Welcome!
Important information
-- Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities
-- Change in MX sources

News
-- MX Linux on social media: here
-- Mepis support still here

Current releases
-- MX-17.1 Final release info here
-- antiX-17 release info here

New users
-- Please read this first, and don't forget to add system and hardware information to posts!
-- Here are the Forum Rules

Timekeeper no longer working

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
reidun
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 5:25 pm

Timekeeper no longer working

#1 Post by reidun » Fri Jun 29, 2018 3:58 pm

Hi, I've been using Timekeeper (package timekpr) to set time limits for my kids computer usage, and it's been working great for several years. Really cuts down on fighting over computer time, actually pretty much eliminated them! However, in the last week it has quit working properly. I can start it and set their times, but it doesn't do anything. Their time is totally unlimited. I'm not 100% sure if it started before this or not, but also this last week I did an update of over 300 packages (hadn't done it in a while). I didn't notice if Timekeeper was one of the packages updated or not. This particular computer is a desktop Dell running MX15.

Thanks for any help you can offer, Reidun

TauTsar
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 4:49 am

Re: Timekeeper no longer working

#2 Post by TauTsar » Fri Jun 29, 2018 4:04 pm

I've had success reinstalling broken packages before. You could answer your own question concerning the update or not, in the history within Synaptic.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22244
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Timekeeper no longer working

#3 Post by Jerry3904 » Fri Jun 29, 2018 4:12 pm

It's not in our repos, so the update would not have come from us. It appears to have been an Ubuntu package that has now been "revived." (Did you Google this?)

[BTW: what version of MX are you running?]

I downloaded and installed the most recent version from this page, and it launches fine. If you test it and it works, then you might want to make a package request for it in our repos, since it looks pretty handy.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
reidun
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 5:25 pm

Re: Timekeeper no longer working

#4 Post by reidun » Sat Jun 30, 2018 7:16 pm

Ok, thanks for the tips. I checked the history, and Timekeeper was upgraded in that big update I did last week. Is there a way to figure out which repository it would have come from? I'm just curious because you said it's not in the MX repositories, and I don't think I have any Ubuntu repositories enabled.

Anyway, I installed the 3.7 version (I had 3.6 installed, which I uninstalled first) from the page Jerry linked to, and will give it a try shortly, and post back with the results.

Thanks!

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15981
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: Timekeeper no longer working

#5 Post by Stevo » Sat Jun 30, 2018 7:52 pm

The "inxi -r" command in a terminal will show your active repositories. We do have 0.3.6 in the main MX 15 repo, but that's hasn't been updated for a while. I'll look into the current version for our repos.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22244
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Timekeeper no longer working

#6 Post by Jerry3904 » Sat Jun 30, 2018 8:07 pm

I should have said, we don't have it in the MX-17 repos

Code: Select all

jb@ULTRA:~
$ apt policy timekpr
N: Unable to locate package timekpr
The original appears to have been abandoned, but the "revived" version I pointed to is active. I didn't test the PPA itself, just downloaded the package.
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
reidun
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 5:25 pm

Re: Timekeeper no longer working

#7 Post by reidun » Sun Jul 01, 2018 11:01 am

I did download the 0.3.7 version from the page Jerry linked, but am still having the same problem. I'm wondering if I should just use that page to download the 0.3.0 version I used to have and call it good. All I need is for it to work!

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 22244
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Timekeeper no longer working

#8 Post by Jerry3904 » Sun Jul 01, 2018 11:08 am

Nothing to lose by trying it...
Production: 4.15.0-1-amd64, MX-17.1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 4.15.0-1-386. MX-17.1, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
reidun
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 5:25 pm

Solved: Timekeeper no longer working

#9 Post by reidun » Sat Aug 04, 2018 10:09 pm

Just now getting back to this. I did install an older version, and for several days it was only giving 30 seconds for every minute for some strange reason. Just left it alone due to not having time to deal with it (much to my kids consternation) and now for the last several days it has been working normally. So I'm considering this problem solved. Thanks for the help!

Post Reply

Return to “Software / Configuration”