disk writes with software I am testing. So, it would be great to know what possible optimizations are in place in Mepis that are not in the other distros that might keep a disk write from stepping on ALSA. Aptosid is another Debian based distro that seems to avoid the problem as well. So, if anyone has an idea of what Mepis might have in common with Apstosid, that might be a clue. Thanks!

dolphin_oracle
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran

Re: disk writes and alsa

#2 Post by dolphin_oracle » Wed Mar 19, 2014 11:44 am

I'm not real sure, but do the other distro's you mention use pulse-audio server on top of alsa. MEPIS, antiX, and MX do not use pulse-audio, so that is one potential place to look.
http://www.youtube.com/runwiththedolphin
lenovo ThinkPad T530 - MX-17
lenovo s21e & 100s - antiX-17, MX17(live-usb)
FYI: mx "test" repo is not the same thing as debian testing repo.

lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran

#3 Post by lucky9 » Wed Mar 19, 2014 11:46 am

Welcome to the forum grekim! :welcome:
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain

grekim
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

#4 Post by grekim » Wed Mar 19, 2014 12:51 pm

Thanks for the welcome!