Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

How can I fix this graphic glitch?

Message
Author
Mich-C
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 1:11 pm

How can I fix this graphic glitch?

#1 Post by Mich-C » Thu Nov 01, 2018 12:17 pm

Hi guys!
MX Linux presents a very annoying graphic glitch on my laptop, it is noticeable when I move and resize windows and even when I watch videos causing shots.
I'm using MX 17.1 but I got the same problem on MX 16
Download this 10 seconds video to understand what I'm talking about ( glitch is not caused by Andorid Studio)
How can I solve this problem?

My configuration:

Code: Select all

System:
  Host: michele Kernel: 4.15.0-1-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3 
  Distro: MX-17.1_x64 Horizon March 14, 2018 
Machine:
  Type: Laptop System: Hewlett-Packard product: HP ProBook 455 G2 
  v: A3009DD10303 serial: <root required> 
  Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 2235 v: KBC Version 66.20 
  serial: <root required> BIOS: Hewlett-Packard v: M75 Ver. 01.30 
  date: 03/10/2015 
Battery:
  ID-1: BAT0 charge: 5.4 Wh condition: 30.9/30.9 Wh (100%) 
CPU:
  Topology: Quad Core model: AMD A10-7300 Radeon R6 10 Compute Cores 4C+6G 
  bits: 64 type: MCP L2 cache: 2048 KiB 
  Speed: 1158 MHz min/max: 1100/1900 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1340 2: 1326 
  3: 1415 4: 1407 
Graphics:
  Card-1: AMD Kaveri [Radeon R6 Graphics] driver: radeon v: kernel 
  Card-2: AMD Topaz PRO [Radeon R5 M255] driver: amdgpu v: kernel 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.2 driver: amdgpu,ati,radeon 
  unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa resolution: 1366x768~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD KAVERI (DRM 2.50.0 / 4.15.0-1-amd64 
  LLVM 3.9.1) 
  v: 4.3 Mesa 13.0.6 
Audio:
  Card-1: AMD Kaveri HDMI/DP Audio driver: snd_hda_intel 
  Card-2: AMD FCH Azalia driver: snd_hda_intel 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-1-amd64 
Network:
  Card-1: Realtek RTL8723BE PCIe Wireless Network Adapter driver: rtl8723be 
  IF: wlan0 state: up mac: 70:77:81:49:55:7b 
Drives:
  HDD Total Size: 931.51 GiB used: 43.67 GiB (4.7%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Toshiba model: MQ01ABD100 size: 931.51 GiB 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 618.36 GiB used: 43.67 GiB (7.1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 85.0 C mobo: 42.0 C gpu: radeon temp: 44 C 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Repos:
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/antix.list 
  1: deb http://ftp.cc.uoc.gr/mirrors/linux/mx/antix/stretch stretch main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian-stable-updates.list 
  1: deb http://ftp.it.debian.org/debian/ stretch-updates main contrib non-free
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian.list 
  1: deb http://ftp.it.debian.org/debian/ stretch main contrib non-free
  2: deb http://security.debian.org/ stretch/updates main contrib non-free
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/mx.list 
  1: deb http://ftp.cc.uoc.gr/mirrors/linux/mx/mx/repo/ stretch main non-free
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/opera-stable.list 
  1: deb https://deb.opera.com/opera-stable/ stable non-free #Opera Browser (final releases)
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/skype-stable.list 
  1: deb [arch=amd64] https://repo.skype.com/deb stable main
  No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/various.list 
Info:
  Processes: 208 Uptime: 21m Memory: 6.82 GiB used: 1.24 GiB (18.1%) 
  Shell: bash inxi: 3.0.10 

User avatar
dreamer
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 11:34 am

Re: How can I fix this graphic glitch?

#2 Post by dreamer » Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:30 pm

You can disable sync to vblank.

Whisker menu > Settings Manager > Window Manager Tweaks > Synchronize drawing to the vertical blank (disable)

It might improve or not. Anyway it's probably related to kernel/drivers. I don't think xfwm has much to do with it. Not even Windows can move windows without tearing.

(You have more tearing than I have - also AMD, but without sync to vblank enabled - but on the other hand all my GTK3 apps render black initially when launched. Recent GTK3 apps have always behaved like that on this computer no matter what kernel or distro I use. Last properly rendering GTK3 apps were GTK 3.10 or something like that.)

I don't want to belittle your problem, but I think it's just how it is. You could of course try a different window manager. My guess is that the problems lie deeper, kernel/driver space so maybe try a different kernel or even a different distro just to see if you experience the same thing.

User avatar
sanlav
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 10:03 pm

Re: How can I fix this graphic glitch?

#3 Post by sanlav » Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:58 pm

I saw an error : AMD A10-7300 contains only 1 graphic card, an R6 not 2, R6 + R5. I checked AMD site and seems like your card is supported by the actual driver so I would install to test the proprietary driver.
For example, my card :
$ inxi -Gxx
Graphics: Card-1: NVIDIA GK208B [GeForce GT 730] driver: nvidia v: 384.130 bus ID: 01:00.0
chip ID: 10de:1287
Display: server: X.Org 1.16.4 driver: nvidia resolution: 1366x768~60Hz
OpenGL: renderer: GeForce GT 730/PCIe/SSE2 v: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 384.130 direct render: Yes

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 16624
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: How can I fix this graphic glitch?

#4 Post by Stevo » Thu Nov 01, 2018 4:12 pm

It looks like the desktop machine has both integrated and a discrete GPU, but I'm not sure which one is the AMD KAVERI.

Getting rid of tearing might be a complicated dance between the kernel, Mesa version, amdgpu driver version, and the particular compositor if it's in use.

Mich-C
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 1:11 pm

Re: How can I fix this graphic glitch?

#5 Post by Mich-C » Thu Nov 01, 2018 7:36 pm

Stevo wrote:
Thu Nov 01, 2018 4:12 pm
It looks like the desktop machine has both integrated and a discrete GPU, but I'm not sure which one is the AMD KAVERI.
sanlav wrote:
Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:58 pm
I saw an error : AMD A10-7300 contains only 1 graphic card, an R6 not 2, R6 + R5.
Well, I' ll try to clarify:

1) About my GPUs and their drivers

Code: Select all

Card-1: AMD Kaveri [Radeon R6 Graphics] driver: radeon v: kernel 
  Card-2: AMD Topaz PRO [Radeon R5 M255] driver: amdgpu v: kernel 
I checked on Windows: The r6 is the integrated GPU of my laptop (1gb), while the r7 is the dedicated GPU (2gb). (If you want I can include many other infos)
As far as I understood "driver: radeon" means that the gpu is using the open source driver, while "driver: amdgpu" means that the gpu is using the proprietary driver. So in my case, as sanlav adviced, I should install the proprietary driver for the integrated r6 (If anyone can guide me it would be fantastic)


2)About Kernel
I tryed several lightweight distros in live mode on this computer: I tryed Slitaz, ArchBang and a first version of debian 9, and the problem was also present on their "outdated" kernels... So I think the best idea is to upgrade my kernel from 4.15 to 4.18. The new kernel really makes the difference on AMD laptop like mine. (at least they finally included very requested support for my wifi-card, quite problematic too)


3) About Mesa and compositor
Stevo wrote:
Thu Nov 01, 2018 4:12 pm
Mesa version (...) and the particular compositor if it's in use
From what I knew Mesa is a 3d graphics library so it should affect just videogames and 3d programs. But I just read that a display server like Xorg COULD use openGL and consequently Mesa... (use 3d for 2d? correct me If I'm wrong)



4) About Windows Managers and Compositor
dreamer wrote:
Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:30 pm
You could of course try a different window manager.
Do you mean a different Desktop Environment? Or exactly a window manager "under" the DE?
Stevo wrote:
Thu Nov 01, 2018 4:12 pm
and the particular compositor if it's in use
I've never heard about "compositing window manager" , I don't even know their names, I 'll need to find infos...

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 16624
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: How can I fix this graphic glitch?

#6 Post by Stevo » Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:55 pm

There isn't really a proprietary driver for AMD cards, you have radeon or amdgpu if your GPU supports it.

There are choices for compositing...you can try xfwm's built-in one, Compton, or another window manager such as Kwin or compiz that has it built-in. All of those can be tweaked.

User avatar
sanlav
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 10:03 pm

Re: How can I fix this graphic glitch?

#7 Post by sanlav » Fri Nov 02, 2018 1:59 am

The proprietary AMD driver is called fglrx.
I would also install the dkms module, just to be sure everything would go fine.
I don't have an Radeon card at the moment.

Mich-C
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 1:11 pm

Choosing drivers

#8 Post by Mich-C » Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:30 am

dreamer wrote:
Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:30 pm
Whisker menu > Settings Manager > Window Manager Tweaks > Synchronize drawing to the vertical blank (disable)
Hi dreamer, I forgot to thank you in my previous post :) My MX doesn't use any particular compositor at all, from the same setting manager I also enabled the default MX compositor with that option disabled but situation is the same...


Hi Stevo, thanks for advicing me other window managers, I' ll try them for sure!
Returning to drivers:
Stevo wrote:
Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:55 pm
There isn't really a proprietary driver for AMD cards, you have radeon or amdgpu if your GPU supports it.
sanlav wrote:
Fri Nov 02, 2018 1:59 am
The proprietary AMD driver is called fglrx.
Well well :happy: Today I done research on the arch linux wiki and on the official AMD website.
Yes, you're right, there are 2 open source drivers: amdgpu and radeon, but also the proprietary driver fglrx that compared to the radeon offers "worse 2d rendering but better power management"

I backed up my data and I' ll like to test all three driver for both my cards!
So I reached the AMD website in search for proprietary driver and there I found the driver for my integrated card R5 255.
While the other proprietary driver for my discrete GPU is not in list! I see just "R7 m260x" and not "R7 m260dx" !
Is it possible that this discrete gpu doesn't have a linux driver at all?? This could also explain why Windows detects and uses it, while MX terminal doesn't show any "R7 m260dx" !

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 16624
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: How can I fix this graphic glitch?

#9 Post by Stevo » Fri Nov 02, 2018 3:51 pm

AMD abandoned the Linux proprietary fglrx driver quite some time ago in favor of going open source with amdgpu, and it will no longer build on the xorg libraries available in MX 17. We still have it available for MX 15/16, though.

Somebody on the Debian forums reported success with a /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-amdgpu.conf file, it seems:

http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php? ... 95#p683892

Code: Select all

Section "Device"
        Identifier "AMD Graphics"
        Driver "amdgpu"
        Option "TearFree" "yes"
EndSection

Mich-C
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 1:11 pm

Re: How can I fix this graphic glitch?

#10 Post by Mich-C » Fri Nov 02, 2018 4:33 pm

Stevo wrote:
Fri Nov 02, 2018 3:51 pm
AMD abandoned the Linux proprietary fglrx driver quite some time ago in favor of going open source with amdgpu, and it will no longer build on the xorg libraries available in MX 17. We still have it available for MX 15/16, though.
Oh.... So that's why on MX 16 i could use the graphic tool "install driver for AMD" and now I don't see it anymore? Woah!
Stevo wrote:
Fri Nov 02, 2018 3:51 pm
Somebody on the Debian forums reported success with a /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-amdgpu.conf file, it seems:
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php? ... 95#p683892

Code: Select all

Section "Device"
        Identifier "AMD Graphics"
        Driver "amdgpu"
        Option "TearFree" "yes"
EndSection
Many thanks, but I opened with root privileges that directory and I found just 2 files, one is the synaptic.conf and the other is 10-evdev.conf that contains this text:

Code: Select all

#
# Catch-all evdev loader for udev-based systems
# We don't simply match on any device since that also adds accelerometers
# and other devices that we don't really want to use. The list below
# matches everything but joysticks.

Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "evdev pointer catchall"
        MatchIsPointer "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
        Driver "evdev"
EndSection

Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "evdev keyboard catchall"
        MatchIsKeyboard "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
        Driver "evdev"
EndSection

Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "evdev touchpad catchall"
        MatchIsTouchpad "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
        Driver "evdev"
EndSection

Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "evdev tablet catchall"
        MatchIsTablet "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
        Driver "evdev"
EndSection

Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "evdev touchscreen catchall"
        MatchIsTouchscreen "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
        Driver "evdev"
EndSection

Post Reply

Return to “Software / Configuration”