Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Mepis Network Assistant

Help for Current Versions of Mepis
Message
Author
User avatar
ptlivestock
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 6:28 pm

Mepis Network Assistant

#1 Post by ptlivestock » Wed Apr 06, 2016 11:37 pm

I cannot access the "Automatic" mode on thr Mepis Network Assistant and thus cannot get on line It was working quite satisfactorily but was switched to "Manual" during problems being experienced with a recently installed broadband Nano link. Can anyone assist please

Peter

User avatar
ptlivestock
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 6:28 pm

Re: Mepis Network Assistant

#2 Post by ptlivestock » Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:18 am

i note this problem has happened to others and see that by installing Ceni that it can be resolved. Ceni is noted in available in my synaptic but of course i anm not connected and and download it

User avatar
Richard
Posts: 2028
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:31 am

Re: Mepis Network Assistant

#3 Post by Richard » Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:24 am

Please post the output of inxi -Fxzdpluo inside tags.
That sounds like an antiX program, so more info will be useful.
MX171 on Lenovo T430-2017: i5-3320M, 8 GBRAM, 4.15.0-1-amd64, intel_pstate, 119GB SSD
MX171 on AA1(ZG5) & EeePC-1005ha: Dual Core N270, 1 GBRAM, 4.15.0-1-686-pae, 150GB HDD
DC9, LibO61, Dbox, PM, FF, mPDFed, CherryT, Vbox. __ Linux Counter #208633

User avatar
ptlivestock
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 6:28 pm

Re: Mepis Network Assistant

#4 Post by ptlivestock » Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:31 am

i am using Mepis 11 not AntiX. The hardware problem for my internet link was not associated with my computer. This computer I am writing to you on is coupled through the same router and Nano link. and is working perfectly. the problem is that I hit the "Manual" button on the Network Assistant and that the "Automatic" button is now disabled
Last edited by ptlivestock on Thu Apr 07, 2016 1:48 am, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
Richard
Posts: 2028
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:31 am

Re: Mepis Network Assistant

#5 Post by Richard » Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:37 am

OK. Do you have inxi?
If not it is available from here: https://github.com/smxi/inxi
Probably inxi -Fzn will give sufficient info.
MX171 on Lenovo T430-2017: i5-3320M, 8 GBRAM, 4.15.0-1-amd64, intel_pstate, 119GB SSD
MX171 on AA1(ZG5) & EeePC-1005ha: Dual Core N270, 1 GBRAM, 4.15.0-1-686-pae, 150GB HDD
DC9, LibO61, Dbox, PM, FF, mPDFed, CherryT, Vbox. __ Linux Counter #208633

User avatar
ptlivestock
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 6:28 pm

Re: Mepis Network Assistant

#6 Post by ptlivestock » Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:46 am

Richard wrote:OK. Do you have inxi?
If not it is available from here: https://github.com/smxi/inxi
Probably inxi -Fzn will give sufficient info.
Please note the edited version of my previous message

Thanking you for your consideration

User avatar
Richard
Posts: 2028
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:31 am

Re: Mepis Network Assistant

#7 Post by Richard » Thu Apr 07, 2016 1:10 am

Yes, you're right.
Apologies for the oversight.
That is a dilema.

Soon, someone will be awake who has Mepis 11 running.

Imagine purge and reinstall Network Assistant might help,
but you need the deb to install.

mc will let you install a deb --press Enter on the deb, then Install.
It used to work for me on Mepis.
MX171 on Lenovo T430-2017: i5-3320M, 8 GBRAM, 4.15.0-1-amd64, intel_pstate, 119GB SSD
MX171 on AA1(ZG5) & EeePC-1005ha: Dual Core N270, 1 GBRAM, 4.15.0-1-686-pae, 150GB HDD
DC9, LibO61, Dbox, PM, FF, mPDFed, CherryT, Vbox. __ Linux Counter #208633

User avatar
Utopia
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3752
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 11:53 am

Re: Mepis Network Assistant

#8 Post by Utopia » Thu Apr 07, 2016 2:29 am

My M11 network manager is also stuck on manual. The difference is that it's working perfectly with static DNS and a wired connection.
Don't have a solution.
Henry

User avatar
ptlivestock
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 6:28 pm

Re: Mepis Network Assistant

#9 Post by ptlivestock » Thu Apr 07, 2016 5:23 am

Utopia wrote:My M11 network manager is also stuck on manual. The difference is that it's working perfectly with static DNS and a wired connection.
Don't have a solution.
Henry
Somehow I have achieved the same status. That is being stuck on manual but with static DNS. I tried to set the Domain name to uses DHCP on the general tab and then the same on the Interface tab and applied the changes... the eth1 then became active and it was all go on the web browser. However when I reopened the Network Assistant both tabs had returned to Static IP settings yet the connection was still active. The mind boggles ;-)

User avatar
Richard
Posts: 2028
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:31 am

Re: Mepis Network Assistant

#10 Post by Richard » Fri Apr 08, 2016 8:59 pm

Well, Peter, this may be a long shot, don't know if rfkill is available in Mepis 11.
If so, in a terminal, as root or sudo or su

Code: Select all

rfkill wlan0
This purports to deactivate the software wireless interface.
At least it might get you off of "manual".
MX171 on Lenovo T430-2017: i5-3320M, 8 GBRAM, 4.15.0-1-amd64, intel_pstate, 119GB SSD
MX171 on AA1(ZG5) & EeePC-1005ha: Dual Core N270, 1 GBRAM, 4.15.0-1-686-pae, 150GB HDD
DC9, LibO61, Dbox, PM, FF, mPDFed, CherryT, Vbox. __ Linux Counter #208633

Post Reply

Return to “Mepis Help”