Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Firefox does not start with Athlon XP CPU (Known Issue)

Message
Author
drrdf
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 12:38 pm

Firefox does not start with Athlon XP CPU (Known Issue)

#1 Post by drrdf » Tue Feb 13, 2018 8:05 am

Hi: I wonder whether someone can help me please? I have just installed MX-17 on two 32-bit PCs with Asrock motherboards and AMD XP (1900) CPUs. Everything was supposedly fine upon installation, but immediately after installation Firefox will not run at all and does not give any error message. An attempt to run Thunderbird produces the Mozilla crash fault reporting window. Is this because the 32-bit version of Mx-17 contains the 64-bit Firefox and Thunderbird in error?

What can I do to rectify this? Should I delete both of these Mozilla applications and reinstall them from the Mozilla site directly? How can I do this please? Thanks for your help.

User avatar
dolphin_oracle
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9040
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 1:17 pm

Re: Firefox not opening after update.

#2 Post by dolphin_oracle » Tue Feb 13, 2018 8:44 am

drrdf wrote:Hi: I wonder whether someone can help me please? I have just installed MX-17 on two 32-bit PCs with Asrock motherboards and AMD XP (1900) CPUs. Everything was supposedly fine upon installation, but immediately after installation Firefox will not run at all and does not give any error message. An attempt to run Thunderbird produces the Mozilla crash fault reporting window. Is this because the 32-bit version of Mx-17 contains the 64-bit Firefox and Thunderbird in error?

What can I do to rectify this? Should I delete both of these Mozilla applications and reinstall them from the Mozilla site directly? How can I do this please? Thanks for your help.
please start a separate thread for this topic. When you do, post the output from our "Quick System Info" tool (which will automatically copy a system summary to the clipboard for easy pasting into forum posts) as well as the terminal command

Code: Select all

inxi -f
that's a lower case f.
http://www.youtube.com/runwiththedolphin
lenovo ThinkPad T530 - MX-17
lenovo s21e & 100s - antiX-17, MX17(live-usb)
FYI: mx "test" repo is not the same thing as debian testing repo.

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15938
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: Firefox not opening after update.

#3 Post by Stevo » Tue Feb 13, 2018 4:16 pm

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/yo ... -supported

Your processor does not support SSE2, unfortunately. The standard Pale Moon browser in our repos also requires SSE2, but I build a palemoon-nonsse2 version in my separate, approved by the PM developers, OBS repository that should work on your system.

Add repo to your system:

Code: Select all

sudo echo 'deb http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/stevenpusser/Debian_9.0/ /' > /etc/apt/sources.list.d/palemoon.list
Download and install the repo authorization key to your system:

Code: Select all

wget -nv https://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:stevenpusser/Debian_9.0/Release.key -O Release.key && sudo apt-key add - < Release.key && rm -f Release.key

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install palemoon-nonsse2
But one of the mods needs to snip this section off into a new thread.

Hmmm...I wonder if antiX could use the nonsse2 browser in their repo.

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15938
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: Firefox not opening after update.

#4 Post by Stevo » Tue Feb 13, 2018 4:33 pm

Everything from today in this thread. Title could be "Firefox does not start with Athlon XP CPU"...and we know why it doesn't, so maybe add [Known Issue]

drrdf
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 12:38 pm

Re: Firefox does not start with Athlon XP CPU (Known Issue)

#5 Post by drrdf » Tue Feb 13, 2018 5:56 pm

Thanks for your replies. I note that a new thread has been started so it seems I do not now need to do that?

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 16973
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: Firefox does not start with Athlon XP CPU (Known Issue)

#6 Post by richb » Tue Feb 13, 2018 6:50 pm

drrdf wrote:Thanks for your replies. I note that a new thread has been started so it seems I do not now need to do that?
Correct. Actually the old thread was split and starts with your original post.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 17.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
rokytnji.1
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 742
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 9:06 pm

Re: Firefox does not start with Athlon XP CPU (Known Issue)

#7 Post by rokytnji.1 » Tue Feb 13, 2018 8:54 pm

Code: Select all

Hmmm...I wonder if antiX could use the nonsse2 browser in their repo.
My IBM T23 could. That is for sure.

Code: Select all

System:    Host: biker Kernel: 4.9.75-antix.2-486-smp i686 bits: 32 gcc: 6.3.0 Desktop: IceWM 1.4.2
           Distro: antiX-17_386-full Heather Heyer 24 October 2017
Machine:   Device: laptop System: IBM product: 26474MU serial: N/A
           Mobo: IBM model: 26474MU serial: N/A BIOS: IBM v: 1AET64WW (1.20 ) date: 10/18/2006
Battery    BAT0: charge: 36.9 Wh 99.8% condition: 37.0/56.2 Wh (66%) model: BATSZ IBM-COMPATIBLE status: N/A
CPU:       Single core Mobile Intel Pentium III - M (-UP-) arch: P6 III rev.4 cache: 512 KB
           flags: (pae sse) bmips: 2397 speed: 1200 MHz (max)
Usually using Dillo, Netsurf, Qupzilla, Depending on usage case. No adobe flashplayer installed because of crashes with " illegal instruction"
errors. Like in Qupzilla.

Edit: subscribing to this thread to find it later.

2nd edit. Running Firefox-ESR or Seamonkey from MX package installer hammers my cpu at 100% and slows things way down.

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15938
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: Firefox does not start with Athlon XP CPU (Known Issue)

#8 Post by Stevo » Tue Feb 13, 2018 10:41 pm

You can just download the -nonsse2 deb from the repo, second from the bottom: http://download.opensuse.org/repositori ... _9.0/i386/

User avatar
rokytnji.1
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 742
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 9:06 pm

Re: Firefox does not start with Athlon XP CPU (Known Issue)

#9 Post by rokytnji.1 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 3:12 pm

Stevo wrote:You can just download the -nonsse2 deb from the repo, second from the bottom: http://download.opensuse.org/repositori ... _9.0/i386/
Thanks Stevo

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15938
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: Firefox does not start with Athlon XP CPU (Known Issue)

#10 Post by Stevo » Wed Feb 14, 2018 6:26 pm

Let me know if it works if you try it, I don't get much feedback for that particular version.

Hmmm...don't know why Rich put this thread in the KDE section, too.

Post Reply

Return to “Software / Configuration”