Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Skype on MX

Message
Author
User avatar
KBD
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1162
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 7:52 pm

Skype on MX

#1 Post by KBD » Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:49 am

Wondering if Skype works well on MX?
Trying to set something up for video chat between us and our daughter. With the arrival of our first grandchild it would be nice to have a way to video chat and I hate to go to Windows to do so if MX will do the job.
Appreciate any feedback from those using Skype on MX.
Thanks.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22960
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Skype on MX

#2 Post by Jerry3904 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:53 am

Available via the MX Package Manager, Skykpe (skypeforlinux) works very well for me on MX-17, and it has been much improved over the last year or so.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, SSD 120 GB, Data 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB
Personal: XPS 13, 4.18.0-19.3-liquorix, 4 GB

User avatar
Adrian
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9147
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am

Re: Skype on MX

#3 Post by Adrian » Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:56 am

Skype works now in browser without installing anything, have you tried that?

User avatar
KBD
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1162
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 7:52 pm

Re: Skype on MX

#4 Post by KBD » Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:59 am

Jerry3904 wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:53 am
Available via the MX Package Manager, Skykpe (skypeforlinux) works very well for me on MX-17, and it has been much improved over the last year or so.
It's great that MX includes it in the Package Installer. I've installed it and been checking it out. Glad to hear it's improved.

User avatar
KBD
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1162
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 7:52 pm

Re: Skype on MX

#5 Post by KBD » Fri Aug 03, 2018 11:00 am

Adrian wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:56 am
Skype works now in browser without installing anything, have you tried that?
A particular browser or any browser?

User avatar
Adrian
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9147
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am

Re: Skype on MX

#6 Post by Adrian » Fri Aug 03, 2018 11:03 am

It works both in Firefox and Chrome (probably in Chromium too, but I didn't check).

User avatar
KBD
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1162
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 7:52 pm

Re: Skype on MX

#7 Post by KBD » Fri Aug 03, 2018 11:13 am

Adrian wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 11:03 am
It works both in Firefox and Chrome (probably in Chromium too, but I didn't check).
Thanks! Does it work with an extension?

User avatar
zorzi
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2018 7:41 pm

Re: Skype on MX

#8 Post by zorzi » Fri Aug 03, 2018 11:25 am

Adrian wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:56 am
Skype works now in browser without installing anything, have you tried that?
Not sure for video calls.

I prefer to use Ghetto-skype 1.5 instead of the official version (ghetto-skype 1.6 does not work with Stretch for the moment).

https://github.com/stanfieldr/ghetto-skype/releases
Desktop: HP Pavilion a6435 (Athlon64 2x 2,6Ghz, Radeon R7-240, Ram 4 Go, HD 500 Go) / MX Linux 17

User avatar
Adrian
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9147
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am

Re: Skype on MX

#9 Post by Adrian » Fri Aug 03, 2018 11:38 am

KBD wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 11:13 am
Adrian wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 11:03 am
It works both in Firefox and Chrome (probably in Chromium too, but I didn't check).
Thanks! Does it work with an extension?
No, you log in using "Use Skype Online" option:

Image

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22960
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Skype on MX

#10 Post by Jerry3904 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 11:40 am

I'll have to add that to the next version of the Manual--never tried it.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, SSD 120 GB, Data 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB
Personal: XPS 13, 4.18.0-19.3-liquorix, 4 GB

Post Reply

Return to “Software / Configuration”