Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

MX 15/16 Repository: The Ksnip Thread

Message
Author
User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22222
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: MX 15/16 Repository: The Ksnip Thread

#11 Post by Jerry3904 » Tue Apr 25, 2017 4:17 pm

In place of xfce4-screenshooter? If yes, might be nice to give it a hotkey (I use Ctrl-K so it's easy to remember).
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 16976
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: MX 15/16 Repository: The Ksnip Thread

#12 Post by richb » Tue Apr 25, 2017 4:39 pm

Why not Print Screen. That is what I do with my screenshot program of choice, shutter.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 17.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22222
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: MX 15/16 Repository: The Ksnip Thread

#13 Post by Jerry3904 » Tue Apr 25, 2017 5:02 pm

If screenshooter is gone, sure
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
dolphin_oracle
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9060
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 1:17 pm

Re: MX 15/16 Repository: The Ksnip Thread

#14 Post by dolphin_oracle » Tue Apr 25, 2017 7:27 pm

I think xfce4-screenshooter stays as the default. ksnip still has a couple of issues, in particular the default naming convention doesn't seem to stick, despite being set in the options.
http://www.youtube.com/runwiththedolphin
lenovo ThinkPad T530 - MX-17
lenovo s21e & 100s - antiX-17, MX17(live-usb)
FYI: mx "test" repo is not the same thing as debian testing repo.

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 16976
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: MX 15/16 Repository: The Ksnip Thread

#15 Post by richb » Tue Apr 25, 2017 7:30 pm

dolphin_oracle wrote:I think xfce4-screenshooter stays as the default. ksnip still has a couple of issues, in particular the default naming convention doesn't seem to stick, despite being set in the options.
Too bad. Shutter is very good, but brings in more libs as I recall.

http://shutter-project.org/preview/screenshots/
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich
SSD Production: MX 17.1
AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, 16 GIG Mem. Three Samsung EVO SSD's 250 GB, 350 GB HD

User avatar
dolphin_oracle
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9060
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 1:17 pm

Re: MX 15/16 Repository: The Ksnip Thread

#16 Post by dolphin_oracle » Tue Apr 25, 2017 7:32 pm

richb wrote:
dolphin_oracle wrote:I think xfce4-screenshooter stays as the default. ksnip still has a couple of issues, in particular the default naming convention doesn't seem to stick, despite being set in the options.
Too bad. Shutter is very good, but brings in more libs as I recall.

http://shutter-project.org/preview/screenshots/
don't get me wrong, I've totally gone to ksnip for my default screen capture tool. I've even remapped it to PrtScrn. But I'm not ready to make it the the default on MX.

You might find a new entry in mx-packageinstaller graphics though by next release.
http://www.youtube.com/runwiththedolphin
lenovo ThinkPad T530 - MX-17
lenovo s21e & 100s - antiX-17, MX17(live-usb)
FYI: mx "test" repo is not the same thing as debian testing repo.

User avatar
mmikeinsantarosa
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2322
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 10:12 am

Re: MX 15/16 Repository: The Ksnip Thread

#17 Post by mmikeinsantarosa » Mon May 22, 2017 9:53 pm

ksnip-1.3.1 has been moved to main. This little guy sure comes in handy.

Thanks TIm
- mike
LT: MX17.1 Quad Core model: Intel Core i7-6820HQ Kernel: 4.16.0-12.1-liquorix-amd64 (64 bit)
DT: Intel(R) Core i5-3.1GHz Kernel~3.9-1-mepis64 x86_64

User avatar
dporobic
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2017 4:06 am

Re: MX 15/16 Repository: The Ksnip Thread

#18 Post by dporobic » Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:21 am

Hi All,

I'm looking for someone who could test latest ksnip features which are part of release 1.4.0.

Alpha could be found here: https://github.com/DamirPorobic/ksnip/tree/v1.4.0
What's new: https://github.com/DamirPorobic/ksnip/i ... e%3Av1.4.0

More stuff will follow in next couple of days and I'm accepting feature requests :happy:

Cheers,
Damir

User avatar
asqwerth
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3084
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 5:37 am

Re: MX 15/16 Repository: The Ksnip Thread

#19 Post by asqwerth » Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:41 am

dporobic wrote:Hi All,

I'm looking for someone who could test latest ksnip features which are part of release 1.4.0.

Alpha could be found here: https://github.com/DamirPorobic/ksnip/tree/v1.4.0
What's new: https://github.com/DamirPorobic/ksnip/i ... e%3Av1.4.0

More stuff will follow in next couple of days and I'm accepting feature requests :happy:

Cheers,
Damir
Hi dporobic,

Thanks for ksnip. I did try to make the package for 1.4.0 above but I ran into problems. Error message in terminal states:

Code: Select all

 cmake ..
CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:8 (find_package):
  Could not find a package configuration file provided by "Qt5" (requested
  version 5.4.0) with any of the following names:

    Qt5Config.cmake
    qt5-config.cmake

  Add the installation prefix of "Qt5" to CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH or set "Qt5_DIR"
  to a directory containing one of the above files.  If "Qt5" provides a
  separate development package or SDK, be sure it has been installed.


-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
See also "/home/tuaztest/ksnip-1.4.0/build/CMakeFiles/CMakeOutput.log".
Unfortunately that's about the limit of my knowledge on how to build a package from source, so for now, version 1.3.1 (latest stable version) in the MX17 repos is what I am using as I test MX17 Beta2.

And for ksnip 1.3.1, I am reporting that issue #34 (see: https://github.com/DamirPorobic/ksnip/issues/34 ) relating to the whole screen turning black and opaque if compositing is not turned on, also affects XFCE just like it does KDE Plasma per the reported issue.
Desktop: Intel i5-4460, 16GB RAM, Intel integrated graphics
Clevo N130WU-based Ultrabook: Intel i7-8550U (Kaby Lake R), 16GB RAM, Intel integrated graphics (UEFI)
ASUS X42D laptop: AMD Phenom II, 6GB RAM, Mobility Radeon HD 5400

User avatar
dporobic
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2017 4:06 am

Re: MX 15/16 Repository: The Ksnip Thread

#20 Post by dporobic » Wed Nov 22, 2017 1:25 pm

Hi asqwerth,
that looks like cmake can't find Qt5Config, do you have qt5 installed or are you using still qt4? ksnip 1.4.0 was moved to qt5.

Regarding the other issue, that is currently at the top of my todo list, hopefully I will have something to share in next couple of days.

Regards,
Damir

Post Reply

Return to “Package Requests/Status - MX-15/16”