Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

MX-14.2 boot I get black screen with one ICON "install"

If you are having a problem with getting any of your computer's hardware to work with MEPIS or you can't find the right driver, this is the forum to use. It's for newbies and regular users to post questions. Just make sure to post what hardware you are having problems with, in the subject and not just in the post's text area, please.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
namida12
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1786
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:54 pm

MX-14.2 boot I get black screen with one ICON "install"

#1 Post by namida12 » Tue Sep 09, 2014 2:07 pm

I am on Another Computer, trying to boot the system with MX-14.2.

HP P4GV-LA, Asus P4GV-LA socket 478 motherboard.

I can not be specific, but believe this motherboard was made by Asus for HP, and has Intel graphics.

Right clicking on the screen does not bring a menu that i can see, but the CD starts flashing being read, to load?

Is there a cheat code I might use for this motherboard integrated video...



I got some of the desktop background to show when right clicking on the screen, where the menu opened. Then I was able to open iceweasel, and where ever I dragged that screen it wiped the black away and i had a normal screen.

Now I get a cryptic menu, most of the letters are not readable some are, but comparing a working system menu, I was able to guess about menu position and manged to open a terminal window...

demo@mx1:~/Desktop
$ inxi -G
Graphics: Card: Intel 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Integrated Graphics Device
Display Server: X.Org 1.12.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
Resolution: 1920x1080@60.0hz
GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel 845G x86/MMX/SSE2
GLX Version: 1.3 Mesa 8.0.5
demo@mx1:~/Desktop
$ inxi -f
CPU: Single core Intel Celeron (-UP-) cache: 256 KB clocked at 2799 MHz
CPU Flags: acpi apic bts cid clflush cmov constant_tsc cx8 de
ds_cpl dtes64 dts fpu fxsr ht mca mce mmx monitor msr mtrr pae pat
pbe pebs pge pni pse pse36 sep ss sse sse2 tm tsc vme xtpr
demo@mx1:~/Desktop


JR

User avatar
namida12
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1786
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:54 pm

Re: MX-14.2 boot I get black screen with one ICON "install"

#2 Post by namida12 » Tue Sep 09, 2014 2:35 pm

I am going to burn another CD, and then trey to install and see what happens...

Burned another CD, get same black screen with one icon "install"

Bios: 3.05 - 03/09/2005

When I can get iceweasel open then I can erase the black and see the entire screen including panel...
Odd video behavior for me, I will add a hard drive and install to see what happens...

JR
Last edited by namida12 on Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Adrian
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 8877
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am

Re: MX-14.2 boot I get black screen with one ICON "install"

#3 Post by Adrian » Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:10 pm

Here are the cheatcodes: http://www.mepiscommunity.org/doc_mx/ad ... codes.html

Try I guess one of these:
xdrvr=vesa
xdrvr=fbdev

User avatar
anticapitalista
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 5693
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 10:40 am

Re: MX-14.2 boot I get black screen with one ICON "install"

#4 Post by anticapitalista » Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:18 pm

Try F4 safe option at boot screen
anticapitalista
Reg. linux user #395339.

Philosophers have interpreted the world in many ways; the point is to change it.

antiX-17 "Heather Heyer" - lean and mean.
https://antixlinux.com

User avatar
uncle mark
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4972
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm

Re: MX-14.2 boot I get black screen with one ICON "install"

#5 Post by uncle mark » Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:22 pm

namida12 wrote: $ inxi -f
CPU: Single core Intel Celeron (-UP-) cache: 256 KB clocked at 2799 MHz
CPU Flags: acpi apic bts cid clflush cmov constant_tsc cx8 de
ds_cpl dtes64 dts fpu fxsr ht mca mce mmx monitor msr mtrr pae pat
pbe pebs pge pni pse pse36 sep ss sse sse2 tm tsc vme xtpr
demo@mx1:~/Desktop


JR
How much memory?
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MEPIS 11
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 -- MX-15
Assorted junk: assorted Linuxes

User avatar
kmathern
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9318
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm

Re: MX-14.2 boot I get black screen with one ICON "install"

#6 Post by kmathern » Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:31 pm

namida12 wrote: $ inxi -f
CPU: Single core Intel Celeron (-UP-) cache: 256 KB clocked at 2799 MHz
CPU Flags: acpi apic bts cid clflush cmov constant_tsc cx8 de
ds_cpl dtes64 dts fpu fxsr ht mca mce mmx monitor msr mtrr pae pat
pbe pebs pge pni pse pse36 sep ss sse sse2 tm tsc vme xtpr
demo@mx1:~/Desktop
"inxi -F" (uppercase "F") will give a lot more details

User avatar
namida12
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1786
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:54 pm

Re: MX-14.2 boot I get black screen with one ICON "install"

#7 Post by namida12 » Wed Sep 10, 2014 10:46 am

uncle mark wrote:
How much memory?
Funny you asked that question. I had a 512 stick of memory in the motherboard yesterday, and replaced it with two matching 512 sticks this morning and now I have 32 MB of memory.

Guess I made a rookie mistake and got low density mixed up with high density memory in this system. Unfortunately I still have not located another stick of 512 low density to increase the available memory.

Looking in the bios, I can choose 4 or 8 MB for the on-board video, believe that may be the problem. The motherboard has three PCI slots, and no AGP, or PCTs
http://tinyurl.com/mkbqzlk

JR

User avatar
jdmeaux1952
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:55 pm

Re: MX-14.2 boot I get black screen with one ICON "install"

#8 Post by jdmeaux1952 » Wed Sep 10, 2014 3:36 pm

namida12 wrote:
uncle mark wrote:
How much memory?
Funny you asked that question. I had a 512 stick of memory in the motherboard yesterday, and replaced it with two matching 512 sticks this morning and now I have 32 MB of memory.

Guess I made a rookie mistake and got low density mixed up with high density memory in this system. Unfortunately I still have not located another stick of 512 low density to increase the available memory....
Info about your computer http://h20565.www2.hp.com/portal/site/h ... cachetoken

If it is only showing 32MB memory, I would suspect a bad memory module or slot. The DDR 333 modules should fit (about $24 at Newegg.com)
MSI S6000 i5-460M 4Gb mem
I am not CrAzY. And I have a paper from the doctors to prove it!
LRU# 563815
Phear the Penguin

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware General”