Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

After (re)boot audio settings back to default, no sound over HDMI

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
nomko
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 3:00 pm

After (re)boot audio settings back to default, no sound over HDMI

#1 Post by nomko » Wed Oct 31, 2018 4:21 am

Hello,

I set up my daughters laptop with MX 17.1 with the ability to have it connected to the television using HDMI. Setting up the display/screen settings is not a big issues, that's done. The laptop is most of the times connected to a tv set using a HDMI cable.

Here's the problem:
The first time when i connected the laptop to the tv i was able to set everything up correctly: sound and screen. But whenever the laptop is booted up or rebooted, the audio setting is set back to the default output: laptop speakers. After each (re)boot i need to set up sound output to HDMI manually in the volume settings tool. This is kinda annoying after a few days running MX. It is also strange that MX is setting it back to default on its own knowing i never experienced this issue with another distro (Linux Mint).

The question:
How can i set the audio output to HDMI and keep it fixed on HDMI output? Am i missing something here? Or looking over something which is there in the configuration screen?

Some basic info about the audio device:

Code: Select all

Device-1: Intel 5 Series/3400 Series High Definition Audio
Thanks for your help!
Acer TravelMate-5742Z : running MX-17.1 / BIOS date: 18-11-2010

In 2007 my Windows XP based system informed me to update the system. So, i installed Linux

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22709
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: After (re)boot audio settings back to default, no sound over HDMI

#2 Post by Jerry3904 » Wed Oct 31, 2018 6:36 am

Not in MX right now, but you could always put the settings into a small script that runs at boot. We can give you details if you choose that method.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
nomko
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 3:00 pm

Re: After (re)boot audio settings back to default, no sound over HDMI

#3 Post by nomko » Wed Oct 31, 2018 6:40 am

Jerry3904 wrote:
Wed Oct 31, 2018 6:36 am
Not in MX right now, but you could always put the settings into a small script that runs at boot. We can give you details if you choose that method.
Jerry,

Thanks! If that script can make my life easier i like to receive that script. Thanks again!
Acer TravelMate-5742Z : running MX-17.1 / BIOS date: 18-11-2010

In 2007 my Windows XP based system informed me to update the system. So, i installed Linux

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22709
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: After (re)boot audio settings back to default, no sound over HDMI

#4 Post by Jerry3904 » Wed Oct 31, 2018 7:42 am

Please post the settings you need
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
nomko
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 3:00 pm

Re: After (re)boot audio settings back to default, no sound over HDMI

#5 Post by nomko » Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:02 pm

Jerry3904 wrote:
Wed Oct 31, 2018 7:42 am
Please post the settings you need
Not sure what youre asking for but i like to have sound over HDMI when i connect the laptop to the tv using HDMI. At this moment i habe to change the setting manually each time i connect the laptop to the tv with HDMI
Acer TravelMate-5742Z : running MX-17.1 / BIOS date: 18-11-2010

In 2007 my Windows XP based system informed me to update the system. So, i installed Linux

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22709
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: After (re)boot audio settings back to default, no sound over HDMI

#6 Post by Jerry3904 » Fri Nov 02, 2018 4:52 pm

Can you please post back the output of this command as regular user:

Code: Select all

aplay -l
I have a script that I think will work, but need to know what your system has.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
nomko
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 3:00 pm

Re: After (re)boot audio settings back to default, no sound over HDMI

#7 Post by nomko » Thu Nov 08, 2018 1:31 pm

Jerry3904 wrote:
Fri Nov 02, 2018 4:52 pm
Can you please post back the output
Here you go:

Code: Select all

$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: MID [HDA Intel MID], device 0: ALC272X Analog [ALC272X Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: MID [HDA Intel MID], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Code: Select all

$ aplay -L
default
    Playback/recording through the PulseAudio sound server
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
sysdefault:CARD=MID
    HDA Intel MID, ALC272X Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=MID,DEV=0
    HDA Intel MID, ALC272X Analog
    Front speakers
surround21:CARD=MID,DEV=0
    HDA Intel MID, ALC272X Analog
    2.1 Surround output to Front and Subwoofer speakers
surround40:CARD=MID,DEV=0
    HDA Intel MID, ALC272X Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=MID,DEV=0
    HDA Intel MID, ALC272X Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=MID,DEV=0
    HDA Intel MID, ALC272X Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=MID,DEV=0
    HDA Intel MID, ALC272X Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=MID,DEV=0
    HDA Intel MID, ALC272X Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
hdmi:CARD=MID,DEV=0
    HDA Intel MID, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
dmix:CARD=MID,DEV=0
    HDA Intel MID, ALC272X Analog
    Direct sample mixing device
dmix:CARD=MID,DEV=3
    HDA Intel MID, HDMI 0
    Direct sample mixing device
dsnoop:CARD=MID,DEV=0
    HDA Intel MID, ALC272X Analog
    Direct sample snooping device
dsnoop:CARD=MID,DEV=3
    HDA Intel MID, HDMI 0
    Direct sample snooping device
hw:CARD=MID,DEV=0
    HDA Intel MID, ALC272X Analog
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
hw:CARD=MID,DEV=3
    HDA Intel MID, HDMI 0
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
plughw:CARD=MID,DEV=0
    HDA Intel MID, ALC272X Analog
    Hardware device with all software conversions
plughw:CARD=MID,DEV=3
    HDA Intel MID, HDMI 0
    Hardware device with all software conversions

Acer TravelMate-5742Z : running MX-17.1 / BIOS date: 18-11-2010

In 2007 my Windows XP based system informed me to update the system. So, i installed Linux

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2068
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: After (re)boot audio settings back to default, no sound over HDMI

#8 Post by fehlix » Thu Nov 08, 2018 8:06 pm

nomko wrote:
Wed Oct 31, 2018 4:21 am
The first time when i connected the laptop to the tv i was able to set everything up correctly: sound and screen.
As there are many ways to do it, could you actualy describe how you set up this correctly?
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22709
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: After (re)boot audio settings back to default, no sound over HDMI

#9 Post by Jerry3904 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 8:36 pm

I was thinking this script in this GitHub repo might work for you:

https://gist.github.com/3v1n0/ad3ad73e0 ... b3aa376285

And here is a deb you can download and install that sounds pretty good:

http://jeffhoogland.blogspot.com/2014/0 ... o-out.html
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
fehlix
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2068
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: After (re)boot audio settings back to default, no sound over HDMI

#10 Post by fehlix » Thu Nov 08, 2018 8:59 pm

Jerry3904 wrote:
Thu Nov 08, 2018 8:36 pm
I was thinking this script in this GitHub repo might work for you:

https://gist.github.com/3v1n0/ad3ad73e0 ... b3aa376285

And here is a deb you can download and install that sounds pretty good:

http://jeffhoogland.blogspot.com/2014/0 ... o-out.html
+1 :cool:
Gigabyte Z77M-D3H, Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 (Quad core), 32GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 770, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

Post Reply

Return to “Software / Configuration”