Welcome!

The kernel problem with recent updates has been solved. Find the solution here

Important information
-- Required MX 15/16 Repository Changes
-- Information on torrent hosting changes
-- Information on MX15/16 GPG Keys
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities

News
-- Introducing our new Website
-- MX Linux on social media: here

Current releases
-- MX-18.3 Point Release release info here
-- Migration Information to MX-18 here
-- antiX-17.4.1 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Terminator: Howto change default size

Post Reply
User avatar
c4os
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 12:28 pm

Terminator: Howto change default size

#1

Post by c4os » Tue Oct 02, 2018 6:50 am

Hi MX Friends,

I played arround with Terminator terminal multiplexer and I love it.
The nice features are to split the terminal windows horizontal and vertical.

But the default size of the windows was to small for me and I searched a while before I found a good configuration.

This I want to share.

The config is stored at “~/.config/terminator/config”.
Here's my config:

Code: Select all

[global_config]
  geometry_hinting = True
[keybindings]
[layouts]
  [[default]]
    [[[child1]]]
      parent = window0
      profile = default
      type = Terminal
    [[[window0]]]
      parent = ""
      type = Window
      profile = None
      size = 1200, 700

[plugins]
[profiles]
  [[default]]
    cursor_color = "#aaaaaa"
  [[rabe]]
    cursor_color = "#aaaaaa"
Where "size = 1200, 700" is the parameter for the terminal window.

Beste keybindings are:
Ctrl+Shift+O
Split terminals Horizontally.

Ctrl+Shift+E
Split terminals Vertically.

Alt+Up Move to the terminal above the current one.

Alt+Down
Move to the terminal below the current one.

Alt+Left
Move to the terminal left of the current one.

Alt+Right
Move to the terminal right of the current one.

Ctrl+PageDown
Move to next Tab.

Ctrl+PageUp
Move to previous Tab.

Alt+Up Move to the terminal above the current one.

Alt+Down
Move to the terminal below the current one.

Alt+Left
Move to the terminal left of the current one.

Alt+Right
Move to the terminal right of the current one.

Ctrl+PageDown
Move to next Tab.

Ctrl+Tab
Switch to the next Terminal.
Powered on: MX 17 Horizon x86_64
Hardware: Dell Latitude E4300 - CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo P9600 (2) @ 2.535GHz - Memory: 4GB
Style: Resolution: 1280x800 - WM Theme: Balou - Theme: Blackbird [GTK2/3] - Icons: Papirus-Dark [GTK2]

User avatar
PondLife
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 12:24 pm

Re: Terminator: Howto change default size

#2

Post by PondLife » Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:03 am

Thanks for the config info c4os. I had used the standard terminal with tmux installed but as the split terminal was the main function that I needed, found that Terminator suited me better.

User avatar
c4os
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: Terminator: Howto change default size

#3

Post by c4os » Wed Oct 03, 2018 5:54 am

PondLife wrote:
Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:03 am
Thanks for the config info c4os. I had used the standard terminal with tmux installed but as the split terminal was the main function that I needed, found that Terminator suited me better.
Same to me. I found a post on a german blog side about a script called "hollywood", which shows terminals of hacker screen in films like Mission Impossible, based on tmux and Byobu.
https://linuxundich.de/gnu-linux/hollyw ... -filmreif/

But for me tmux is to complex and I found Terminator to have this cool feature to split the terminal window.
Powered on: MX 17 Horizon x86_64
Hardware: Dell Latitude E4300 - CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo P9600 (2) @ 2.535GHz - Memory: 4GB
Style: Resolution: 1280x800 - WM Theme: Balou - Theme: Blackbird [GTK2/3] - Icons: Papirus-Dark [GTK2]

male

Re: Terminator: Howto change default size

#4

Post by male » Wed Oct 03, 2018 6:47 am

Thank you for the hints and the link. :number1:

I've been using Terminator since 2015 and find it very handy for testing Conky's. There is nothing better for me. ;)

Post Reply

Return to “Software / Configuration”